Burial Truant/Rough Sleeper
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2012


31628 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

and it's all because baseline died*

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

liberi
December 28th 2012


56 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is best when I'm not really paying it much attention.

Mike08
December 28th 2012


609 Comments


Nice. amusing way to tackle a review, have a POS

EaglesBecomeVultures
December 28th 2012


5273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The drums when the first vocal sample starts on Truant are the bessst

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Jamatha
December 30th 2012


110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dont see why this has so many 4+ ratings, Its lost all the warmth and flow of his original material. And the sampling, why? Its not clever.

Disappointed.

oltnabrick
December 30th 2012


31590 Comments


No 1 care$

lou1000
December 31st 2012


1045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

first half of Truant is pretty subdued but second half is incredible and up there with his best work so i'm happy with it.
Rough Sleeper is pretty great all the way through with (again) a stunning ending.


Digging: Magic Eye - Babylon

Jash
December 31st 2012


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Truant is easily one of my favorite Burial songs now, all of this is amazing

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shouldn't this be in the DB as just Truant?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"This is best when I'm not really paying it much attention. "

this is best when I'm paying such close attention

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

lou1000
December 31st 2012


1045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This and Kindred separately are astounding, but imagine if he'd released them as one.
ALL TIME CLASSIC (not an exaggeration).

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As much as I think this and Kindred are classic, I've been listening to Untrue and his s/t a lot recently and I really think the full-lengths benefit a ton from the more prominent, awesomely organic garage percussion. It's like every track just puts out this unique and awesomely infectious groove that keeps you interested for the full duration no matter what's layered on top of it (but of course, it's awesome stuff).

Kindred does that more than this, and I'm not complaining about the percussion on these EPs because it works great for what he's doing. But having 12 or so tracks where each one just opens up with a completely new and incredible groove makes it really easy to stay captivated from start to finish, whereas this and Kindred are more draining. I mean that in a good way, but it might end up being too much in a full-length. I really think that this kind of shit works best in EP format, but I do have to say that although after Kindred I thought I was happy with Burial moving on to the more grandiose 10+ min tracks put out consistently on EPs, I'm starting to feel like an actual full-length from him would be really nice at this point. Not because this is lacking in any way, but in going back to Untrue and hearing the percussion on some of those tracks I realized that part of his sound isn't quite as strong as it used to be, although some of the other aspects have improved quite a bit.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shouldn't this be in the DB as just Truant?

why?

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Because I'm pretty sure that's what this release is called.

http://www.hyperdub.net/artists/view/Burial
http://www.discogs.com/artist/Burial
http://www.residentadvisor.net/review-view.aspx?id=12018

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://boomkat.com/vinyl/624467-burial-truant-rough-sleeper

mmmm

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah doesn't really surprise me that one other site called it Truant/Rough Sleeper, but I kind of think the fact that Hyperdub calls it Truant trumps anything else, the other 2 links I had were just for re-enforcement.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeh, I thought this was released just as Truant as well.

Truant (the track) struck me as quite boring initially, but repeated listens + hearing it on vinyl (I must have had some absolute shit rip of it before because I was missing half of it) changed that.

lou1000
December 31st 2012


1045 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@TMobotron
Yeah but only 5 tracks, clearly an album with 12 tracks of this length is too much.


oltnabrick
January 2nd 2013


31590 Comments


Ahhh my vinyl just came in the mail

DrMaximus
January 2nd 2013


9962 Comments


Sweet, and nice avatar brick.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy