Xanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kubrick
December 30th 2012



739 Comments


Thanks for the review! Really glad you turned me onto this.. I like it quite a bit on the first listen and I get the feeling it's going to grow on me. Seems like one of those albums you can really delve into and hear new things each time you listen.

If I could just make a suggestion for your writing in future reviews- try to be a little more conversational. It seems like you go out of your way to select unorthodox, uncommonly used words just for the sake of making the review sound more technical. It really hurts the readability of the review and a lot of the time just clouds the points you are trying to make with unnecessary verbiage. Other than that it was a good review though- could definitely tell that you put a lot of effort into it which is always appreciated :D



AnimalsAsSummit
December 30th 2012



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jeez, Deus Absconditus II is almost tear worthy at points

Digging: Helixed - Formulaic Structures

Gigglesdemon
December 30th 2012



187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You convinced me to pick this album up and boy was it worth it. I've listened to it like 5 times already and I love it more each time. Definitely on my end of the year list.

foxblood
December 30th 2012



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm sure i'll love this, gettin it now

CaptainDooRight
December 30th 2012



26409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Pho3nix - my pleasure bro, and I agree that's why I'm here, besides the occasional trolls[which as of lately it seems its gotten much better] it's a great place to find new and older music. It's greatly molded my tastes over the years.

@ Kibrick - thank you for the kind words and useful feedback. I tend to use different words to refrain from repeating the same words over and over and I agree that some words aren't amongst the normal humans vocabulary. So in the future I will try to focus on your advice as I want good flow to be there. You're the third person who's mentioned that so obviously it's notable. Thank you for reading and taking the time to give me useful advice.

@ Animals - fully agreed, such an outstanding track!

@ Giggles - awesome! I'm experiencing the same too. I'm already past 20 full album listens and enjoy more with each new listen. There truly are many new elements that are realized with each repeated listen. That's part of why this scores so high for me because if that replay value.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

CaptainDooRight
December 30th 2012



26409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have a feeling you will, Fox. it's def imo worth checkin out

foxblood
December 30th 2012



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't think of any instances when you really liked a bm album that i didn't as well. and hawkz likes it too so yeah

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



6734 Comments


It's a quality listen on multiple repeats too,

666Micrograms
December 30th 2012



923 Comments


wicked review. Gonna check this

sixdegrees
December 30th 2012



15760 Comments


^ nice dig

based on the rec'd by reviewer section, I predict that this will be good

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

CaptainDooRight
December 30th 2012



26409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thx guys, I hope you enjoy this

Keyblade
December 31st 2012



13263 Comments


fox u gon like this bro

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins

paxman
December 31st 2012



4083 Comments


Looks like No World For Tomorrow artwork

BigPleb
December 31st 2012



28499 Comments


Gonna check ASAP

Great review, pos

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012



6734 Comments


Tis great.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012



23643 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this is the sort of forced-"epic" progressive metal that I just can't dig. I appreciate the sound that they're going for, it's just not for me.

This reeks of pretension though. The description on their facebook page makes me lose respect for their music a little bit: "We are a band from Lake Forest unlike any you have ever heard or seen. We are Legendary Metal."

anyway, I'm still listening to this, but it feels like a 2-2.5 for me

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Dreamflight
December 31st 2012



1760 Comments


this sounds like a non boring version of Ihsahn.

Great review Cap.

Keyblade
December 31st 2012



13263 Comments


yea After rules. haven't heard the new one though even though i've been anticipating it for a while before it came out

Dreamflight
December 31st 2012



1760 Comments


I enjoy Emperor very much, but I can't seem to fully appreciate his solo stuff (Peccatum included). Dude is a great musician though.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012



18612 Comments


nice to see a review from you captain. sweet write up, pos

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy