Mechina Empyrean
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gmork89
January 26th 2013



5479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeeeeeah good stuff so far.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

HSThomas
January 26th 2013



668 Comments


'Magnus Altkula'

Dude your name is cool... I want a name like that. *goes away and thinks of names*

His real name is Magnus Altkiller. He's like Jack Black meets the Terminator (at least according to his old avatar).

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Congrats for the feature, I was hoping it would be either one of us that would end up writing up the review for this album. I'll submit mine in the near future though it'll be less glowing than yours. Also review is great aside from the few moments of pseudo-pretentiousness.
Thanks a bunch Thomas and ehh, don't be mad at me, my writing is rarely pretentious and I just wanted to be a little more creative on this one =).

One of my favourite recent space related sounds is still mnemic - climbing towards the stars
I myself don't dig Mnemic at all, at least their older stuff [haven't bothered with their latest(s)], but hey, different strokes etc.
His real name is Magnus Altkiller. He's like Jack Black meets the Terminator (at least according to his old avatar).
Aha, well, I'm cool with this description so I'm gonna live in that make-believe for a while. And Gaurav, yes, it is indeed my real name (well, almost, as the real "u" in my surname has dots on it and is un-pronounceable to you English speakers haha).

@Wolf
well yeah, I said it was gonna be like Fear Factory, only cooler ;)

As for the production, I can't deny that it could've been a lot better, but imo it doesn't ruin this record or anything, because its substance is awesome.

Apollo
January 26th 2013



10239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it, but as 10000 users have already said, the production fucking sucks. Sounds like they got whoever produced Bleeding Through's last album to produce this. Muddy guitars, vocals are way down in the mix, no bass AT ALL, like none. Overused electronics. Still, I like the ambition here and these guys are obviously way talented. Definitely hearing the BSG vibe too haha.

BigSimo
January 26th 2013



159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont see the problem with the production???
people just aren't use to their metal having something (in this case orchestra) other than guitar being the lead instrument. if you up the guitar and down the orchestra in the mix on this it suddenly loses something that sets it apart. "Overused electronics" - is that so wrong? maybe that's what they were going for as it is space themed, not metal themed.

AdolfChrist
January 26th 2013



1705 Comments


"maybe that's what they were going for as it is space themed, not metal themed."

dumb statement.

BigSimo
January 26th 2013



159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i was making a point. genres are so constraining, there should be no need to mix instruments are certain way just because the genre dictates that's how they should be.

CaptainDooRight
January 26th 2013



28297 Comments


very solid review, Pos'd

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

renegadestrings
January 26th 2013



1435 Comments


great review, this is exactly the kind of album i've been looking for. i recently picked up Sybreed's God Is an Automaton and i was a little letdown (it's not Antares).
and by the way i totally agree... it's a crying shame there aren't more movies set in space with grandiose themes, like the star wars prequels

Dodecahedron
January 26th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The one gripe I have about this album that is really killing my enjoyment of it as a whole is how the cleans sound. The music itself is amazing, but the cleans sound so high pitched and compressed, at first I thought it might have had a little autotune in it.

Texture
January 26th 2013



40 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production on this album is shit compared to Conqueror. Other than that, it's great.

AdolfChrist
January 27th 2013



1705 Comments


"at first I thought it might have had a little autotune in it."

theyre obviously digitally enhanced, and normally that would annoy me, but since this bands music is all futuristic and spacey, i think its appropriate.

AdolfChrist
January 27th 2013



1705 Comments


and if you heard their first album youd know he cant sing for shit so they started using studio magic.

foxxxythnksustnk
January 27th 2013



2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

he's improved

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah he has - the band has been pretty straightforward and proud about that. Still, of course the vocals are somewhat processed. I don't see any problem with the cleans though - they can be high-pitched but they're not whiny or nasally or grating or anything of the ilk.


@Apollo
I'm glad you liked it in general at least.

@renegadestrings
Sup man, long time no see. Yeah, this should be something right up your alley. I liked Sybreed's latest but you know what, I spun that one right after this album one day and decided that I'm not overly proud over the production on that record either. The instruments all sound good, but, at times, the ambiance is sorely lacking.

foxxxythnksustnk
January 27th 2013



2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i can't imagine self producing something this huge

dunno why they're not signed yet, pretty sure nuclear blast hit them up like 5 years ago

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I too have no idea why they aren't signed yet. Surely there are record companies around that would love to make money off of them!

Michichachi
January 27th 2013



36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is so amazing...

Dodecahedron
January 27th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The cleans just started to get extremely annoying to me like halfway through the album.

foxxxythnksustnk
January 31st 2013



2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

every 1s a critic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy