Fire! Orchestra Exit!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
YankeeDudel
February 7th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

avant-garde jazz with a bunch of different vocalists. its kinda catchy. this is a jazz album that should appeal to even non-jazz fans and blow up.

Digging: Land Of Kush - Against The Day

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"this is a jazz album that should appeal to even non-jazz fans and blow up."

Agreed. Has a sort of krautrock vibe to it. It's difficult, but catchy at the same time.

YankeeDudel
February 7th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mainly cuz of the vocals. albums with vocals have more broad appeal. if this was instrumental itd still be a great jazz album, but the vocals (from a bunch of great vocalists) kicks it up.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mhm, even if they are maniac death chants. case and point: matana robert's coin coin chapter 1. that gained alot of attention, almost purely on the fact that she howls like beaten slave the whole time

YankeeDudel
February 8th 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea that matana alb is boobs

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 15th 2013


4958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

record might be in my top 10 for the year when it's all said and done. we'll see how it wears. makes me think of a more mingus-influenced version of matana roberts.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"makes me think of a more mingus-influenced version of matana roberts."

yeah, that's spot on.

I need to go back and listen to Jim O'Rourke's and Oren Ambarchi's albums with Fire! Orchestra, feel like I could appreciate them more this time around.

spiralk
February 16th 2013


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

monster of an album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013


7474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Ace album! The female vocals are amazing on this one. Ah and pos'd.

Digging: D'Angelo - Black Messiah

YankeeDudel
February 21st 2013


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea you're right it really is much better than shai hulud!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013


7474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I don't know what the fuss with this Shai Hulud record is anyway. In other words, yeah this is way better.

InfamousGrouse
February 21st 2013


3598 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

need this

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes you do

Havey
February 21st 2013


9820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D

Digging: Billie Holiday - Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HAVEY NO RATING?! *faints*

Havey
February 21st 2013


9820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

downloaded this earlier today

there'll be a rating in the near future, jus' gotta wait!

GiaNXGX
February 21st 2013


4867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.5 it!!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

** NO OBLIGATORY 3.5's HERE! **

treeqt.
February 22nd 2013


11870 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is 4(.5) land

Digging: Zhu Xiao-Mei - Scarlatti: Piano Sonatas



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy