Gozu The Fury Of A Patient Man
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


8497 Comments


Warp Riders really was/is great though, I don't know man, I find all the variety I need in The Sword's juicy riffs ;).

Like you know, I really liked Gozu's previous release, so I'm sure I'll like this one as well. Pos.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is as good as or even better than their previous album.



Warp Riders was a solid album, but their new one isn't as good. You can sense thare's something wrong when you can remember only like 3 songs. The rest just blends together.





jefflebowski
January 16th 2013


8382 Comments


great review, great album

Digging: PJ Harvey - Is This Desire?

DrGunther
January 17th 2013


193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos'd, will check as usual Greg!



Agree about the new Sword album, also saw them live last week in London and they weren't that inspiring either - too much stuff off the new album and not enough energy. The front man looks really uncomfortable singing in fact.



The support band Lonely Kamel were fucking great though, well worth checking out for the usual stoner rock crowd on here, if you like a bluesy side to it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks DrGunther. I'm actually familiar with Lonely Kamel. They're really cool. Lonely Kamel > The Sword

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2013


23519 Comments


Need to check Lonely Kamel at some point.

DrGunther
January 17th 2013


193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jamie - check out "Blues for the Dead". Not heard the other two but that one's pretty good.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2013


23519 Comments


Will do, thanks.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard both of their albums. I prefer Dust Devil to their debut.

PistolPete
January 17th 2013


3775 Comments


keep thinking this is a review for a new Gaza album when I skim the front page

this sounds great btw gonna check it out

Digging: P.O.S. - Audition

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. I actually have it the other way around. I once mixed up Gaza's news post with this.

Jethro42
January 18th 2013


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Traci Lords, Ghost Wipe and the last one are all ace.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Irish Dart Fight, Ghost Wipe, Salty Thumb and Disco Related Injury are my favorite atm.

Jethro42
January 18th 2013


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice picks too.

Jethro42
January 18th 2013


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Salty Thumbs reminds me some good QOTSA



greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Me too. It's a glorious stab of stoner pop for sure.

Jethro42
January 18th 2013


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vocals sound like Josh Homme almost everywhere and it's a good thing.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely there are definitely some spots when they sound really similar, especially on some more accessible tracks on the disc. I don't think they are alike all the time though. As regards the music, Gozu are still much heavier (and slightly less fuzzy) than QOTSA.

Jethro42
January 18th 2013


13049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I totally agree with you, my friend.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I may review something new soon. You probably know what.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy