Autechre Exai
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

bitches be cray. all the right users love this anyway. if deviant isn't dead he'll give this 3.5 max when he returns.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Adash
February 22nd 2013


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Deviant spent a month writing labouring over a review for this and then he logged into Sputnik and it was like OH SNAP NIGGA

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I just looked at his profile. I guess he hasn't been posting or reviewing lately but damn he is loving those .1 increments.

Of course he is.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

glad this got featured

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


21828 Comments


Great review. I need to check this out

Digging: Failure - Fantastic Planet

FourthReich
March 4th 2013


18140 Comments


this was awesome, put me in such a weird state. adash you write THE best reviews on the site. needless to say, pos'd.

Keyblade
March 4th 2013


15443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how the fuck does this only have 31 ratings. oh yea that's right, sputnik is too busy creaming itself over the new bmth

Digging: Sofia Gubaidulina - Chamber Music With Double Bass

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

glad this eventually got featured

Adash should have applied for contrib.

Adash
March 4th 2013


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you kindly bredrin, much appreciated.

After being on the move for the last 8 months I've finally settled down, so will have more time for reviews and such, work permitting

Typhoner
March 4th 2013


900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Congrats on the feature (but, yeah, it's a good review and all).

I only heard this once, but I think it's best to go easy on it. However, I believe I'm really going to like this.

Digging: Clarity - Infinite

toxin.
March 4th 2013


12806 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is a great review in terms of style but...
"creeping, mutated arpeggios and enormously fat synths being propelled along by rumbling claptrap rhythms that occasionally require a calculator to deconstruct"
"twisted metal parts are forced together into skeletal contraptions"

how is that organic?

Apollonian* And what about this exactly is Apollonian (and more specifically, what do you mean by Apollonian?). Apollo's instrument was the lyre, a folksy string instrument. Are you sure, once again, that this is Apollonian? Or perhaps you're suggesting that this is intelligent and polished and dignified like the Apollonian split of the Apollo-Dionysus metaphor suggests?

I agree that The Seer is definitely Dionysian (at least that's what I hope you were getting at) but describing something "that is far better off unleashed and unrestrained, unapologetic in its grandeur" isn't Apollonian, is it?

The point of my nitpicking is this: you're a great writer but this reeks of overwriting. The prose is fine, maybe a tad flowery for my tastes but that just boils down to preference. No, the issue with this review is it seems there are a few tossed in intellectual ideas that never get properly developed. I'm not going to shove reasons into your mouth as to why this is the case. This is simply what I took away from the review.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well you took away some weirdly misguided bullshit. the writing is fine, and your accusations of forced intellectualism hold no weight.

toxin.
March 4th 2013


12806 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thank you for answering, author of this review. Let me ask you something---what exactly did
you take away from the Dionysus/Apollo comment? He might have been referring to something completely
different, but the only context with which I've heard that is exactly the split I refer to in my
post. It's a split between refined intellectualism and animalistic passion, which is more or less
exactly what he's referring to.

So let me ask you a question. What is your problem? Why are you being so defensive in response to a
post that is certainly polite? The author is a great writer, clearly, so I'm not sure why you even
posted "the writing is fine."

As for "your accusations of forced intellectualism hold no weight"---why would you say that? There's
a good chance you've never heard of the split. I don't believe it's an oft-discussed topic, so I'm
not calling you stupid or anything. It's something my English teacher talked about with regards to A
Streetcar Named Desire.

I'm trying to have an actual conversation with the author, who might give me insight as to why he
chose that comparison. So what exactly is your problem?

FourthReich
March 4th 2013


18140 Comments


can't wait to see aids' reply!

Keyblade
March 4th 2013


15443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mjpopcorn.gif

tommygun
March 4th 2013


25425 Comments


toxin bro you are a true gentleman

MO
March 4th 2013


19078 Comments


nice good shit adash

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok, so this is officially the best thing I've heard so far this year.

Adash
March 4th 2013


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lets clear a few things up shall we

1) I chat enough breeze to give a man a cold. Todd from RA gave me shit for this so I understand where you're coming from. That said, everything in this review remains pertinent and relevant

2) Check what Apollo did to Marsyas when he pissed off the god. The divide is not as clearcut as first appears. Yet the Dionysian is instinctual violence; the Apollinian can revel in destruction just as much, but it is a conscious joy


clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Care to share which reviews exactly you did for RA?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy