Xanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listening to this now. Some cool songs but I'm not a big fan of their style.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

CaptainDooRight
December 29th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's fair, glad u got a chance to hear it.

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Winter's End" is a really good track, but I think their black metal tracks are a bit weak. I don't
really remember any riffs that aren't acoustic, and the harsh vocals aren't very powerful and don't
convey much emotion, and more often than not the cleans are annoying rather than epic.

If they released a neofolk album it would be ace, though.

CaptainDooRight
December 29th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I understand what you're saying. It worked well with my taste but yes I agree Winter's End is awesome and they would def kill it on a neo-folk album.

It's because some other similar albums like this just didn't work for me so I imagine this genre, style, or approach is usually hit or miss. It is for me at least.

Thanks for the feedback. I've always respected your viewpoints.

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012



81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Downloaded this album on a whim and so far im enjoing it... I haven't been this stoked about a prog/black release since Urd.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review by the way, if a bit verbose.

CaptainDooRight
December 29th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a tad huh lol, but thanks bro

@ Life - good to hear that, I'm over my 20th listen by now and it hasn't lost any of my attention. Hopefully that holds true for
you too.

MO
December 29th 2012



18410 Comments


sounds interesting nice write up

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

CaptainDooRight
December 29th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey MO, thanks

I can def see you digging the drums at the very least. Imo they're well above par.

MO
December 29th 2012



18410 Comments


listening right now, very solid chops

i'm with crysis a little though regarding the vox, really don't hit home

Hawks
December 29th 2012



35288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah the harsh vocals aren't anything special, but they're still pretty good. Doesn't really take anything away from this. The cleans rule though.

Digging: Brutal Truth - Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012



81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It didn't disappoint.. the choir vocals dotted about were nice, but the singer sounds a bit too much like Ihsahn to me. gonna give it another spin before i post a rating. good review btw. pos'd

CaptainDooRight
December 30th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea MO if you like Ihsahn this shouldn't bother anyone but yeah things like lack of dynamic lead vocals, meaning variability, could draw down the enjoyment factor for some. Glad u could check it.

Thanks Life

Propose
December 30th 2012



808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

harsh vocals are pretty awful yea

RevenantBlue
December 30th 2012



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This year's Parasignosis, basically

ZippaThaRippa
December 30th 2012



2415 Comments


"Clearly the unity of these Californians can be seen in video clips on YouTube where the band members can be seen joking around and having a good time amongst each other during the production phase and this not only shows in visual aspects but also on audible demeanors as there never seems to be a moment on Blessed He With Boils where band members try to over shadow others."

Idk what the hell this is doing here but it fucks up the flow pretty hard. Review is ungodly pretentious and syrupy but it's undeniably well written.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



6985 Comments


Hey captain, good job man posd of course album us still a solid 4, vicals dont bither me

Fluttertrank
December 30th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

at 1st wasnt going to check this out but then i heard that Wintersun cover. now i must check this out.

CaptainDooRight
December 30th 2012



28664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Zip - thanks for the feedback. Ill try to make flow is tighter in the future and less preten but I see what u mean

@ iPod- cool thanks man

@ Flutter - it's funny how things work out sometimes ;)

Pho3nix
December 30th 2012



44 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for reviewing this! always great finding new music on this site.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy