Light Bearer Silver Tongue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ignimbrite
February 11th 2013


5655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wonderful review.

Digging: Rosetta - Quintessential Ephemera

Tyrael
February 11th 2013


20997 Comments


Lapsus is about as good as the best FoE material for me but hey I'm probably one of the few post-metal fans that doesnt like post TOG Neurosis so bleh

Buzzkillr
February 11th 2013


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's a pretty well established fact that FoE >>>>>

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


2122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review as always, man. I'd pos if Contributors weren't immune to pos/negs now.



I did catch this:



because Silver Tongue’s second track ‘Amalgam” is comprised of too much of, well, everything.




- "Amalgam" only has a single quote before it (should be double on both sides).

- "Amalgam" should be offset by commas since it's identifying the second track (i.e. second track, "Amalgam," is comprised)

- Pick one "of" and nix the other in "is comprised of too much of" (this is style, but as it stands, it reads stilted, rather than authentic and authentic is much more your style of writing).



Obviously not a huge deal in the context of the rest of the review, which is well-articulated, but I thought you should know.

Digging: Lazer Kitty - SPIES

orkusofumigrom
February 11th 2013


1 Comments


i'm sorry but i doubt your competences in writing reviews. with this album light bearer have done extremely well. they are not afraid of trying out things, and when i had my first listen i was so stunned about the production and mixing so that i had to smile. and i have quite alot of experience in terms of mixing ;). in my opinion this record deserves at least a 4 as it's produced extremely well, the compositions are tight eventhough the songs are nearly 20 minutes long and they experimented with clean lyrics, atmospheric parts and sounds and in my opinion they suceeded in every way. Please don't give a shot about this score and give the record the chance to convince you. In my case it just took a few minutes. It's a creative, harmonic but still agressive album with nice lyrics by an experienced band that won't dissapoint you. Taste is taste but objectivity is objecitivity. I think this writer gave this album one listen and that was it. I'm reviewing myself and to build myself an opinion i usually need more than a week. Silver tongue isn't even out for that long so please build an opinion yourself. This is not a good review!

Mike08
February 11th 2013


617 Comments


Excellent review as always. It would be difficult to write a review where you say, "just skip it."

Tyrael
February 11th 2013


20997 Comments


'This album isn't objectively good so don't try and act like it is.'

Are you arguing that there are albums that are indeed objectively good? (except for the obvious stuff like Pink Floyd's animals)

Wolfhorde
February 11th 2013


13821 Comments


Edit: Damn it, Snorlax. You just killed my punchline.

Tyrael
February 11th 2013


20997 Comments


I suggest you read rasputin's review (which is by far the best review I've ever read) of Animals so you can see just how wrong you are

Wolfhorde
February 11th 2013


13821 Comments


I suggest you both hug it out and move on. Or you could solve this Holmgang style, everbody gets 3 shields and swords and you fight 'til death/disarming of the enemy.

Tyrael
February 11th 2013


20997 Comments


I'm joking of course

but rasputin's review is a masterpiece you should definitely check it out if you haven't already

Tyrael
February 11th 2013


20997 Comments


Sorry I don't hug I can offer you a celebratory fist bump though

Buzzkillr
February 11th 2013


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Also, judge a review by the way it's written, not by the reviewer's opinion on the album. This album isn't objectively good so don't try and act like it is. And get your head out of your arse. "



um, what makes a review good is whether or not the arguments defending the reviewer's point of view are well thought out and convincing, the actual writing is secondary imo

Wolfhorde
February 11th 2013


13821 Comments


"LOOK AT ME I'M SO MYSTERIOUS AND SHIT AND BLAH BLAH I ONLY OFFER PHYSICAL CONTACT IN FORM OF FRAT BOY DOUCHERY YIH!"

Fix'd.

"How is how the reviewer writes and gets across his argument not part of his writing?"
^ 123

Buzzkillr
February 11th 2013


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"How is how the reviewer writes and gets across his argument not part of his writing?"



No, I definitely agree with that, it's just the way you said it just made it sound like having a nice style of writing

and not making any spelling mistakes is what makes a review good

pedro70512
February 11th 2013


4145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is objectively a well-written review. I don't think he understands the band very well but the points are backed up decently, even if there's not much about what it actually sounds like.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2013


2122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i'm sorry but i doubt your competences in writing reviews. with this album light bearer have done extremely well. they are not afraid of trying out things, and when i had my first listen i was so stunned about the production and mixing so that i had to smile. and i have quite alot of experience in terms of mixing ;). in my opinion this record deserves at least a 4 as it's produced extremely well, the compositions are tight eventhough the songs are nearly 20 minutes long and they experimented with clean lyrics, atmospheric parts and sounds and in my opinion they suceeded in every way. Please don't give a shot about this score and give the record the chance to convince you. In my case it just took a few minutes. It's a creative, harmonic but still agressive album with nice lyrics by an experienced band that won't dissapoint you. Taste is taste but objectivity is objecitivity. I think this writer gave this album one listen and that was it. I'm reviewing myself and to build myself an opinion i usually need more than a week. Silver tongue isn't even out for that long so please build an opinion yourself. This is not a good review!"



Well, that's just, like, your opinion, man.



Kind of rude to say it's not a good review just because you disagree with it.

XingKing
February 11th 2013


11090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm going to agree with this being a bad review, not because I disagree with it but because I feel like it hardly says anything. It mentions that there are two good songs and the rest are long and aimless. End. He mentions the words post metal and post rock in the very beginning of the review and other than that, I would have no idea what this music sounds like other than boring. It feels like you threw the album on in the background and the only time something caught your attention was the first and last track, so it must be boring. I'm not denying that this release is bloated but almost every single track has at least one portion that is fantastic if you are paying attention

XingKing
February 11th 2013


11090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I would have liked him to elaborate more on the good and bad, I guess. Tell me why it feels apathetic to him, because I obviously get a different feeling. He could have mentioned the lack of varied drumming, the use of similar structured guitar chords throughout, etc. Anything. Maybe "bad" was a bit strong.

chambered99
February 11th 2013


889 Comments


band sucks good review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy