iNTRiKeT The Woods
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe when I'm older and less busy building the skillset I will most likely need (or rather: want/want more) I might learn some Scandinavian languages because why the fuck not. And because Scandinavia's ace and they're easy to learn, apart from Finnish. (at least for me)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Finnish is closer to Hungarian than Swedish or Norwegian. I really find languages interesting. I considered doing linguistics at university for a short while, still might try to do it on the side.

I'm wary about putting off learning them. Already thinking about where I'll go next. I'm thinking German, Serbian or maybe Italian. Not interested in Scandinavian languages.

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No shit, that's why I said it.

Scandinavian languages apart from Finnish aren't too different from German and English, although Finnish sounds quite hilarious. (kinda drunken)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Every German I've ever come across has been really good at languages

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's pretty ironic considering that's really not the case. At least regarding pronounciation, I mean vocabulary Idk possibly but overall language skills including pronounciation and stuff? Idk 'bout that.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Norwegians are meant to be the best

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's because it's Scandinavia. Aka "lol we didn't even try and we still outrank all of you in basically everything"

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

'Mmm, I've never had the problem of mixing up languages.. not much anyway"

that's because of where/how you were born/raised

when you grow up speaking English English English and only English, all other languages just fall under "foreign" to you, and it takes a conscious effort to separate them. Especially in the case of Spanish and French, which are actually pretty similar in a lot of ways, it is easy to confuse grammar or vocab when you are less than 50% fluent in either one. I dropped out of school in third year, when I was taking some pretty intense all French courses, but then I traveled to South America and picked up a bit of Spanish to get around. As soon as I got back home and started trying to speak French again, I was throwing in all sorts of silly Spanish stuff. I am going to learn French fully, and not begin tackling another language until I am fluent.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


That's ok they're cold and depressed.

Who is it with the universally agreed upon most superior culture in the world, eh?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

my heritage on my Dad's side is Norwegian, I think I have second cousins that live near Oslo. I want to go work there for a year and attempt to pick the language up because I think Scandinavian languages are super interesting. I was in Denmark for a couple weeks this past summer and I love the sound of their language.

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Who is it with the universally agreed upon most superior culture in the world, eh?"
Probably Scandinavia or their poster-child Sweden. (although that question is kind of dumb to begin with)

Eh, languages are pretty easy mostly - especially if you've got some spirit for it and some proper ways to learn them. (said the language talent)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Slavic languages are still the most interesting IMO.

I find Romanian really interesting cos it's a romance language even though it's out to the east of the main block of romance languages, and it has a noticeable Slavic influence.

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Slavic languages make my head spin. (Russian is pretty cool tho) Scandinavian ftw.

Oh, and Spanish/Portugese > all other romanic languages.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Fuck Spanish. Ugliest and most boring romance language. Portuguese rules though.

Wolfhorde
April 5th 2013



12053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk, everything's better than this lame school French. It's not bad, it's not good, it's not interesting - it's just lame.

Idk, are there even that many differences between Portugese and Spanish? I just know Portugese from this Brazilian chick and it sounded pretty cool.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


I don't even know how French sounds to foreigners. Swearing in it is a fucking pain. I'll give English that, at least in the moment of frustration you can fuck with it and make that shit your bitch.

They're very similar but Portuguese accents make it sound more like a Slavic language than Spanish. I much prefer how Portuguese is written, with the tildes and nasally sounds. These days I can tell between a Portuguese text and a Spanish one instantly. Spanish just reads like watered down Portuguese to me now.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


I can often get the gist of Spanish now despite never having studied it though. Apparently lusophones can understand
Spanish better than Spanish speakers can understand Portuguese.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Spanish is so damn easy. I spoke literally nothing when I arrived in Ecuador. By the time I flew home from Santiago only 2 months later, I was completely comfortable doing any daily tasks in Spanish. Simple conversations, but conversations nonetheless. Being fully integrated into the culture/language is the only way to go really.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


Holy shit you've been to Ecuador? When and where did you go there?

Gotta say, in my month there I learnt basically no Spanish. I do want to learn it eventually though cos I love south america, it's just I don't want to do it too soon after Portuguese and get them mixed up and I don't think I'll be motivated to learn another language just after a similar one.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2013



21574 Comments


I think it is possible to learn outside the culture though. You just have to create your own bubble and work at it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy