Touche Amore/Pianos Become the Teeth Split
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013



6027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh nvm it's only 2 songs I see

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved the PBTT song and the Touche Amore number is better than we usually get from them (quote: scoot "touche amore kind of suck" agreed), so I can definitely say I'm liking this split.

nice review, but did you mean to say "scream revival" and not "screamo" in the first para?

CasinoColumbus
January 8th 2013



340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Both bands have been pretty consistent so far, so I'm looking forward to another full length. I hope
Defeater will release something soon too. Oh, nice review btw.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013



6027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

both songs are about even tbh, but they're good in different ways. pretty good stuffs

FearThyEvil
January 8th 2013



12258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait to listen to this.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013



6027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they're better than all the other songs that have come out this year so

ILJ
January 8th 2013



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Hiding" is almost a 5/5.

"Gravity, Metaphorically" is a solid 3.5/5, nothing too special there.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2013



49791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hiding is just what I needed today, I'm replaying the shit out of it

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

auberginedreams
January 8th 2013



5989 Comments


this split was hyped a lot for only being two songs. i like the TA song a lot, but the vocals on the
PBTT song bug me even though i usually really like that band's vocals. he just sounds like he's trying
way too hard in that song, his vocals sound forced with way too much vibrato. and they made a video
for the TA song but it's essentially just a hipster/punk hybrid dude running around looking all
melodramatic questioning his existence and whatnot while stuff falls on him or something.

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013



5192 Comments


Well at least listen to Hiding

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

slipnslide
January 8th 2013



2640 Comments


^i think you mean topshelf split

Spluger
January 8th 2013



1119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hiding is such a good song. I couldn't really get into Gravity Metaphorically though.

Digging: Ceremony (USA-CA) - Violence Violence

KINGSTATICTHETHIRD
January 9th 2013



613 Comments


this is def the best split touche has been on. imo at least. i was never able to get into much of their other stuff besides their s/t, though.

XingKing
January 9th 2013



10040 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

From an instrumental standpoint, Pianos song is amazing. The lyrics are good too but man, those vocals really suck. They aren't bad at first but holy fuck what an excessive and obnoxious use of vibrato. What the hell was he thinking? His voice gets better during the end when he starts to go into a half scream.

Touche's song is half good and half shit. The first half of the song is extremely boring and generic and I wonder why I ever enjoyed it (live) in the first place. When the post rock section kicks in and they sound like Pianos Wannabes, the song actually gets pretty tasty. The vocals sound really odd in the mix for a bit during that section, but I either got used to it or it was mixed better. Either way, from then on the song is great. The video is pretty horrible though.

Two tracks that are subpar. Just what I wanted!

taxidermist
January 9th 2013



7195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

#2Deep

taxidermist
January 9th 2013



7195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From an instrumental standpoint, Pianos song is amazing. The lyrics are good too but man, those vocals really suck. They aren't bad at first but holy fuck what an excessive and obnoxious use of vibrato. What the hell was he thinking? His voice gets better during the end when he starts to go into a half scream.

I gotta say that I liked it. If anything, it really helped bring the lyrics to ife, ya know? I can see how it'd be 'too much' though.

Spluger
January 9th 2013



1119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Vibrato doesn't bother me too much, but he definitely needs to tone it down if he continues to sing more on future songs.

LoganP
January 9th 2013



85 Comments


Touche Amore's next LP will be their best.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013



49791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The arpeggio that opens the Pianos song, and the arpeggio in the middle of the Touche song just get me rock hard

ILJ
January 9th 2013



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like the vibrato, kind of gives what he's singing a more emotional feel. Like he's really close to breaking. It's definitely good in moderation and I can definitely see why it'd be off putting.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy