Oak Pantheon From a Whisper
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2012


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, it is and it definitely deserved a review.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2012


16410 Comments


This was pretty great although I don't think it's quite as similar to Agalloch as most here seem to
think. Still great stuff, some sick melodies and the harsh vocals are well done.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2012


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad you digged it, Kyle. These guys are definitely not a carbon-copy of Agalloch, but they do have undeniable similarities. Plus, "Descend into Winter" could so be on an Agalloch album haha.

CosmicPie
August 22nd 2013


1078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From the clips I've heard, this sounds pretty awesome. There's Agalloch similarities, but I wouldn't call them clones. I think they deserve more credit than that.

CaptainDooRight
August 23rd 2013


29421 Comments


Listened to some of this tonight and really enjoyed it. It was just a casual listen on my phone while cooking some stuff but I intend to give this a more proper listen shortly.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2013


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It deserves a more proper listen because it's a proper album. But I'm glad you enjoyed it anyhow, man!

@CosmicPie
I did give them credit, I think this is a wonderful album. It's just that the similarities to Agalloch are really strong.

CosmicPie
August 23rd 2013


1078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I did give them credit, I think this is a wonderful album. It's just that the similarities to Agalloch are really strong."

Yea, you did. I agree. I was mainly commenting on a lot of peoples' reflex to call a folk-post-black-etc band an "Agalloch clone." I've seen that all over the net.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2013


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True, that's just the kind of a knee-jerk reflex bands playing this style must deal and cope with. Not that I agree with it, but it's a popular reaction I'm afraid isn't about to die off soon, because like you said, post-black-folk band? Must be Agalloch rip-offs/clones!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy