iNTRiKeT The Woods
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk, IMO German is pretty shitty for expressing emotions/art that goes into that direction/music. (unless your name is Goethe and you have an IQ of 210)
Fortunately you can still make fun of stuff. Oh and it's good for anything sciency. (and making native English speakers laugh nonsensically for whatever reason)

Japanese is actually pretty similar to Latin and German in the sense that it's spoken like you write it for the most part.

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


That only makes it similar in one aspect and it's just circumstantial really

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know, that's just about the only thing I know about Japanese lol. The whole hard-on a lot of people have for Japan (and it being different in reality) made me not that interested in it in general. Although I'm generally not all too interested in East Asian languages.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


Korean has the most awesome typography in the world. It looks like a futuristic robot language.

I don't get the obsession with Japan either. As a country it's interesting I guess.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


24118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah I've been to lots of places now, but Ecuador is still one of my favourite 3 countries I've been to. So much awesome packed into such a small country, and the people are so friendly. I don't know if you got that I wasn't really on the coast (not of the mainland), I was on the Galapagos Islands. Absolutely unreal experience.

I did not go to Brasil unfortunately, just Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile (which was a huge stretch for a 2 month trip), but I'm not done with South America yet, not even close.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I don't get the obsession with Japan either. As a country it's interesting I guess."
It's just a lot different than what people would expect from what I hear, all the "nerdy" stuff is mostly frowned upon and seen as immature. The majority of the countries' big shots are and a large fraction of the older people are pretty conservative from what I gathered and they're still big on the whole "isolated and independent" state thing. Supposedly they're also not too immigration friendly.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


Yeah I didn't go to the Galapagos islands. The people were amazing yeah. I regret not learning even some Spanish before so I could've communicated better with them. They annihilated us at football.

I had a mini obsession with Chile a while back. Definitely wanna go there, sounds so interesting. Go on a roadtrip down it.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


Tbh I'd only learn Spanish for the sake of communication in south america.

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jealousy much for you fuckers already having travelled so much. Central Europe is so fucking boring. ('cept for Switzerland, Rome, parts of Southern France & Vienna)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


It's just a lot different than what people would expect from what I hear, all the "nerdy" stuff is mostly frowned
upon and seen as immature.


Good, I hate anime. I made a poll on the escapist a while back asking what languages people would most like to learn
and Japanese was by far the most popular option, just for the sake of understanding anime.

From what I've heard it's developed but in a completely different way to Europe and North America. The culture is
completely different. Definitely on my shortlist of places to go, along with Brazil (and south america in general),
Mozambique, the US and Vietnam.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


I've been lucky with the opportunities I've had to travel. Went to Iceland and Ecuador last year, going to South Africa this year. Definitely one of my main passions, I'd sacrifice a lot for it.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


24118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Tbh I'd only learn Spanish for the sake of communication in south america."

same, it's not high on my list of languages that I want to learn. It's hella useful in North America though, even this far north.

Jash
April 5th 2013


4244 Comments


Holy fuck, not only does being on Sputnik turn people into music elitests but language as well.

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

At least we can spell elitist correctly!

Also, there's way too many places to list I still need to visit. Plus, immgration and stuff because living your whole life in one country when you hate monotony is kind of not an option. (meaning I'll unleash total war if I have to get out of here permanently)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


22108 Comments


I'm French, I've always been a language elitist

Maniac!
April 5th 2013


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'm French, I've always been an elitist"


fix'd

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013


13690 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't be such a chauvinist, Judobear. The French have had enough of them already.

Maniac!
April 5th 2013


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see what you did there

and I approve

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013


24118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it's natural to be attracted to certain languages though. I'm not saying anything negative about Spanish, there are just dozens of languages I would rather learn.

the Europeans are just being European

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2013


16089 Comments


Zamia Lehmanni: Songs of Byzantine Flowers




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy