Foxygen We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
666Micrograms
January 25th 2013


923 Comments


why do people say its "okay" and hand out a 3.5? this is why sputnik has retarded average ratings.

anyway, last third of this album kills especiially

chambered99
January 25th 2013


801 Comments


that album covers got illuminati written all over it

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2013


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it is definitely an okay album. Maybe slightly better than okay but yeah this is not nearly as good as the last one

666Micrograms
January 25th 2013


923 Comments


album cover probably relates more to the "third eye" that every human has in their brain. Its called the pineal gland, and it directly relates to near-death and mystical experiences. Look it up.

NightProwler
January 26th 2013


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like this album, it has a lot of good calm, folksy elements which all of the sudden just explodes into goody psychedelicness (or whatever). Oh, and I love Sam's voice! I'd honestly expected to see more people enjoy this, but oh well, as long as I do

Digging: Neil Young - Live at the Cellar Door

Anthracks
January 26th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sputnik just tries to do everything opposite of pitchfork. pitchfork had dibs on this album so naturally people on sputnik are going to loathe it

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

CelestialDust
January 26th 2013


3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

These guys have a bright future ahead of em... seems like they won't settle for the same sound album
to album. given the wide number of influences

derho
January 26th 2013


307 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pitchfork certainly gives no shit about me and I give no shit about them. they got interesting lists. Their first album showed promise. This is kind of a squandering of that promise I think.

Anthracks
January 26th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

like every single other indie psychedelic band of this decade, foxygen will continue to change their
sound with every release. experimenting is keystone to the genre. people who want the same album over
and over shouldn't even bother listening to the genre

derho
January 26th 2013


307 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't want the same, just feels like regression more than progression

Anthracks
January 26th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thats weird it doesnt sound like their pre-broadway EPs

Killerhit
January 26th 2013


5250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

christ this thread's a rollin

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2013


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Anthracks just for reference do you like this more than the last one? Because what derho said is spot on so if you happen to be a foxygen fanboy then I can understand your rating but otherwise this is just inferior to Take the Kids Off Broadway in pretty much every sense.

Sleaper
January 27th 2013


3370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think 21st century is much more accessible than take the kids of broadway.
well it was for me at least..

both are really good though.

Digging: Mick Jenkins - The Water[s]

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2013


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Definitely agree about it being more accessible. Took me quite a few listens of TtKoB to realize that it was actually worthwhile, but this one I enjoyed pretty much immediately.

BigHans
February 20th 2013


26454 Comments


Holy shit this guy sounds like Lennon

omnipanzer
February 20th 2013


21448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lennon but even higher...

chambered99
February 20th 2013


801 Comments


sputnik just tries to do everything opposite of pitchfork. pitchfork had dibs on this album so naturally people on sputnik are going to loathe it



are you fucking retarded?

Cygnatti
February 20th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

aren't we often pitchfork-esque these days?

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2013


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely better than lennon agreed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy