Silverstein This Is How the Wind Shifts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lakes.
April 3rd 2013


27652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same

also: nintendo >

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love both With Second Chances and Hide Your Secrets.

Digging: The Narrative - The Narrative

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2013


19738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well nintendo is greater than all that's just a given ;)

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Ecnalzen
April 3rd 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was listening in my car last week for a few days. I pretty much feel the same as I did when I first got it.

I find their heavier shit the most appealing. When they have songs with little to no screaming and more simplified guitar parts, I find myself without interest. Basically, I don't dig most of their more pop/rock side. Hide Your Secrets being a prime example.

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Am I missing something with the Nintendo reference? Or is it just in relation to your avatar?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2013


19738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

prolly just in relation to my avatar mang

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2013


19738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@mark, i don't mind those songs either i just don't love them

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hide Your Secrets is a tad slow and not a lot is going on, but lyrically it's composed pretty well. Well, so is the rest of the album...

Ecnalzen
April 3rd 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't get me wrong, lyrically the band is pretty solid. For me though, good lyrics aren't going to save a song that doesn't interest me musically or vocally.

Like I have said before, I am not the biggest fan of his cleans, which is why I prefer their more scream/sing combo over him doing songs with cleans being the majority of the focus.

SmokingTheClouds
April 3rd 2013


639 Comments


I do enjoy his cleans, but I agree that more harsh vocal sections would be nice to hear as well.

Opening track is damn good.

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Makes sense, when I first listened to them at DTWF I felt the screams were the weak part vocally, but they grew on me and I admire the vocals either way. For me, lyrical content has the biggest influence on me, I can't listen to stuff a lot when the meaning is trash. I agree though, the vocals are most solid when there's enough of both, but that's kind of how the album is composed, with 50/50, some with more or all cleans and some with more or all screams. That's how I look at it.

Ecnalzen
April 3rd 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't think he is a bad singer, I just don't like his vocal tone very much. At least he can actually hit the notes he is singing, especially since a lot of it is up in a higher register.

I have always thought similar things about Senses Fail, except I have heard Buddy can sound pretty awful live ( he doesn't always sound the best on their recordings either though). Does Shane pretty much sound the same live as he does on the recordings?

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, that's subjective to taste audio-wise, but it's like my childhood in a voice, minus the child aspect of it. I dig it.

He's always put on a really solid performance when I've seen 'em, first time was in '07, last time was last years and I've never had any complaints. One of the better live vocalist within the genre honestly.

Ecnalzen
April 3rd 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Exactly. His tone is just kind of flat and uninteresting to me. I don't think I have ever really heard him use vibrato either. Oh well, I still like them enough to buy their music.

A lot bands in this genre have a tendency for a higher range vocalist on the recordings, which is usually something they couldn't really do live. That's why I was wondering.

MarkTheDead
April 3rd 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, well even on record his tone isn't all that high, but yeah as a whole they're outstanding live.

Ecnalzen
April 4th 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really? I have always thought he has had a pretty high voice.

Lakes.
April 4th 2013


27652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he does

MarkTheDead
April 4th 2013


650 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I dunno, not compared to a lot of acts within the same genre. I'd say it's relatively mid-range within post hardcore.

Ecnalzen
April 4th 2013


6530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its not as high as say, Sleeping With Sirens, but its still up there.

BigPleb
April 4th 2013


36528 Comments


This wasn't half bad wtf

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy