Bad Religion True North
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DeadGuy
January 23rd 2013


497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I'm not scared of dying

and I don't really care

If it's peace you find in dying, well then let my time be near

If it's peace you find in dying

when dying time is here

bundle up my coffin, cause it's cold way down there

Digging: Fogg - High Testament

Nitroadict
January 23rd 2013


146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

After the 1st listen, I think this would've been a more effective album if they hadn't made so many albums since Process of Belief.



I'll need to a few more to make a judgement.

Parallels
January 23rd 2013


7573 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah but Bad Religion hasn't been truly effective since Generator & Recipe for Hate... Although I do have soft spots for The Gray Race and New America

Digging: Craft Spells - Idle Labor

Nitroadict
January 23rd 2013


146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd have to disagree slightly, but I see what you mean. Process was the closest they got to sounding like their old selfs while still showing us their newer sound. Empire & New Maps have a certain sound to them that's diminished compared to Process or even The Gray Race, yet still has good songs, they're just weaker wholes.



Dissent of Man was more purposely folk influenced & I feel like was a proper follow up to Process, whereas Empire was the closest they got to an anti-Bush album, & New Maps was them trying to push Empire into darker & slightly faster territory.



After one listen, I think this would've been much better if Empire and New maps didn't exist. It does the faster songs much better than New Maps, much tighter (some tracks are rightfully only a minute or two long vs. the arena aim of Empire's lengths), & has a tighter narrative in the songs than those two, & probably more so than Dissent of Man.



I'm hard to pressed to find a bad song at all, but the superior material is made too familiar by previous exploits.



Killerhit
January 23rd 2013


5509 Comments


what the fuck is this shit

Nitroadict
January 23rd 2013


146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nothing to Dismay is an new classic, regardless, though. You can really feel them reaching back for the 80's in their instruments for that one.

DeadGuy
January 23rd 2013


497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yea Nothing To Dismay is the shittt

Masochist
January 24th 2013


8140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to disagree, Nitroadict. 'Empire' is one of my favorite albums by the band, one that sees them take the revival of the album before and stretch that sound into something new and fresh. It's the 'Generator' of the 2000's, in my eyes.



Though I have to agree with you on one thing--had 'True North' been released right after 'Empire' (instead of 'New Maps of Hell'), they would have surely had another 'holy trinity' of albums for the 2000's starting with 'Process'.



That being said, I really like 'The Dissent of Man', and I enjoy all the songs on it...but it might've been more effective if it were cut down by three or four (non-live) songs.

Nitroadict
January 24th 2013


146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh no doubt, I'm not bashing Empire, it's a good album; it proved to be a grower after the initial disappointment that it

wasn't like Process (not beyond the first 3 tracks), & held it's own w/ it's different production approach & purposely

slower, more melodic tempos in the 2nd half.



However, the chorus to Boot Stomping is still an embarrassing cop-out, & the Quickening isn't really a necessary song

either & slows down the album flow too much; I'm glad they kept surface of me off the album as it didn't fit at all, and

while it seems like nitpicking, these things prevent it from being a completely good album (Process only had the

somewhat redundant The Lie).



As for generator comparisons, I disagree; TESF is a good album but not in the same league.



As for Dissent of Man, 4 tracks kind of ruin the album (but if ignored it's more or less the best folk followup to

Process): the harmless but not needed 2nd version of Won't Somebody, Devil in Stitches (way too long), Turn Your Back

on Me & Where The Fun Is (two of the worst tracks Brett will ever write; ironic considering Only Rain is probably one of

his best ever as well).



New Maps I'd have to revisit. I listened to the hell out of that & kind of got tired of it at some point but it has a lot of

excellent tracks (I seriously hate Prodigal Son, however. Just boring).





Masochist
January 25th 2013


8140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We differ in opinions again! 'Boot Stamping's' chorus is such an emotional part of the album, IMO...well, actually the whole song plays out like the Defeatist's Anthem, but the chorus is just straight heart-wrenching. Maybe it's Greg holding that straining high note so damn long, I dunno. Then again, I also know that my opinions on that song in particular are very far from the usual (most people I've seen online who like the album hate that song; I love it).



The 'Generator' comparison comes from the fact that it takes time to slow down more than once, and experiment a bit more than once. And even the super fast songs have lyrics that aren't so straight-forward. Compare the songs "Generator" and "All There Is"...oooh, they both give me chills, not just for the melodies, but for their lyrics: "Like the blood on my door, wash me clean and I will run until I reach the shore" and, "Wretched Adams with hell to pay [are] content upon a rail of pain for just a pail of rain." (Though as good as "All There Is" is, "Generator" wins by a mile).



(If you're still reading, and frustrated about my constant defending of 'Empire'...just know that I'm a fanboy for that album. Look at my ratings--you'll notice I've rated each and every one of Bad Religion's LP's, but I've given only one of them a '5' ;-)...tell the truth, that'll probably change soon.)



Hahaha...I would choose two of those four songs that could be cut from 'The Dissent of Man', but instead of "Won't Somebody" and "The Devil In Stitches," it'd be "The Pride and the Pallor" and "I Won't Say Anything" for me. Not that the other two are my favorites or anything; I'm just used to them because they were among the first I ever heard off the album.



Everything you said about 'New Maps' applies to me. Exactly that.

donaldo11
January 25th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You would take off Pride and the Pallor? I think that's one of the best songs on the album. The backups are just unreal, so many oozin ahhs



What about Ad Hominem? That has got to be one of the worst BR songs in the past ten years, absurdly silly lyrics. I rate that one just above "My Computer".



Ad Hom gets a chop in a heartbeat, and where the fun is clearly should never have been put on any album.

Satellite
January 26th 2013


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is stellar holy fuck

DeadGuy
February 13th 2013


497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

get money, don't be no lame



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy