Comadre Comadre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Emeritus
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

people were too cool to just dance back then

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Umm because it's fun to party to? It has more groove than most punk bands and I can dance my drunk ass off to it? Who cares tho

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well yeah, every western hardcore band seems to call other people out for being inauthentic or whatever, and "Burn The Scene" is pretty much perfect for that.



There's more than that in the lyrics though, what I love about them is that the meanings tend to be based off of typical emo/hardcore fare, but they're usually done in a stream of consciousness style that suits Comadre's style perfectly.



Lyrical style reminds me of Cap'n Jazz and Snowing a bit.

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh and people are still 2cool 2dance, obviously



@eagles I'm not saying the party attitude is a bad thing I'm saying I don't get why people have listed that as something they dislike

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, word

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk how y'all are loving this so much it is growing off me hard

Iluvatar
Emeritus
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk go see comadre man. i used to have burn your bones at a 3 and after a couple times seeing them, it grew to an easy five

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey John have you ever heard This Computer Kills?

Iluvatar
Emeritus
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

back when i had the record yeah. idr it much though

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shares a similar dancey-punk vibe. Bass-heavy, dualing vocals similar to this in sound, worth checking out again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOWhM_Y99VI

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


2158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Comadre, as a self-titled released, is incredibly self assured.



"self-titled release"



C'mon, Hansen! Get your head in the game! (just kidding, good review, man).



Listening now. "Color Blind" reminded me of Andrew W.K.'s "Party, Party, Party." I think both songs share a drum beat. Definitely liked how "Cold Rain" revved things up, though.

Colliiiin
January 8th 2013


677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woah, I really dug this, reminded me quite a bit of Refused. I think after a couple more listens this could be a 4.5.

Digging: Human Bodies - No Life

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yo Eagles, I'm digging that TCK track. Hadn't checked them out yet and I'd been meaning to. The drums and bass seem kinda simplistic but they're fun and driving, and the more intricate guitar reminds me a bit of Giraraffes? Giraffes!



Pretty cool on the whole though.

TMobotron
January 9th 2013


7203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice I'll have to check this, Burn Your Bones was awesome.

Hep Kat
January 9th 2013


18119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey john handsome



will you sign my printed copy of this review if i mail it to you???????

Digging: Chief Keef - Bang 3

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 9th 2013


5378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo Eagles, I'm digging that TCK track. Hadn't checked them out yet and I'd been meaning to. The drums and bass seem kinda simplistic but they're fun and driving, and the more intricate guitar reminds me a bit of Giraraffes? Giraffes!



Pretty cool on the whole though.


Nice man. That record was made when they were in high school (friends with Jeff the drummer). They made another record as The Spotlight Syndicate which is pretty much the same sound with some more The Faint influence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4jLLyyXrWY

Iluvatar
Emeritus
January 9th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

in fact i WILL hep cat!

kitsch
January 9th 2013


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really really really love the instrumentation



i wish he would chill on the vocals though. i like his screams, but when hes just constantly screaming its doesnt match the dynamism of the backing music.



its forgivable but sometimes it made me cringe

Iluvatar
Emeritus
January 9th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk its just how comadre is lol

FearThyEvil
January 9th 2013


13483 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God, "The Moon" was an awful song imo. Everything else so far is great though. I hated the moon though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy