Frightened Rabbit Pedestrian Verse
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
roverspun
March 5th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So what's the problem with Woodpile?

Ziio
March 15th 2013



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

December's Tradition is easily becoming one of my favorite songs of the year along with Nitrous Gas and Acts of Man off this album.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 17th 2013



6315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn, this is surprisingly good.

Digging: Sully - Blue

RadicalEd
March 28th 2013



2540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mh. Besides Midnight organ fight i never liked them. But i really dig this.

Dead Now is really nice. Both Housing Interludes and Closer are pure gold as well.

It does not have that raw, gut wrenching emotional power that MOF had. But it's a major label debut,
so i can't blame them. The songs are so well written and the band has still more than enough
character.

December traditions is lolbad though.

Digging: Depth Connection - Fever Dreams

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2013



7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I've finally given up trying to like December's Traditions.

I don't think it's fair to expect groups like Frightened Rabbit to keep pumping out material that's as raw and emotionally open as that on TMOF. I read an interview with Scott a few months ago where he said he felt as though he'd been far too open on that record, and TWOMD was a reaction to that. In retrospect, though, he felt that record was a little bland lyrically, so here he aimed for a little more intimacy, but with a wry twist which reflected his current mindset.

As a devoted misery monger, I love it.

RadicalEd
March 28th 2013



2540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool background info man. I'm not thaaaat into the band, so I didn't knew any of this. I appreciate it.

Ignoring the lyrical content for a second,(yeah i know, thats usually pretty stupid when you talk about frightened Rabbit) i think as a band this is a step forward for them, the songs are very well put together

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2013



7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I can agree with that. I don't think there's anything that rivals the best moment on TMOF, but I really like how direct this record is. I can understand why some don't like blatantly accessible songs like The Woodpile, but I don't subscribe to that view.

RadicalEd
March 28th 2013



2540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah agreed.

Also i think it's not fair to demand an album like TMOF, because it was basically just Scott ripping his heart out and bleeding in front of the audience... I mean, you cannot pull that off every time without become a phony caricature off yourself.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2013



7311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah exactly. It's unfair and unrealistic to expect artists to revisit the depths of despair once their lives have moved on. Records like that tend to be one offs. It's a similar story with For Emma, Pinkerton, etc.

RadicalEd
March 28th 2013



2540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah it's the same dam thing with for emma, you're right.

avonbarksdale221
April 24th 2013



8054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really digging this. The ending to Dead Now is so good. Review is also great.

benkim
July 29th 2013



2080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally got my hand on this and so far it sounds great! I see it being comfortably than TWOMD but also falling well short of TMOG.

Digging: As Tall As Lions - As Tall As Lions

Iamthe Nightstars
July 29th 2013



2177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still good, but their worst yet.

benkim
July 30th 2013



2080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No way, try 2nd best.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 30th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed, 2nd best

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

Iamthe Nightstars
July 30th 2013



2177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eh, I don't care for Decembers Traditions or the last two songs at all.

larrytheslug
July 30th 2013



1315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

your name shows up as "Iamthe Nig" from the homepage for this thrad..XD

Iamthe Nightstars
August 1st 2013



2177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it does for every post I make. lol

larrytheslug
August 1st 2013



1315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well....are you the nig?

SmurkinGherkin
August 29th 2013



1769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Absolutely gutted I missed them at Reading; the highlights look incredible. Will definitely be catching them when their touring later this year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy