Comadre Comadre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wolf did you make it all the way through? Last two tracks are key

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Released today, Hardcore/Emo/Other AOTY for me already unless somebody releases something fucking mind boggling that blows every other album ever out of the water.

Also I don't get why people think this is 'party boy' emo? They obviously subscribe to a somewhat hedonistic philosophy, but there is so much intelligence behind their lyrics that calling it 'party emo' is an obvious cop-out. If you disagree with them, fine, but at least come up with a good reason.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i think it has little to do with the lyric and more with how lame the har dcor scene was in 05

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

people were too cool to just dance back then

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Umm because it's fun to party to? It has more groove than most punk bands and I can dance my drunk ass off to it? Who cares tho

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well yeah, every western hardcore band seems to call other people out for being inauthentic or whatever, and "Burn The Scene" is pretty much perfect for that.

There's more than that in the lyrics though, what I love about them is that the meanings tend to be based off of typical emo/hardcore fare, but they're usually done in a stream of consciousness style that suits Comadre's style perfectly.

Lyrical style reminds me of Cap'n Jazz and Snowing a bit.

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh and people are still 2cool 2dance, obviously

@eagles I'm not saying the party attitude is a bad thing I'm saying I don't get why people have listed that as something they dislike

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, word

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


6201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk how y'all are loving this so much it is growing off me hard

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk go see comadre man. i used to have burn your bones at a 3 and after a couple times seeing them, it grew to an easy five

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey John have you ever heard This Computer Kills?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

back when i had the record yeah. idr it much though

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 8th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shares a similar dancey-punk vibe. Bass-heavy, dualing vocals similar to this in sound, worth checking out again.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOWhM_Y99VI

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2013


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Comadre, as a self-titled released, is incredibly self assured.

"self-titled release"

C'mon, Hansen! Get your head in the game! (just kidding, good review, man).

Listening now. "Color Blind" reminded me of Andrew W.K.'s "Party, Party, Party." I think both songs share a drum beat. Definitely liked how "Cold Rain" revved things up, though.

Digging: Damascus - When Last We Met

Colliiiin
January 8th 2013


674 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woah, I really dug this, reminded me quite a bit of Refused. I think after a couple more listens this could be a 4.5.

TheSadLittleDinosaur
January 8th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yo Eagles, I'm digging that TCK track. Hadn't checked them out yet and I'd been meaning to. The drums and bass seem kinda simplistic but they're fun and driving, and the more intricate guitar reminds me a bit of Giraraffes? Giraffes!

Pretty cool on the whole though.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2013


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice I'll have to check this, Burn Your Bones was awesome.

Hep Kat
January 9th 2013


15362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey john handsome

will you sign my printed copy of this review if i mail it to you???????

Digging: Burning Kitchen - Many Wonder About the Meaning of Life

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 9th 2013


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo Eagles, I'm digging that TCK track. Hadn't checked them out yet and I'd been meaning to. The drums and bass seem kinda simplistic but they're fun and driving, and the more intricate guitar reminds me a bit of Giraraffes? Giraffes!

Pretty cool on the whole though.

Nice man. That record was made when they were in high school (friends with Jeff the drummer). They made another record as The Spotlight Syndicate which is pretty much the same sound with some more The Faint influence.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4jLLyyXrWY

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 9th 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

in fact i WILL hep cat!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy