Meshuggah obZen
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
J0ckstrapsFTW
February 17th 2013


3676 Comments


Everyone's music taste is different so idk I disagree but I don't like a lot of music people like soooooo no use in shitting urself over a band somebody else doesn't like

Necrotica
February 17th 2013


10584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

@Philalethes: Alright, thanks for clarifying. Admittedly, I'm still working on solidifying my negative reviews, although I feel this was huge step up from my Slayer review I did months ago. I actually might do a positive review of Destroy Erase Improve soon, so stay tuned for that if you want :]

breakingthefragile
February 17th 2013


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Might just neg on the grounds that you have the absolute worst avatar out of any user on the entire site.

Necrotica
February 17th 2013


10584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

omg no bich wat the fuk

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


53143 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sweet

Digging: Penfold - Amateurs and Professionals

Jennifer22
February 17th 2013


294 Comments


What a great review! Have a positive vote. I'm going to venture on the safe side and assume that the majority of the negative votes are due to the difference in rating. I don't see why this review has more than one or two negative votes otherwise, the grammar and syntax is fine. Along with this you backed up all your points rather well, so all I have to say is good job! Don't let the positive to negative ratio (in this case) tell you about your skills as a writer, as you explained yourself rather well! Cheers!

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 17th 2013


3676 Comments


Ya I hate when people neg based on the rating


It fucking clearly says "was this review well written?" Not "do u agree with this rating"

sixdegrees
February 17th 2013


20731 Comments


agreed

Digging: Guilty Connector - Curved Dream In Town

breakingthefragile
February 17th 2013


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Negging based on his avatar. I'm a revolutionist.

sixdegrees
February 17th 2013


20731 Comments


it is rather disturbing isn't it

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 17th 2013


3676 Comments


Yea it is pretty weird

zaruyache
February 17th 2013


12750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But but but Dancers to a Discordant System...

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 17th 2013


3676 Comments


But this whole album

botb
February 17th 2013


10259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

complaining about meshuggah sounding mechanical seems a little silly to me

Zettel
February 17th 2013


657 Comments


"I hear you coming across as somebody who can't take in the fact that one of your beloved bands ended up getting a 1.5 from somebody on this site;"


Or maybe it is simply a bad review. How about that? This not a review, it is a comment that belongs in a forum thread where people exchange opinions. There is no analysis to be found in there, just a list of impressions about the music passing as arguments.

Philalethes' point is that there is a difference in stating an opinion and writing a review. Not all reviews have to be analytical and deep, but this one is just a mere comment. Your hardest stab at the album comes in the fourth paragraph, but you miss completely the body. You find "Bleed" boring, mechanical and long? and then extend those qualities to the whole record? VoilĂ . You have a review.

You did not need five paragraphs to make that point, because you certainly did not get past that. The fourth paragraph merely reiterates what you already stated in the previous three, without expanding on it. This is not about the rating, it is poorly written. Excusable for a sound off, not for a review.

MO
February 17th 2013


20651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

boom zettel layin it down

pissbore
February 17th 2013


12309 Comments


contradictions collapse >

HSThomas
February 17th 2013


668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^pretty much though Aztec Two Step > everything other Meshuggah release ever.

mindleviticus
February 17th 2013


8704 Comments


Zettel tearing up this

CK
February 17th 2013


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hate you. And no, I didn't neg =]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy