Silverstein This Is How the Wind Shifts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acanthus
February 4th 2013


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Come payday plan on picking this up, pretty excited about it.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

NeoSpaz
February 4th 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this is pretty good, better than i was expecting

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah didn't catch that thanks andcas. i promise i didn't rush this review i have the day off and was working on it all morning don't know how i missed that lol. as far as the album name at the end of the review i was just trying to make an analogy lol i thought it made sense.

this is how the wind shift = this is how silverstein release another kick ass album

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

NeoSpaz
February 4th 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

oh and another good review Atari.



Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man i'll edit any other errors later and maybe try to fix up that last paragraph if it doesn't make sense.

CaptainDooRight
February 4th 2013


30035 Comments


you've been mad consistent Pos'd

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks captain. you're all too kind

toxin.
February 4th 2013


12667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review buddy. You more or less captured my thoughts on this (minus the references to their history)

Calc
February 4th 2013


12255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

prolly one of the better ones i've read of yours atari, you focused on describing the music a lot more than usual. although if i never heard of this band before i wouldn't really be convinced how it deserves a 4. (hence my 3)

paws.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys

Ecnalzen
February 4th 2013


6717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, atari. Knew you were a fan, but didn't know you liked them this much. Def tell you put a lot into this.

I think I am still going to buy this, but I don't see a whole lot of difference between this and Rescue/Shipwreck from my listening experience so far.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks ecnalzen. Yeah I'm a fan I've been buying their albums since day 1. I thought rescue and shipwrecks were great too but I felt like this was a step above those personally.

Ecnalzen
February 4th 2013


6717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have had Shipwrecks for about a year, but I just got Rescue pretty recently. This reminds me a little more of Shipwreck because of the two short tracks and this also seems like this may be a concept album because of the way the track listing is set up, but the overall sound is similar to me for all 3 albums. Maybe I will change my mind after listening to this and Rescue more thoroughly.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What'd u think of 'in a place of solace'?

Ecnalzen
February 4th 2013


6717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It reminds me of a Thrice song called The Flame Deluge. It's from the Alchemy Index of Fire. The vocals feel like they have been pushed back compared to the rest of the album, like they aren't supposed to be the focus or something. Flame Deluge kind of does the same thing. Dustin is just screaming in the background while the song plays out.

I really liked To Live And To Lose for some reason though. It's one of the few slower Silverstein songs I like.

Ecnalzen
February 4th 2013


6717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol, I just realized I didn't actually answer your question. I feel the same way about it as I do The Flame Deluge, I think the mixing choice is strange and slightly off putting. Other than that, I am pretty neutral about it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gotcha haha. i don't know i thought it was a surprisingly strong song. everything was slower paced but still very aggressive i liked it a lot.

Ecnalzen
February 4th 2013


6717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's interesting, I will give it that. Did you think the vocals weren't as close to the front of the mixing as the other songs are? Or is it just me?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


50674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

good album great review

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2013


19958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks buddy.

@Ecnalzen, yeah the vocal sound different then most the album but that's what made it stand out to me. I can see how you might think it's out of place though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy