Autechre Exai
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
alxglen
February 8th 2013



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. The record needs listening to from start to finish, or at least in two halves to really get your head around how good it is. Not sure listening in bits is the way to go (if you have the choice).

On first listen I warmed into it, really enjoyed certain sections/tracks and knew it was going to be a grower to return to, but when you get to the final track I couldn't help but smile. That tracks is absolutely devastating in it's quality. I enjoyed Oversteps and fav's are their first three records and for me this is an excellent (albeit subtle and subjective) blend of those four albums. Ae are untouchable.

lou1000
February 8th 2013



905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how does this compare with Autechre's other albums?

Digging: M. Geddes Gengras - Ishi

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013



8151 Comments


This is probably their 3rd best release in my opinion.

tommygun
February 8th 2013



23508 Comments


great review man, really good read

pos


Digging: Obliteration - Black Death Horizon

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013



8151 Comments


I wanted to do a review of this :[

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if adash had been reviewing with any regularity at all over the past few months, he'd be a shoo-in for contrib. They should promote him anyway, great fucking writer, and he covers stuff that most other people don't.

MichaelSnoxall
February 8th 2013



12163 Comments


Fantastic review, I still haven't listened to this. Pos.

Flagran12
February 8th 2013



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I found it instantly gratifying, but I guess that's just me. Good review.

Adash
February 8th 2013



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers guys, much appreciated. Nuff fun to be writing again, especially when it's for albums as damn good as this

chambered99
February 8th 2013



779 Comments


bladelores wow

Digging: Baton Rouge - Totem

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013



8151 Comments


Gonna give this a 4th listen right now :]

Zettel
February 8th 2013



582 Comments


What about the track nodezsh? It's killing it for me now. I have the impression I am gonna spend an inordinate amount of time with this album. I have been somewhat bored with abstract glitch music as of late, but AE never fail to refresh my senses and mind.

mindleviticus
February 8th 2013



8151 Comments


hey Zettel, try to get through the more accessible ones first like: jatevee C, tuinorizn, vekoS and a few more, and THEN get to the ones that require more thought and time. That's how I approached it! On first listen: I listened to all of the tracks, and I wrote down the ones that were easiest to absorb.

I then listened to the album a second time, but only listened to the songs that I thought were easy to absorb and then afterwards, I listened to the harder-to-absorb tracks countless times.

Dig deep, man. It will eventually take over your night.

smashedneck
February 9th 2013



18 Comments


brilliant review for an incredible album.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2013



6319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I liked Oversteps actually. At first glance, this seemed like a step back being again colder and more mechanical and stuff. But I have to agree it's probably one of (if not the most) subtle records they have recorded yet.

Digging: Sully - Blue

Adash
February 9th 2013



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oversteps had its moments, ones that were totally gorgeous and enveloping in ways that I haven't felt from AE since Tri Rep, especially with all the microtonal shit going on.

But this giant creature Exai, on another level entirely, is going to eat us up.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2013



6319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still deciding if I'll get the CD or vinyl. Choices, choices, choices...

Adash
February 9th 2013



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I insist on vinyl, based on my recent whoring the of medium
You'll have more street cred as well if you get it on wax

lou1000
February 9th 2013



905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought Oversteps was really good, this is probably better though.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2013



6319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, but 1. it's more than double of the price of the cd and 2. the listening experience will be disjointed as hell (only 2 tracks per side or so). Still, that box set is looking mad sexy.

Fourth playthrough is underway!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy