Scott Walker Bish Bosch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AStableReference
December 6th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That whole verse there, the way he delivers the lines and the music behind it, it's both a laugh and an adrenaline rush.

Drsmith4
December 6th 2012



1697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Zercon" is in a league of its own.

NightmareCinema16
December 6th 2012



2016 Comments


I finally found it! So far, this sounds really good.

AStableReference
December 6th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To those that actually got a physical copy, the lyric booklet really enhances it.

NightmareCinema16
December 6th 2012



2016 Comments


That's gonna be difficult to find in the stores anymore.

ThunderNeutral21
December 6th 2012



3864 Comments


stable honest opinion, whats better this or the drift

AStableReference
December 6th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I prefer the Drift, but I'm still digesting this album.

ThunderNeutral21
December 6th 2012



3864 Comments


hmmm we'll have to see then....is it at least better than Tilt? I found Tilt to be lacking in substance in a lot of places, it was okay, but it was the 1st album he did in this style. i like scott 4, climate of the hunter and the drift more....im hoping this is one of his better avant-garde releases

AStableReference
December 6th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is closer to the Drift than Tilt. I actually think I prefer the album Tilt because of songs like "The Cockfighter" "Patriot" and "Farmer in the City", but I understand why that album wouldn't seem as interesting.

ThunderNeutral21
December 6th 2012



3864 Comments


cockfighter rules

idk it didnt do anything for me really, cool feel to it and it wasn't outright bad but idk



AStableReference
December 6th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It was a much more sparse and murky album, where the Drift was more abrasive and creepy. There were a couple of tracks where I thought it dragged like "Face on Breast" and "Bolivia 95", but I adore track 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8.

LE0Night
December 7th 2012



36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://drownedinsound.com/releases/17371/reviews/4145807

Ooh, dear, someone's righteously pissed.

AStableReference
December 7th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Isn't that nice. This is hardly the most anti-music stuff out there, and it's actually pretty catchy at points. I found plenty of points fun because it was exciting and even amusing. A comparison to Lou Reed's Metal Machine Music doesn't make any sense because this at least has structure, dynamics and melody.

One question for the people that seem to think music like this is a no-go yet would most likely watch films or read books that are less than pleasant (horror, thriller, drama) why can't you enjoy it in a similar sense? Why does music have to be a leisurely pursuit?

AStableReference
December 7th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, I was trying to sign up so that I cloud leave my comment there just to see how he would respond and I got

Sorry, repeated troll attacks means we're not taking any new registrations just now. Please try again later. Sorry...



Maybe they "trolls" are because of the writing on the site, if it's usually of this quality

MusicIsMyFavorite
December 7th 2012



405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Now excuse me for a minute, but since when did listening to music become a challenge?"

Ha ha ha, oh man

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2012



4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Snide

I just read that review, if anything Bish Bosch is expanding the conventions of music. It seems that modern musicians have become so accustom to the traditional conventions of catchy hooks and instrumental appeal that they seldom dwell into more artistic routes. This is an experimental album by nature, that's its purpose, to incorporate unique and sometimes irregular instrumentation. Just because you don't comprehend its concept doesn't mean that it lacks a concept. It's actually, in my opinion, nice to see musicians like Scott Walker deviating from the traditional methods of music. He's prefers to stay faithful to his artistic expression rather than continuing on already popular styles just to sell records. Music is an art form, you have to experiment and push limits, and it's sad that not many are willing to do that.

RosaParks
December 8th 2012



14592 Comments


Where did Snide post a comment

Are you discussing the review that said this album isn't music?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2012



4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Are you discussing the review that said this album isn't music?

Yeah, I was just agreeing with him on his point on that particular review.

AStableReference
December 8th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm sorry but this is catchy as fuck, unconventional yes, but still has lots of hooks

Agreed hard. How anyone could make the claim that this album is "as far away from the concept of discernible tune as possible" is beyond me, especially after bringing up Lou Reed's Metal Machine Music. I think what makes later era Scott Walker so interesting is that he does all of this while still retaining hooks and even choruses that hold it all together.


Speaking of questionable music journalism, I had to email Pitchfork regarding multiple factual errors they made about the album and Scott Walker (calling him "middle-aged" and getting lyrics wrong) which they thankfully fixed.

MusicIsMyFavorite
December 9th 2012



405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uh oh, calling Pitchfork out on errors in their reviews? You could be busy for a long time, man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy