Razor
Executioner's Song


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mike C USER (16 Reviews)
February 16th, 2013 | 27 replies


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Relentlessly energetic and infectiously aggressive, Razor's "Executioners Song" is one of the more overlooked and entertaining debuts of the 80's Thrash scene.

Razor’s Executioners Song is, from start to finish, one hell of a ride. Drawing equal parts influence from the likes of King Diamond, Iron Maiden and Motorhead, Executioners Song delivers an almost unending barrage of riffs and drum grooves that seamlessly pave way into well executed and impeccably timed guitar solos, an impressive effort made only more so by the bands rookie status at the time.

While all the members of Razor contribute a great extent to create an instrumentally cohesive and interesting package, the guitar work takes the forefront and all but steals the show on the majority of the records eleven tracks. The albums opening number, “Take This Torch” is essentially the prime example of the aforementioned statement as the ever-effective Dave Carlo pulls off carpal tunnel inducing riffs during the opening track’s first two minutes, eventually making way into a climactic axe solo that wouldn’t be out of place on any of Judas Priest’s 80’s work. The albums mid track “Distant Thunder” and pre-closer “Timebomb” are highlights of fret board mastery, as the virtous shred would be enough to send even some of the more able guitarist of the generation back to the woodshed.

Razor’s Executioners Song isn’t to be taken too seriously. The vocals revolve primarily around Heavy Metal tribute and are, for the most part not lacking in the cheese department. Vocalist Stace Mclaren puts on rather impressive performances that never fail to get ones head bobbing to the tight-knit, oftentimes exciting drum beats of Mike Embro. Mclaren is seldom predictable as a vocalist and pulls out all kinds of different tricks, from King Diamond influenced falsetto squeals to Motorhead-esque low end, bass rumbling growls. Razor’s Executioners Song is simply and unexpectedly a damn good time, and while Razor would eventually churn out more focused, overall consistent records in their twelve year tenure, none of them would match up to Executioners Song in terms of raw energy and unbridled passion.

It’s simply hard for this reviewer to find fault with a record like this, it’s all that it sets out the be, and while it’s not lacking in terms of drippy, sap ridden lyrics it’s almost hard to blame it for that as 'Executioner's Song" lacks a bad track or dull stretch and contains so much to like.

4.2/5



Recent reviews by this author
Animals As Leaders The Joy of MotionBehemoth The Satanist
Zappa Plays Zappa Zappa Plays ZappaSteely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy
Steven Wilson The Raven That Refused to SingBuckethead Shadows Between The Sky
user ratings (51)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pleasantly surprised by this record. Can somebody tell me how to italicize on Sputnik?



ViperAces
February 16th 2013


12485 Comments


do you mean [ i ] [ / i ] ?

MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I believe so. I'll give it a try, thanks!

ViperAces
February 16th 2013


12485 Comments


genuinely thought this was a new release for a second lol

MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha yeah, have yet to have a cup of coffee yet this morning. I'll get right on that!

ViperAces
February 16th 2013


12485 Comments


no italics in the summ sorry bro

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude insta pos! Missing the artwork tho u should have the mods fix it for u.

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man, but uh...how does one go about contacting the mods? I'm noticing the review doesn't even show up when
clicking on the album under the bands discog.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was gonna pos either way cause i'm stoked you reviewed this, but the review was good man so nice job!

definitely check evil invaders if you enjoyed this. it's a huge step up and less "cheesy" i guess you could say.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one small thing.. in the summary you misspelled aggressive.

Havey
February 16th 2013


9761 Comments


how does one go about contacting the mods?

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=585823

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I already requested they merge this review with the correct page

MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alright cool i appreciate it. and i dig invaders a lot, it's a shame these dudes never got more recognition

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no worries and yeah they're one of my favorite thrash bands. the opening track in invaders is so m/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no worries and yeah they're one of my favorite thrash bands. the opening track in invaders is so m/

bloc
February 16th 2013


35010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is amazing

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

ViperAces
February 16th 2013


12485 Comments


lol @ the original album here not being capitalized

MikeC26
February 16th 2013


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha.. That explains it

KILL
February 17th 2013


72131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god dammit how did i miss this fuckin props dude album rocks but yea ataris right evil invaders is king

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2013


20077 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy