Caladan Brood Echoes Of Battle
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think you should clarify that this sounds mostly like Oath Bound era Summoning. This sounds nothing like Minas Morgul or Dol Goldur. Not to mention those albums completely blow this one out of the water. This is a pretty nice album though.


i don't really agree with that at all, i thought this was much more like dol guldur/let mortal heroes sing your fame than oath bound.

Have you heard L'Ordre du Temple? They're definitely no Summoning either by any means, but they're


i'll check them out, thanks!

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

B]

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, I just can't get behind the vocals at all, which is a shame because there are some kick-ass melodies and compositions to be found here. Good review, I'm gonna give this one more chances as I really hope the vocals will click eventually as well.

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Passname
February 15th 2013



301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't really agree with that at all, i thought this was much more like dol guldur/let mortal
heroes sing your fame than oath bound.


What the... I must be being trolled because this sounds nothing like Dol Goldur, and it is in the
exact style of Oath Bound.


netromo
February 15th 2013



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. This sounds much like Oath Bound, but there are differences. I think these guys delivers a much more varied sound. And Oath Bound was terribly produced. Besides, a cool band name.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013



6733 Comments


A great copycat act, thinking a 3.5 or 4ish

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013



847 Comments


wrong album cover, me thinks.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

99% sure that's the right album cover.

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013



847 Comments


http://caladanbrood.bandcamp.com/album/echoes-of-battle

it isn't the same >:c

Dodecahedron
February 15th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't understand why people complain about a band sounding like another band, especially when it's such a unique style that there are pretty much no other bands doing it well. Same reason why I don't understand why people complain that Gallowbraid is an Agalloch clone. To me that doesn't knock it at all.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://caladanbrood.bandcamp.com/album/echoes-of-battle

it isn't the same >:c
The more I think about it/waste time looking for the cover that is presented here, the more it seems you are right. Whew, glad I said 99% instead of 100 haha.

Asdfp277
February 15th 2013



847 Comments


Metalstyles: I thought it was the same too, but the more I looked...

Dodecahedron: Maybe it takes from their experience. I dunno', maybe while listening, they can't shake
the thought of it sounding so much like another band. It breaks the ambience.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

What the... I must be being trolled because this sounds nothing like Dol Goldur, and it is in the exact style of Oath Bound.


the synths way more resemble dol guldur than oath bound for one, and the guitars are more versatile unlike oath bound

less repetitive than oath bound too

Passname
February 15th 2013



301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the synths way more resemble dol guldur than oath bound for one, and the guitars are more
versatile unlike oath bound

less repetitive than oath bound too


I agree only the synths resemble it, but other than that it is nothing alike in the slightest. I also
disagree with you second point, I find this rather repetitive though I don't think that's always a bad
thing


MegaJake1024
February 15th 2013



605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Love the melodies and epic cleans. Actually, I pretty much like everything about it except the screamed vocals... to me, they just don't work at all. Kind've ruins the entrancement for me. But the Malazan series is dope, and Caladan Brood is a fuckin' boss. I'll just have to live with the screams I guess.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

MegaJake1024
February 15th 2013



605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Screams are growing on me. The really high ones are still somewhat bothersome though.

Dodecahedron
February 15th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The harsh vocals are one of the aspects that puts this over the edge and into Summoning territory to me.

zaruyache
February 15th 2013



4799 Comments


I don't really listen to Summoning but people have compared Emyn Muil to them also, so you might like them, too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjjNbYqV9_Y

Digging: The Great Old Ones - Tekeli-Li

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks! [:

I agree only the synths resemble it, but other than that it is nothing alike in the slightest. I also
disagree with you second point, I find this rather repetitive though I don't think that's always a bad
thing


this isn't really all that repetitive whatsoever where oath bound is built on the fact it's repetitive, most songs only carrying like 4 melodies and nothing else

as for the guitars oath bound only really has them buzzing away in the background, this utilizes them with much more prominence

and when you say 'only the synth resembles dol guldur' keep in mind synth is like 70% of that entire album

not to mention the drums, the inclusion of cymbal-like percussion heavily resembles dol guldur and not oath bound

aWanderingSpirit
February 17th 2013



5 Comments


This band hails from my City. I applaud these anonymous gentleman for expanding the scene.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy