Xanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
xopethx
December 29th 2012


28 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is superb! The soaring melodies in Deus Absconditus: Part II sealed the deal.

Propose
December 29th 2012


821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

those are indie adjectives

xist
December 29th 2012


171 Comments


Because it's featured the summary is what most people will immediately see and it doesn't make sense...

A captivating divulgence into the conceptual minds...


Divulge means to make something known, or to reveal some piece of information. That's not what you're trying to make it mean...something along the line of "A captivating journey through the...", or "An enthralling examination of..." would make more sense for the meaning you're shooting for.

FictionalFlames
December 29th 2012


1528 Comments


nice review brah, pos

so far this album reminds me of Ihsahn.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


10433 Comments


You're a good writer, Captain, but it feels like you're trying too hard sometimes (i.e. - strings of big words that aren't necessary)

like: "Xanthochroid manages to successfully extract each illuminative-integral component as if the very proponents they behest were renditions from their own merits."

Digging: CHON - Grow

D41V30N
December 29th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://gifs.gifbin.com/reverse-227839420.gif

D41V30N
December 29th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album reminded me of Winterhorde's Underwatermoon.

And that's good.

xist
December 29th 2012


171 Comments


Captain, i understand what you're getting at, but you can't divulge "into" anything. The band can divulge their ideas, but we can't divulge into them.

Tyrael
December 29th 2012


20988 Comments


I learn something new every day

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


16691 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listening to this now. Some cool songs but I'm not a big fan of their style.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


16691 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Winter's End" is a really good track, but I think their black metal tracks are a bit weak. I don't

really remember any riffs that aren't acoustic, and the harsh vocals aren't very powerful and don't

convey much emotion, and more often than not the cleans are annoying rather than epic.



If they released a neofolk album it would be ace, though.

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Downloaded this album on a whim and so far im enjoing it... I haven't been this stoked about a prog/black release since Urd.

Digging: Arcana Coelestia - Le mirage de l?idéal

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2012


16691 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review by the way, if a bit verbose.

MO
December 29th 2012


19392 Comments


sounds interesting nice write up

MO
December 29th 2012


19392 Comments


listening right now, very solid chops

i'm with crysis a little though regarding the vox, really don't hit home

Hawks
December 29th 2012


36124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah the harsh vocals aren't anything special, but they're still pretty good. Doesn't really take anything away from this. The cleans rule though.

Digging: Drawn - A New World?

LifeFeedsOnLife
December 29th 2012


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It didn't disappoint.. the choir vocals dotted about were nice, but the singer sounds a bit too much like Ihsahn to me. gonna give it another spin before i post a rating. good review btw. pos'd

Propose
December 30th 2012


821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

harsh vocals are pretty awful yea

RevenantBlue
December 30th 2012


136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This year's Parasignosis, basically

ZippaThaRippa
December 30th 2012


2450 Comments


"Clearly the unity of these Californians can be seen in video clips on YouTube where the band members can be seen joking around and having a good time amongst each other during the production phase and this not only shows in visual aspects but also on audible demeanors as there never seems to be a moment on Blessed He With Boils where band members try to over shadow others."

Idk what the hell this is doing here but it fucks up the flow pretty hard. Review is ungodly pretentious and syrupy but it's undeniably well written.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy