Bad Religion True North
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
donaldo11
January 19th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hello Cruel World is so damn good. Strange that my favorite song on the album is the slowest, that is unusual for me.



Changing Tide is also the bees knees. So is Dharma and the Bomb for that matter. The oddballs and surprises on this album are some of the best material. The fact that the rest of the album is super high caliber is just icing on the cake.



Bottom line, this album slays. Crazy that these guys are putting out an album this good. Album number 16 for Pete's sake!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2013


10505 Comments


"Bad Religion have had quite a luckily unique career."

I'd take a couple descriptors out of here. Maybe say "Bad Religion have had quite the unique career," etc.

"more hook-driven rock songs that wasn’t widely embraced by all"

*weren't, since you're referring to 'songs.' Also that last part is a little awkward. I'd say something like 'songs that proved to polarize the fanbase.'

The second paragraph has a few grammatical blips, like:

"Not all the songs being quite that simple,"

This needs to be a complete statement, in the context of the sentence.

"Not all the songs being quite that simple, track seven ‘Hello Cruel World’ being a slow, build-driven song that runs on repetitive guitar riffs and vocal harmonies in the song’s chorus, and though it’s the longest song on the record, it’s easily the most forgettable, especially when the nigh-on Bad Religion classic ‘Vanity’ bursts out straight after."

This sentence is way too long, too. It's well-written, but just find a way to split it up, etc.

"'Vanity' fights to be one of the best on the album."

An underwhelming, and vague, end to your scond paragraph. Maybe make it more general, to summarize what's most important about the second paragraph? That way it'll flow nicely into para. 3.

Your third paragraph has a lot of really good, informative content.

"a brooding, traditional 70s punk song with roaring guitar work that will knock a hole in your chest if it catches you off-guard."

That last part could be excluded - maybe end it after "guitar work"













Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2013


10505 Comments


"The sullen guitar intro to ‘Past is Dead’ underneath Graffin’s solid vocals is another moment where the band seems to have stepped out of their comfort zone, sounding distant and slow, the time bomb it is ticking away;"

The very last time bomb part is confusing - id either edit it or remove it

The third paragraph also fails to have a conclusive idea at the end. While what you have isn't bad, it'd be nice to see something a bit more general to wrap it up at the end.

"The riffs are as abundant as one could hope them to be, something Bad Religion has never had a problem with, each album being able to pull out some of the most enjoyable riffs in the genre like it’s nothing. Wackerman is just as fierce as ever, his tight drumming sounding as on-point as it could ever be, dropping tasty fills where he can."

these 2 sentences are instances in which you have a really good, perceptive sentence, and it's followed by an unnecessary aside. if you removed these and just kept it to the informative first halves, your review would benefit greatly.

"Lyrically it doesn’t stand out all that much amongst older releases, but that’s not to say it has deteriorated lyrically, Graffin/Gurewitz still providing easy to remember lyrical chorus hooks for fans to sing along to, all the while not dropping their literary integrity."

There's a bit too much material here for one sentence. I'd chop it up, or remove any unnecessary bits, like maybe the last part.

And your last sentence isn't a complete sentence. Maybe *Bad Religion has proved


Overall, this is a really good review. I go into these things because I see how good your average review is, and how much it helps to see these things from an outside perspective. You do a great job with descriptions. Just trim the fat, and you'll have even better reviews from here on out.

Hey, nice feature too.

MiniatureHorse
January 21st 2013


908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, Snoxy. m/ Great album, too.

Shogun
January 22nd 2013


430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Past is Dead is so damn amazing, really feels like a classic BR track.

drasticaction74
January 22nd 2013


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but where are all the "Ya-Hey!"s and "Sick Cow!"s????

Digging: Rocket From The Crypt - Hot Charity

DeadGuy
January 26th 2013


547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I had it on a 3 for one day.



I cannot get into this shit for some reason



I love a couple songs on here though.

Overall it just is not that amazing in my opinion

JayVex
January 28th 2013


383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let's hope this album's rating doesn't go down after that fetid miscarriage of a review theneedledrop delivered.

DeadGuy
January 28th 2013


547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i don't see it

this was a mediocre punk release I thought

Parallels
January 29th 2013


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"only a lot of fuckin' bumps in their discography."



fix'd

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

Parallels
January 29th 2013


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I see most of their Atlantic streak (The Gray Race, Stranger than Fiction, No Substance) as really disappointing, although I have a soft spot for "The Gray Race" due to a few songs.



As a critic, I see "Empire" and "Process" as bumps because their entirety isn't as memorable as their older stuff. Don't get me wrong, because I do enjoy parts of them a lot and even more then most Atlantic stuff because they get down to their fast paced roots. Also, "Into the Unknown" and "New America" are arguable bumps due to their drastic change in style, although I like the latter because I feel that it has their best melodies since "Generator". "The Dissent Of Man" was truly sincere, but it just feels like "Generator" without the dark side...



That's 6 bumps in my book. But that's just my opinion, dude.

DeadGuy
January 30th 2013


547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bad Religion rules

this album is not their best



listen to this album for a few weeks till it's lost in the sea of their releases, then go back to their early albums.

Parallels
January 30th 2013


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"till it's lost in the sea of their releases, then go back to their early albums."



That's a perfect way to sum up their career for the last two decades.

drasticaction74
January 31st 2013


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not counting EPs:



(Best)

Recipe For Hate

No Control

The Process Of Belief

Generator

The Empire Strikes First

Suffer

Stranger Than Fiction

The Gray Race

New Maps Of Hell

True North

Against The Grain

How Could Hell Be Any Worse?

New America

No Substance

The Dissent Of Man

Into The Unknown

(worst)

drasticaction74
February 1st 2013


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha why

YoYoMancuso
February 1st 2013


11577 Comments


Michael, finally got around to reading this. Gotta say I'll be shocked if you don't get contrib. Keep at it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2013


20806 Comments


am i the only one that finds this to be kind of boring?

Digging: The Byrds - Ballad of Easy Rider

zaruyache
February 26th 2013


9534 Comments


Must not be that bad if it's boring yet still warrants itself a 3.5/5.

Digging: Johnnytwentythree - JXXIII

Parallels
February 27th 2013


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's good



leave it at that

Shogun
February 27th 2013


430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I would also rate it as just being good, but Im ok with that, its their 16th effort after all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy