Caladan Brood Echoes Of Battle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013


7133 Comments


A great copycat act, thinking a 3.5 or 4ish

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013


1445 Comments


wrong album cover, me thinks.

Digging: Electrodomesticos - Viva Chile!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2013


8403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

99% sure that's the right album cover.

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013


1445 Comments


http://caladanbrood.bandcamp.com/album/echoes-of-battle

it isn't the same >:c

Dodecahedron
February 15th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't understand why people complain about a band sounding like another band, especially when it's such a unique style that there are pretty much no other bands doing it well. Same reason why I don't understand why people complain that Gallowbraid is an Agalloch clone. To me that doesn't knock it at all.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2013


8403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://caladanbrood.bandcamp.com/album/echoes-of-battle

it isn't the same >:c
The more I think about it/waste time looking for the cover that is presented here, the more it seems you are right. Whew, glad I said 99% instead of 100 haha.

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013


1445 Comments


Metalstyles: I thought it was the same too, but the more I looked...

Dodecahedron: Maybe it takes from their experience. I dunno', maybe while listening, they can't shake
the thought of it sounding so much like another band. It breaks the ambience.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013


8974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

What the... I must be being trolled because this sounds nothing like Dol Goldur, and it is in the exact style of Oath Bound.


the synths way more resemble dol guldur than oath bound for one, and the guitars are more versatile unlike oath bound

less repetitive than oath bound too

Digging: Desolate Shrine - The Heart of the Netherworld

Passname
February 15th 2013


301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the synths way more resemble dol guldur than oath bound for one, and the guitars are more
versatile unlike oath bound

less repetitive than oath bound too


I agree only the synths resemble it, but other than that it is nothing alike in the slightest. I also
disagree with you second point, I find this rather repetitive though I don't think that's always a bad
thing


MegaJake1024
February 15th 2013


773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Love the melodies and epic cleans. Actually, I pretty much like everything about it except the screamed vocals... to me, they just don't work at all. Kind've ruins the entrancement for me. But the Malazan series is dope, and Caladan Brood is a fuckin' boss. I'll just have to live with the screams I guess.

MegaJake1024
February 15th 2013


773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Screams are growing on me. The really high ones are still somewhat bothersome though.

Dodecahedron
February 15th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The harsh vocals are one of the aspects that puts this over the edge and into Summoning territory to me.

zaruyache
February 15th 2013


7619 Comments


I don't really listen to Summoning but people have compared Emyn Muil to them also, so you might like them, too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjjNbYqV9_Y

Digging: We Stood Like Kings - Berlin 1927

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


8974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks! [:

I agree only the synths resemble it, but other than that it is nothing alike in the slightest. I also
disagree with you second point, I find this rather repetitive though I don't think that's always a bad
thing


this isn't really all that repetitive whatsoever where oath bound is built on the fact it's repetitive, most songs only carrying like 4 melodies and nothing else

as for the guitars oath bound only really has them buzzing away in the background, this utilizes them with much more prominence

and when you say 'only the synth resembles dol guldur' keep in mind synth is like 70% of that entire album

not to mention the drums, the inclusion of cymbal-like percussion heavily resembles dol guldur and not oath bound

aWanderingSpirit
February 17th 2013


7 Comments


This band hails from my City. I applaud these anonymous gentleman for expanding the scene.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2013


8403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't know why the vocals bothered me at first but I got accustomed to them quick-enough, thankfully. Really solid stuff in general, absolutely loving the melodies.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2013


7133 Comments


so when's the new Summoning?

Passname
February 20th 2013


301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some more qualms:

The solos sound so out of place on this, they sound like they're from an 80's glam/speed metal album featuring Yngvie Malmsteen. And the vocals get kind of old after a while because they are so harshly autotuned, sounding like a new mainstream pop/electronic album. Considering those two components this album essentially = "Ripoff Summoning" + Catchy vocals and guitar solos".

They accomplished their goal I guess but this isn't worth anything more than a 3.5 to me. Bring on the new Summoning.

Dodecahedron
February 21st 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's more than 1 real solo on this? And sound like mainstream pop/electronic album? Are you high?
Lol.

And @Ipod: I think it's supposed to be coming out in April.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


8974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the autotune is sometimes a little obtrusive but it's not THAT bad

also i think the solo is great so eh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy