Ra Ra Riot Beta Love
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Anthracks
January 24th 2013


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

your opinion is more generic than their music

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

Thanntos
January 24th 2013


321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Doesn't take much to call it what it is.

zxlkho
January 24th 2013


3472 Comments


i don't

understand

the rating

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22059 Comments


what's gonna happen to the bar charts?

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

ILJ
January 24th 2013


6741 Comments


I, for one, am for the new increments. That way we can bitch and moan over even smaller differences in ratings!

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22059 Comments


it will virtually be the end of that feeling where you have the same rating as other people and you temporarily take over an album thread together ):

ILJ
January 24th 2013


6741 Comments


But when it does happen it'll feel even more special.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Can the phrase "8-bit titty twisting" please be used more often?

zxlkho
January 24th 2013


3472 Comments


please god let's not make this like pitchfork rating systems

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Why the hate on Pitchfork's rating system?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22059 Comments


cos it's tedious

8.7 for an album

what the fuck's that meant to mean

ILJ
January 24th 2013


6741 Comments


It means it's somewhere between an 8.5 and a 9, but closer to an 8.5.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22059 Comments


I don't even know how you could rate an album that precisely though

like is it actually gonna make a difference? This album's an 8.7 so I'll check it out. This one's an 8.4 so I won't.

Considering there's so much subjectivity involved it seems pretty arbitrary

YankeeDudel
January 24th 2013


9313 Comments


well I could see how itd help.

there are alot of albums I feel are better than a 3.5 but not quite a 4. or albums I feel are better than a 4 but not a 4.5.

im cool with the system now tho.

Digging: Land Of Kush - Against The Day

ILJ
January 24th 2013


6741 Comments


I dunno, in the higher ratings like 9 and above I can see those .1s being big. For me the difference between a 2 and 2.5 is fairly small, but the difference between a 4.5 and 5 is massive.

Anthracks
January 24th 2013


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

when you arrange your favorite albums of each year in order for a list, how do you arrange the albums that have the same rating (e.g. 4.5). this is why 0.1 increments is helpful, and that is how 0.1 increments are quantified


klap
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2013


10583 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

jesus christ there's subjectivity in any rating. it's really not that precise, just pick a number that you feel is right don't have a hemorrhage thinking about it

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

ILJ
January 24th 2013


6741 Comments


Very eloquently said

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22059 Comments


I've never really been bothered about the difference between albums I have rated the same. Often I decide the list positions on the spot and they could well have shifted around should I have made them another time. I don't really rate an album's quality that precisely in my head and the ratings are often just a rough guide.

The only time I've every seen the need for another increment is when I have albums which are between 4.5 and 5, which is why I make use of rym's 10 point scale (as oppose to sputnik's 9 point) and shove everything rung down one.

I guess I'll just ignored the change should there be one and carry on with the 9 point scale

unless I can be bothered to change all my ratings


awal16
January 24th 2013


218 Comments


I'm glad he didn't go with a 2.5, that would have been muuuuch too high.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy