Light Bearer Silver Tongue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Buzzkillr
February 11th 2013



1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, judge a review by the way it's written, not by the reviewer's opinion on the album. This album isn't objectively good so don't try and act like it is. And get your head out of your arse. "

um, what makes a review good is whether or not the arguments defending the reviewer's point of view are well thought out and convincing, the actual writing is secondary imo

MichaelSnoxall
February 11th 2013



12163 Comments


um, what makes a review good is whether or not the arguments defending the reviewer's point of view are well thought out and convincing, the actual writing is secondary imo


How is how the reviewer writes and gets across his argument not part of his writing?


Wolfhorde
February 11th 2013



12899 Comments


"LOOK AT ME I'M SO MYSTERIOUS AND SHIT AND BLAH BLAH I ONLY OFFER PHYSICAL CONTACT IN FORM OF FRAT BOY DOUCHERY YIH!"

Fix'd.

"How is how the reviewer writes and gets across his argument not part of his writing?"
^ 123

MichaelSnoxall
February 11th 2013



12163 Comments


Also, good writing is necessary. He can have good points about why he likes it/dislikes it, but he can still write them crappily.



like some random metalcore hate review:

"THIS ALBUM SUCKS BECAUSE IT'S ALL MONOTONOUS CHUGS AND BREAKDOWNS AND STUPID GENERIC LYRICS UGH DO NOT BUY THIS ALBUM BECAUSE IT'S TERRIBLE MAN I HATE BANDS LIKE THIS"


It's like, yeah, those are good reasons as to why the album is most likely terrible, but that's some terrible reviewing.

Buzzkillr
February 11th 2013



1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"How is how the reviewer writes and gets across his argument not part of his writing?"

No, I definitely agree with that, it's just the way you said it just made it sound like having a nice style of writing
and not making any spelling mistakes is what makes a review good

MichaelSnoxall
February 11th 2013



12163 Comments


Well, I didn't mean it that way. Someone could be a phenomenal writer but just talk about pointless crap for a thousand
words and it'd be a poor review, but Jacob articulated himself well and got across his points to great affect. Not a bad
review by any means.

And that guy never talked about the quality of the writing or the points made, he just flat out said the review was bad
because the reviewer didn't like the album.


"THIS ALBUM IS OBJECTIVELY GOOD I BET YOU ONLY LISTENED TO THIS ONCE YOUR REVIEW SUX ALBUM IS AT LEAST A 4
NO LESS BAD REVIEW!!!!"

pedro70512
February 11th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is objectively a well-written review. I don't think he understands the band very well but the points are backed up decently, even if there's not much about what it actually sounds like.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013



1985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i'm sorry but i doubt your competences in writing reviews. with this album light bearer have done extremely well. they are not afraid of trying out things, and when i had my first listen i was so stunned about the production and mixing so that i had to smile. and i have quite alot of experience in terms of mixing ;). in my opinion this record deserves at least a 4 as it's produced extremely well, the compositions are tight eventhough the songs are nearly 20 minutes long and they experimented with clean lyrics, atmospheric parts and sounds and in my opinion they suceeded in every way. Please don't give a shot about this score and give the record the chance to convince you. In my case it just took a few minutes. It's a creative, harmonic but still agressive album with nice lyrics by an experienced band that won't dissapoint you. Taste is taste but objectivity is objecitivity. I think this writer gave this album one listen and that was it. I'm reviewing myself and to build myself an opinion i usually need more than a week. Silver tongue isn't even out for that long so please build an opinion yourself. This is not a good review!"

Well, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

Kind of rude to say it's not a good review just because you disagree with it.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

XingKing
February 11th 2013



10363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm going to agree with this being a bad review, not because I disagree with it but because I feel like it hardly says anything. It mentions that there are two good songs and the rest are long and aimless. End. He mentions the words post metal and post rock in the very beginning of the review and other than that, I would have no idea what this music sounds like other than boring. It feels like you threw the album on in the background and the only time something caught your attention was the first and last track, so it must be boring. I'm not denying that this release is bloated but almost every single track has at least one portion that is fantastic if you are paying attention

MichaelSnoxall
February 11th 2013



12163 Comments


Xing, you kind of just made the argument there yourself.

The album is way too long and bloated to hold your attention for the small parts that happen to be fantastic. It's like saying, "IT'S GOOD, YOU JUST HAVE TO SIT THROUGH THE FIRST TEN MINUTES OF BORING FILLER MUSIC"

And an album should need to describe every sound and nuance, because it's impossible to accurately depict an album's sound in the reader's head. He mentions it's post-metal to give you an overall idea, then describes the music in ways like "he overall drowsiness of the album" and "The opening track's aggression has been replaced by unbridled apathy", describing that the album is mostly being run on what feel like underwhelming post-metal jams. Of course he could have explained things like "unique instrumentation" a bit better, but this is not a bad review at all.

XingKing
February 11th 2013



10363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I would have liked him to elaborate more on the good and bad, I guess. Tell me why it feels apathetic to him, because I obviously get a different feeling. He could have mentioned the lack of varied drumming, the use of similar structured guitar chords throughout, etc. Anything. Maybe "bad" was a bit strong.

MichaelSnoxall
February 11th 2013



12163 Comments


As I said, he could have elaborated a bit more to give a clearer idea, but he doesn't have to for him to still get his point across.

chambered99
February 11th 2013



790 Comments


band sucks good review

ILJ
February 11th 2013



6651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off


"i'm sorry but i doubt your competences in writing reviews. with this album light bearer have done extremely well. they are not afraid of trying out things, and when i had my first listen i was so stunned about the production and mixing so that i had to smile. and i have quite alot of experience in terms of mixing ;). in my opinion this record deserves at least a 4 as it's produced extremely well, the compositions are tight eventhough the songs are nearly 20 minutes long and they experimented with clean lyrics, atmospheric parts and sounds and in my opinion they suceeded in every way. Please don't give a shot about this score and give the record the chance to convince you. In my case it just took a few minutes. It's a creative, harmonic but still agressive album with nice lyrics by an experienced band that won't dissapoint you. Taste is taste but objectivity is objecitivity. I think this writer gave this album one listen and that was it. I'm reviewing myself and to build myself an opinion i usually need more than a week. Silver tongue isn't even out for that long so please build an opinion yourself. This is not a good review!"


I believe the place you were looking for is youtube.

North0House2
February 11th 2013



5840 Comments


I can listen to an hour of William Basinski's Disintegration Loops in one sitting, but I couldn't get through two songs of this. It just doesn't hit me as strong, I suppose. I probably won't rate because I can't make it through a whole listen, so I'd feel like it'd be unfair for me to rate it.

Digging: Amen Dunes - Love

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



20749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

How does Lapsus compare to this songwriting wise?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

AtomicWaste, thanks a ton for the grammar tips. I knew there was something I hadn't fixed!

Orkus, some albums take longer to really understand. I felt I understood this one earlier than you did, so I wrote my review. You write about albums when you feel confident about your opinion, and that's what happened here too.

And thanks Snoxall.

"I would have liked him to elaborate more on the good and bad, I guess. Tell me why it feels apathetic to him, because I obviously get a different feeling. He could have mentioned the lack of varied drumming, the use of similar structured guitar chords throughout, etc. Anything. Maybe "bad" was a bit strong."

I do understand this comment, man. The thing is that when I think of this album, the first thing that comes to mind is my frustration with it. You're right in that I could have incorporated more descriptions into my review, and this is something I'll keep in mind for the future. Thanks for the feedback, and for being helpful about it. =]


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Here's the thing, man, and I guess I'd consider it my justification of this review's rather dismissive nature. The music is so forgettable that it's hard to put any more detail into the monotony. I don't feel like there are many more ways I could explore this point without it becoming redundant, and I do feel like I expressed the other side of the point well, such as why the group sounds uninspired.

Ignimbrite
February 11th 2013



5311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is the most freaking bloated album I've heard in a long time... Jesus.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2013



20749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Without tracks 2-4 this would be so great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy