Atoms for Peace Amok
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LilLioness
February 19th 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I think you are seriously overstating his self-love or at least mistaking a resentment of the expectations of others for self-obsession.

Despite finding it marginally enjoyable, I am severely disappointed in Amok.

newjunk2
February 19th 2013



230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm having a hard time getting into this. It's alright, and I want to like it, but I just can't shake the feeling that it's a fucking boring ass album.

demigod!
February 19th 2013



44132 Comments


lol that got vulgar fast


Digging: Failure - Magnified

ethixx
February 19th 2013



1170 Comments


it's a great review but i don't understand how you can imply so many partially negative things about someone you haven't even met lol



ethixx
February 19th 2013



1170 Comments


it's really stupid and kinda implies that he's being pretentious... which is the #1 thing i hate when people try to relate it to music - why would being in love with yourself/your music ever be a bad thing? that creates good music and he has a full trophy case of his previous work to prove it

Chortles
February 19th 2013



17932 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Despite finding it marginally enjoyable, I am severely disappointed in Amok.


you gave it a 3.5 though

were you expecting another kid a or

Digging: Yo La Tengo - Electr-O-Pura

WhiteNoise
February 19th 2013



3087 Comments


"was hoping thom would let flea off the leash more than review suggests but"

Yep, especially after hearing "pulled apart by horses" on youtube, that song rips hard.

Graveyard
February 20th 2013



5679 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol this is awful

Digging: Total Control - Typical System

ethixx
February 20th 2013



1170 Comments


what this is album is a little new age ish and what music simple patterns with the varied instruments have have got the person psyched 3D

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2013



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"it's a great review but i don't understand how you can imply so many partially negative things about someone you haven't even met lol"

Haha, I guess that'a fair enough but I don't really see it as too much of a bad thing at all. I still love the hell out of the guy, he's just larger than life now. I think I've said enough positive things to offset my Thom karma anyhow ;)

"This might be your finest review, mate."

Serious? Sweet, thanks man.




Iamthe Nightstars
February 20th 2013



2220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Eraser is better than this...

YankeeDudel
February 20th 2013



9311 Comments


thomnail

Digging: Rites of Spring - Rites of Spring

ViperAces
February 20th 2013



12390 Comments


seems awesome id check

jefflebowski
February 20th 2013



7574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there's nothing as good as harrowdown hill on here but i'd say this sounds like a richer, more sophisticated eraser

Digging: Tom Waits - Bone Machine

yoniroars
February 20th 2013



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really like the album, thought it was much more melodic than The Eraser (which was also very good). Did not like your review. The review focuses on Thom loving himself, and even goes as far as implying that this is the reason why he manages to stay relevant (while visiting old material). I would agree that he is a snob and does not like the media, but I don't think he would ever come to mind when I think of musicians or people in entertainment that love themselves. Sounds like you read the NME article about the reddit Q & A rather than the entire thing because of your chosen quote, and because of how cynical and modest Thom comes across. Regardless, you should focus on the sound, rhythm, production values of this great album. Just because it sounds like Thom's work, does not mean he wrote it - they are all talented musicians. Obviously Flea is not going to be slapping the bass on a Thom Yorke song, but then it is a Thom Yorke song so who even knows????? Rant over.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2013



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I didn't imply that, I didn't say he loved himself, I don't read NME, I don't think it's fair to say there's a way a review "should" be written :/

puertasmagicas
February 21st 2013



54 Comments


Here is what I hoped the album was gonna be like, and why as good as it is I can't help feeling a bit disappointed. BEHOLD THE LIVE VERSION OF PULLED APART BY HORSES: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRKxQA0veWA

I hope these are just the blueprints for explosive mind-numbing live versions such as that : 3

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013



1651 Comments


The title song is definitely my favorite off this.

Digging: My Brightest Diamond - None More Than You

HeyListen
February 21st 2013



42 Comments


Awesome review, as always. Not sure I completely agree with the rating (still need to spin this some more), but your review is well written so have a pos. Also, I'd be interested to read your best of 2012 list if you're planning on making one.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No can do on the 2012 list front, I'm afraid. My laptop got stolen at the end of november and I'd only backed up my library up to august.

I did do a list (as best I could) over at MD though, if you're interested: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/2012/12/jonnys-top-10-releases-of-2012.html



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy