Genesis Invisible Touch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButteryBiscuitBass
January 24th 2013


10769 Comments


Of course!

Jethro42
January 24th 2013


12925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just realised I've missed both this review and the one you've written just before. Nice to see you back at the writing, supernag. As a prog freak, I never have had too much consideration for this album until you and Big Hans managed to motivate me to take a closer look at its content rather than the form. I then realized there are pretty good pop tracks all the way, and I firmly thought half of them were in fact some Collins' solo stuff. Even if this is still under the label 'Genesis', it's not hard to detect Collins' major influence all through the album. A Big Posd, mate.

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

As a prog freak, I never have had too much consideration for this album until you and Big Hans managed to motivate me to take a closer look at its content rather than the form. I then realized there are pretty good pop tracks all the way, and I firmly thought half of them were in fact some Collins' solo stuff. Even if this is still under the label 'Genesis', it's not hard to detect Collins' major influence all through the album.




Haha, I'm glad we helped. Indeed the album is absolutely great as long as you take it for what it is. Good to see you're sticking around as well Jethro.

Jethro42
January 24th 2013


12925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers, Nag. I could say the exact same thing to you, my friend. Keep the good work going!



Edit; oh, and I edited my comment here and there.

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

There's just two more Genesis albums to go after all!



Still waiting for KILL to pop in and mention this sucks though.

Jethro42
January 24th 2013


12925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes of course, but I strongly invite you to pursue after it's completed.

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Don't worry, I'm not planning to retire from reviewing after I finish this discog ;)

YankeeDudel
January 24th 2013


9331 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

where the hell has kill been damn i miss that chode

Digging: Scratch Acid - The Greatest Gift

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I guess it hasn't been the same for him with what happened to sonic.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22788 Comments


Great review as always, Nag.

While I'm not really a fan of the band's sound on this album I can't deny that it is a good 80's pop album.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013


22417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Love this album. Has a few duds though

Digging: Faith No More - Sol Invictus

YankeeDudel
January 24th 2013


9331 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

its mostly duds but the brazillian was trent reznors biggest influence

Nagrarok
January 24th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Jamie, and fair enough.

KILL
January 25th 2013


73363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

great review as always but i was hopin for a at least a 1.5 damn

ViperAces
January 25th 2013


12515 Comments


I dont think an album should have both a 'pop' rating and a 'prog' rating, it would be the same as giving the new darkthrone albums a 'dm' and 'bm' ratings, or giving the beatles a 'pop' ratings on latter albums. The change of style the band did dosent make the music less good imho.

Anyway I havent read the review yet. Title track and Land Of Confusion are pretty nostalgic for me, but I havent checked the entire album yet. Should probably sometime.

ViperAces
January 25th 2013


12515 Comments


"pass the 5-minute mark"
wouldnt you want to say 8-minute mark?
good review

Nagrarok
January 26th 2013


8400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

great review as always but i was hopin for a at least a 1.5 damn




Well sorry, but there's still Calling All Stations!



I dont think an album should have both a 'pop' rating and a 'prog' rating, it would be the same as giving the new darkthrone albums a 'dm' and 'bm' ratings, or giving the beatles a 'pop' ratings on latter albums. The change of style the band did dosent make the music less good imho.




It doesn't, but I'm making the distinction in this case to stress the way that I look at the album during the review. It's central to the point I'm trying to make. Also thanks for the heads up, edited.

ViperAces
January 26th 2013


12515 Comments


eh, this isnt that good, i prefer the poppy camel stuff much more

dannyboy89
February 5th 2013


13074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm impressed Nag, you make a fair appreciation of both the Gabriel and Collins eras. Hats off to you!

Donchivo
February 20th 2013


488 Comments


good to read another Nagrarok review! but one thing: "closest thing to a traditional progressive song", hehe of course I get what you mean but that wording "traditional progressive" is kinda akward....

Digging: Vampillia - Rule The World/Deathtiny Land



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy