Bad Religion True North
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MichaelSnoxall
January 17th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Bad Religion is my favourite band of all time, so my opinion on this is either the best one or the worst one.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2013



23807 Comments


I'm probably seeing these guys with Against Me! in few months, but I'm not a huge fan of either band.

What are the essential Bad Religion classics that I need to be familiar with if I'm going to pretend to be a fan at their concert?

MichaelSnoxall
January 17th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You need to know the albums Generator and Against the Grain fairly well.

RosaParks
January 18th 2013



14857 Comments


classic sputnik jizz

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013



7177 Comments


He said Allahuakhbar.

I told em don't curse me.




O wait.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

OverSlyZed
January 18th 2013



125 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Someone gave a 1...gratz.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013



4412 Comments


Really great review, Michael. POS'd.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

CasinoColumbus
January 18th 2013



340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope I can rock like this when I'm 50 years old too.

MichaelSnoxall
January 18th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

We all do.

PapyrIsGood
January 18th 2013



30 Comments


Yay!! Better than their last one for sure!

StrizzMatik
January 18th 2013



3186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This sits comfortably with Process and as their best 3rd period release.

someguest
January 18th 2013



20393 Comments


This band should've stopped in 1990.

StrizzMatik
January 18th 2013



3186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Lol no

StrizzMatik
January 18th 2013



3186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Atlantic period was less than stellar, but they've crushed it before and since. For how long they've been around you can't find a more consistent band, Rush included.

donaldo11
January 19th 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hello Cruel World is so damn good. Strange that my favorite song on the album is the slowest, that is unusual for me.

Changing Tide is also the bees knees. So is Dharma and the Bomb for that matter. The oddballs and surprises on this album are some of the best material. The fact that the rest of the album is super high caliber is just icing on the cake.

Bottom line, this album slays. Crazy that these guys are putting out an album this good. Album number 16 for Pete's sake!

MichaelSnoxall
January 20th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nah, it's not that good.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2013



10070 Comments


"Bad Religion have had quite a luckily unique career."

I'd take a couple descriptors out of here. Maybe say "Bad Religion have had quite the unique career," etc.

"more hook-driven rock songs that wasn’t widely embraced by all"

*weren't, since you're referring to 'songs.' Also that last part is a little awkward. I'd say something like 'songs that proved to polarize the fanbase.'

The second paragraph has a few grammatical blips, like:

"Not all the songs being quite that simple,"

This needs to be a complete statement, in the context of the sentence.

"Not all the songs being quite that simple, track seven ‘Hello Cruel World’ being a slow, build-driven song that runs on repetitive guitar riffs and vocal harmonies in the song’s chorus, and though it’s the longest song on the record, it’s easily the most forgettable, especially when the nigh-on Bad Religion classic ‘Vanity’ bursts out straight after."

This sentence is way too long, too. It's well-written, but just find a way to split it up, etc.

"'Vanity' fights to be one of the best on the album."

An underwhelming, and vague, end to your scond paragraph. Maybe make it more general, to summarize what's most important about the second paragraph? That way it'll flow nicely into para. 3.

Your third paragraph has a lot of really good, informative content.

"a brooding, traditional 70s punk song with roaring guitar work that will knock a hole in your chest if it catches you off-guard."

That last part could be excluded - maybe end it after "guitar work"













Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2013



10070 Comments


"The sullen guitar intro to ‘Past is Dead’ underneath Graffin’s solid vocals is another moment where the band seems to have stepped out of their comfort zone, sounding distant and slow, the time bomb it is ticking away;"

The very last time bomb part is confusing - id either edit it or remove it

The third paragraph also fails to have a conclusive idea at the end. While what you have isn't bad, it'd be nice to see something a bit more general to wrap it up at the end.

"The riffs are as abundant as one could hope them to be, something Bad Religion has never had a problem with, each album being able to pull out some of the most enjoyable riffs in the genre like it’s nothing. Wackerman is just as fierce as ever, his tight drumming sounding as on-point as it could ever be, dropping tasty fills where he can."

these 2 sentences are instances in which you have a really good, perceptive sentence, and it's followed by an unnecessary aside. if you removed these and just kept it to the informative first halves, your review would benefit greatly.

"Lyrically it doesn’t stand out all that much amongst older releases, but that’s not to say it has deteriorated lyrically, Graffin/Gurewitz still providing easy to remember lyrical chorus hooks for fans to sing along to, all the while not dropping their literary integrity."

There's a bit too much material here for one sentence. I'd chop it up, or remove any unnecessary bits, like maybe the last part.

And your last sentence isn't a complete sentence. Maybe *Bad Religion has proved


Overall, this is a really good review. I go into these things because I see how good your average review is, and how much it helps to see these things from an outside perspective. You do a great job with descriptions. Just trim the fat, and you'll have even better reviews from here on out.

Hey, nice feature too.

MiniatureHorse
January 21st 2013



908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, Snoxy. m/ Great album, too.

Shogun
January 22nd 2013



414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Past is Dead is so damn amazing, really feels like a classic BR track.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy