Light Bearer Silver Tongue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ILJ
February 11th 2013


6830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off



"i'm sorry but i doubt your competences in writing reviews. with this album light bearer have done extremely well. they are not afraid of trying out things, and when i had my first listen i was so stunned about the production and mixing so that i had to smile. and i have quite alot of experience in terms of mixing ;). in my opinion this record deserves at least a 4 as it's produced extremely well, the compositions are tight eventhough the songs are nearly 20 minutes long and they experimented with clean lyrics, atmospheric parts and sounds and in my opinion they suceeded in every way. Please don't give a shot about this score and give the record the chance to convince you. In my case it just took a few minutes. It's a creative, harmonic but still agressive album with nice lyrics by an experienced band that won't dissapoint you. Taste is taste but objectivity is objecitivity. I think this writer gave this album one listen and that was it. I'm reviewing myself and to build myself an opinion i usually need more than a week. Silver tongue isn't even out for that long so please build an opinion yourself. This is not a good review!"





I believe the place you were looking for is youtube.

North0House2
February 11th 2013


5910 Comments


I can listen to an hour of William Basinski's Disintegration Loops in one sitting, but I couldn't get through two songs of this. It just doesn't hit me as strong, I suppose. I probably won't rate because I can't make it through a whole listen, so I'd feel like it'd be unfair for me to rate it.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013


22446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

How does Lapsus compare to this songwriting wise?

Digging: Faith No More - Sol Invictus

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


10468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

AtomicWaste, thanks a ton for the grammar tips. I knew there was something I hadn't fixed!



Orkus, some albums take longer to really understand. I felt I understood this one earlier than you did, so I wrote my review. You write about albums when you feel confident about your opinion, and that's what happened here too.



And thanks Snoxall.



"I would have liked him to elaborate more on the good and bad, I guess. Tell me why it feels apathetic to him, because I obviously get a different feeling. He could have mentioned the lack of varied drumming, the use of similar structured guitar chords throughout, etc. Anything. Maybe "bad" was a bit strong."



I do understand this comment, man. The thing is that when I think of this album, the first thing that comes to mind is my frustration with it. You're right in that I could have incorporated more descriptions into my review, and this is something I'll keep in mind for the future. Thanks for the feedback, and for being helpful about it. =]



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


10468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Here's the thing, man, and I guess I'd consider it my justification of this review's rather dismissive nature. The music is so forgettable that it's hard to put any more detail into the monotony. I don't feel like there are many more ways I could explore this point without it becoming redundant, and I do feel like I expressed the other side of the point well, such as why the group sounds uninspired.

Ignimbrite
February 11th 2013


5585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is the most freaking bloated album I've heard in a long time... Jesus.

Digging: Lord Huron - Strange Trails

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013


22446 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Without tracks 2-4 this would be so great.

Amebix
February 11th 2013


240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A very well written review, but I do not share your opinion at all, this is close to a masterpiece, maybe one filler, but the rest is outstanding post-metal with a brilliant concept behind it.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


10468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Thanks a ton, dude. I'm glad you like it, and I wish I got the same enjoyment from it you do

Ignimbrite
February 11th 2013


5585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sweet dig, Amebix.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


2110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album's pretty cool. Nothing amazing, but it's good.

fromtheinside
February 12th 2013


19963 Comments


summary is spot on. completely agree with this review. such a shame. album starts off so fucking strong and then i can't tell how bored i am with the music cause nothing happens.

ILJ
February 12th 2013


6830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I listened again last night and it's wearing off quick. Way, way, way too long.

omnipanzer
February 12th 2013


21714 Comments


Love the Review Summary, I'm sure I'm not alone.

zxlkho
February 12th 2013


3482 Comments


I can't say I agree with this review at all. I liked pretty much all of the album.

oltnabrick
February 12th 2013


33006 Comments


ye i liked it all too

Digging: Sicko Mobb - Mulah

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2013


10468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Well I'm glad for you guys! Wish I could say the same. =[

teamster
February 12th 2013


83 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might not mean much to everyone else but for god's sake you can download the ENTIRE album for

free. Not very often is a huge project from a respectable band given it to us for nothing. I think

that should have been mentioned in the review and yes I think THAT fact may make a difference in

people's opinion about the album.



Me personally, I love long, drawn out post/sludge metal passages. Oh and a side note, if you like

this album check out Encircling Sea's latest.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2013


10468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

So I should enjoy the album more because it's free? Sure, it was nice of the band to do that, but that doesn't affect the music's quality.

Tyrannic
February 12th 2013


3262 Comments


yeah this was boring as hell

whoever said they should stick to eps is right



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy