Matt and Toby Matt And Toby
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Vespiion
November 27th 2012



1215 Comments


I'm gonna guess this has some sick harmonies

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2012



9468 Comments


Thanks guys. And Vespiion, I wouldn't say sick harmonies, but they're at least pretty pleasing

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2012



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Anyone watch the music video for life of the party? it's pretty funny.. at least in the beginning

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2012



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't tell if you're being sarcastic or not. but considering this is sputnik, i'm leaning towards you are

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry man

CrossAmber
December 21st 2012



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good review, although I disagree with your sentiment that "I Never Got To See The West Coast" was a boring song. It was one of Emery's best, in my opinion. This album seriously grows on you although it has some boring songs.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012



9468 Comments


Thanks, man. I know a lot of people enjoyed the track. It just ruined the album's pace for me, especially considering "Fix Me" was right after it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012



18591 Comments


Fix me might be my favorite song on that album. i still need to hear this

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012



9468 Comments


JESUS FIX ME!

CrossAmber
December 21st 2012



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fix Me was a little bit overdone, I'll give you that. I think it would have been better had it been on another album (this one)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012



18591 Comments


lol omaha i take it you didn't like them saying jesus?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012



9468 Comments


I have no problem with religious lyrics, but when they're that blatant they'd better bring something else to the table, or else I'll get kinda annoyed.

It works both ways, too. BATS' latest album was an exercise in atheistic annoyance for me.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012



18591 Comments


ha i'm guessing you're agnostic? (if not sorry for the assumption)

I get your point but emery has always been a christian band so they shouldn't always have to sugarcoat everything

CrossAmber
December 21st 2012



26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

for me, it wasn't that the lyrics were religious (i in fact like it when bands are sincere) but that specific song just felt out of place in terms of every other song on the album.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012



9468 Comments


I don't know what I am, Atari. And I agree, I just won't enjoy their stuff much because I care about the music the most. And their lyrics haven't ever been so blatant as they were in the song. And I agree with Cross on it

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2012



18591 Comments


"I don't know what I am, Atari"

that means you're agnostic lol nothing wrong with that though

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012



9468 Comments


Haha, yeah I suppose you're right. I'm currently Agnostic, but I'm always looking into other religions so I'm hesitant to say "ah, yeah, i'm THIS!"

Even if agnosticism is an umbrella term for those that don't have a term

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2013



20804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On their self-titled debut LP, the unimaginatively named side-project of Matt Carter & Toby Morrell deliver a much more subdued sound than their day job; post-hardcore outfit Emery. Despite containing a few acoustic tunes, this isn't really an acoustic album, since the duo combine a wide array of instrumentation. Most polarizing will be the lyrics, which include some impressive dual vocal narratives, but also a hefty amount of spiritual worship. At it's most memorable when upbeat, it is the tracks which sound like toned down Emery cuts which fare best. Recommended Tracks: Life of the Party, What Plays in My Head, Prodigal Sons and Daughters & You Will Sing.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2013



9468 Comments


true, true.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy