Ra Ra Riot Beta Love
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Anthracks
January 23rd 2013


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i mean look at wolfgang amadeus phoenix. it was the same damn shallow, meaningless song 7 times plus
some terrible attempt at a nine inch nails song and thats why we loved it

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Jom
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


2682 Comments


So where exactly do the excellent, great, awful, etc. tags fall into play here?


Part of the beta-testing. My guess is that it'll be in a .4/.5 range (e.g. 4.3-4.7, 3.8-4.2, 3.3-3.7, 2.8-3.2, 2.3-2.7, 1.8-2.2, 0-1.7), but I don't know what his vision is quite yet. It's still in the roughest of rough beta testing.

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

lol anthracks i don't know what you are going on about that phoenix record but both that and passion pit are superior to this dross. this is so...reheated

Digging: Cymbals Eat Guitars - LOSE

Anthracks
January 23rd 2013


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

several songs on WAP share near exact chord progressions

ps gossamer is awful. biggest disappointment of last year

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

yeah yeah yeah

Anthracks
January 23rd 2013


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

words can't describe how dead the gossamer songs made the crowd when i saw them live last year

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

i dk i thought they killed it. pretty big venue tho

Minushuman24
January 23rd 2013


294 Comments


the hell...

Propose
January 23rd 2013


808 Comments


what is this 0.3 madness

Anthracks
January 23rd 2013


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

why don't you read what people already explained

MeatSalad
January 23rd 2013


14589 Comments


Can't wait to give albums 4.9s

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


9034 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like this because a 2.3 is the perfect rating for this: 2 was too little but 2.5 was far too generous

breakingthefragile
January 23rd 2013


2956 Comments


Not too crazy about the idea of ratings of 2.3,2.4,2.6, etc. Solely on the fact that if you're ever
going to logically justify rating something a 4.1, you'd need to be very precise and specific in your
reasoning, and let's face it, barely anyone is in reviews that are accompanied with ratings like that
i.e. Pitchfork. I'm not saying anyone isn't capable of reviewing like that, but in order for it to not
seem unnecessary, people are going to have to seem pretty picky to defend giving a rating like that.

On another note, it goes without saying pretty much, great review as always Rudy. Haven't gotten
around to this album yet, but it caught my eye.

Digging: Cathedrals - Cathedrals EP

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

ehh i don't know if you have to be more precise and specific just because the numbers are more precise and specific. i can
still rate albums a 2 (which i almost did for this) or a 3 on this scale - would that still have to be any more specific than a
2.3? the number is just an approximation of how you feel. with these ratings, we can get closer to how we feel, which
should be the ultimate goal of any long and loving relationship

breakingthefragile
January 23rd 2013


2956 Comments


True. But a review should reflect how the writer feels about an album as well as it can. If we're
gonna convey the reason for our rating in the review, we're going to need to get more fleshed out in
explaining our feelings in a way that may come off as unnecessary. Just my two cents though.

mindleviticus
January 23rd 2013


8237 Comments


I don't really care about the review, but a 2.3?? Imma have agree with Anthracks on this one, this is real good

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


9034 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I always thought Pitchfork had the best rating system but didn't want to tell anyone. I'm glad Ican come out of the closet.

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

i see where you're coming from alex but i dk how 2.3 is any different from a 3.5 in terms of how you need to explain it

jackalope11
January 23rd 2013


330 Comments


But, but,

Beta Love is one catchy ass song

Anthracks
January 24th 2013


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

most of them are catchy ass songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy