Omnium Gatherum Beyond
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
leycec
February 21st 2013



16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

> yet you have it a 3.5

Oh, yeah. It's got "I'm 3.5! *squeek*" written all over it.

> which implies you think it's great...

Do *you* think this LP is great? Does Dodecahedron?

The answer to both is a clarid, "Fuck no." Of course you don't think this LP is great. After all, you write: "that said, I'm not a fan of the vocals here. they sound very forced. the album itself has some forgettable moments here." Neither does Dodecahedron. He writes: "Only thing bogging my rating is the vocals, I'm not a fan at all." And yet we all rated it 3.5 — in clear violation of the Sputnik Music Adjectival Rating Spectrum (TM), which bizarrely assigns 3.5 the adjective "great."

Let's be honest: Sputnik's rating adjectives are nonsensical drivel. They are. Pretty much everyone and his or her goat-like appendage of a mother compresses their ratings to the upper end of the rating spectrum, reserving lower ratings for only the most banally refuse-ridden of records (e.g., the vomit-fest that is "Attack Attack!").

leycec-approved Adjectival Rating Spectrum:

0 - 2: POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK
2.5: one to two acceptable tracks; otherwise, see "POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK"
3.0: two to three acceptable tracks; otherwise, see "POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK"
3.5: superficially acceptable... but is that really a compliment?
4.0: superficially excellent, if ultimately lacking in depth
4.5: near-classic, marred by only a few noticeable flaws
5.0: certifiable classic, bro

leycec
February 21st 2013



16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

> I don't see how the vocals are a problem.

Gutter-bred gang vocals bear no relation to the synthesizer-drenched world music or the sickeningly optimistic New Age lyrics. That's the problem.

In the words of lead guitarist Markus Vanhala: "It is a coming-home story where the mysteries of duality are melted into oneness but without losing one single point of individuality along the arrival." Duality. Oneness. Greaaaaaaat! But for the love of all that is brutality, please stop bludgeoning such woodenly saccharine lyrics as "Would it be O.K. to be a part of the solution?" ("New Breed") with demon-fed death vocals. This isn't beauty and the beast: it's beauty and the gimmick.

Keyblade
February 21st 2013



14701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude I think it's a great album, but it has a few flaws that hold it back from being a really excellent one.

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

FrozenVain
February 21st 2013



2405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a weak 4.5 imo just so everyone knows.

FrozenVain
February 21st 2013



2405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your rating system sucks, leycec.


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013



10064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

"Let's be honest: Sputnik's rating adjectives are nonsensical drivel. They are. Pretty much everyone and his or her goat-like appendage of a mother compresses their ratings to the upper end of the rating spectrum, reserving lower ratings for only the most banally refuse-ridden of records (e.g., the vomit-fest that is "Attack Attack!")."

Are you applying to Pitchfork via an Omnium Gatherum comment? This "nonsensical drivel" implies this is the case.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

XfingTheSullen
February 21st 2013



2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dayummm... some riffs on this album are amazing. Feels a lot like New World Shadows too.

Digging: Kalisia - Cybion

Yazz_Flute
February 23rd 2013



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Distance is still the catchiest death metal song ever.

Digging: Eskaton - 4 Visions

XfingTheSullen
February 23rd 2013



2497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well yeah, it's hard to beat The Distance. Some songs on Redshift were also criminally catchy, like No Breaking Point. Bad vocals took this song down a notch though.

FrozenVain
February 23rd 2013



2405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How far can you reach?!
Yeh The Distance rocks hard

Shiduba
February 23rd 2013



424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now they have three fantastic albums in a row, love this band so much. Seeing them live today (for
the third time), will be epic! The Unknowing is perfect.

Durrzo
February 24th 2013



1099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Living In Me is fucking awesome.

Vakarian12
February 24th 2013



3723 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who Could Say is better

Digging: Sepultura - Arise

Durrzo
February 24th 2013



1099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nonsense Garrus.

Vakarian12
February 24th 2013



3723 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Living in Me could do with some.... Calibrations

Durrzo
February 24th 2013



1099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The primary lead used in that song is just beautiful in my opinion, and I loved the solo. Honestly
this album doesn't have any weak tracks though.

Vakarian12
February 25th 2013



3723 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

true, living in me is a sweet song. I prefer who could say though for its massive chorus. I think in the rim and nightwalkers are the weakest tracks though, usually just skip em

SpiritCrusher2
February 25th 2013



2983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but In The Rim and Nightwalkers are great! hmm.. well all songs are great!
weird, I didn't think I would like this that much. it's just that there is not one song on this that I would give a 5/5, there are always some parts I'd like to be a bit different. but there are no weak songs either, really constant and enjoyable album. solid 4 for me

RollieQuibbs
March 2nd 2013



430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let's be honest: Sputnik's rating adjectives are nonsensical drivel. They are. Pretty much everyone and his or her goat-like appendage of a mother compresses their ratings to the upper end of the rating spectrum, reserving lower ratings for only the most banally refuse-ridden of records (e.g., the vomit-fest that is "Attack Attack!").

leycec-approved Adjectival Rating Spectrum:

0 - 2: POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK
2.5: one to two acceptable tracks; otherwise, see "POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK"
3.0: two to three acceptable tracks; otherwise, see "POKE MY EYE WITH A STICK"
3.5: superficially acceptable... but is that really a compliment?
4.0: superficially excellent, if ultimately lacking in depth
4.5: near-classic, marred by only a few noticeable flaws
5.0: certifiable classic, bro



hello exactly

RollieQuibbs
March 2nd 2013



430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Please stop bludgeoning such woodenly saccharine lyrics as "Would it be O.K. to be a part of the solution?" ("New Breed") with demon-fed death vocals."

~laycec



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy