Deftones Koi No Yokan
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lucid
November 21st 2012


7090 Comments


anyone from mezz actually like this album?

ThunderNeutral21
November 21st 2012


3864 Comments


lame

Puzzles
November 21st 2012


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Best review I've read for this, because it's so well written and not just because I agree with it. This is a pretty underwhelming album for me (a big Deftones fan) but I'm hoping it's just a grower. With that said, I was already starting to really love Diamond Eyes by this point.

intotheshit
November 21st 2012


3638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review.



That being said, I disagree with most of it. I actually found this to be their most interesting album since White Pony. Songs like Entombed, Tempest, and Rosemary I found to be invigorating, especially Rosemary.



And I don't understand the beef with Chino's vox, guys. He sounds better than ever in my opinion.

Maniac!
November 21st 2012


26320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the fuck, pit.





are you even allowed to make serious music-related posts anymore? I haven't seen you do that in like 2 years

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012


22979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

first time im ever gonna agree with pit probably

Digging: Fuck the Facts - Desire Will Rot

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
November 22nd 2012


4261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kind of weird how KNY is not featured in 'best new music'. Guess the staff decided to not suck Deftones' cock this time. Just imagine how out of place this 2.5 review will look on the wiki page. Edgy!

Funeralopolis
November 22nd 2012


12891 Comments


agreed band is shit

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Deformity Disco

Chortles
November 22nd 2012


18478 Comments


band reminds me of my pubes

i fucking hate my pubes

Ire
November 22nd 2012


41861 Comments


me too

Ire
November 22nd 2012


41861 Comments


agreed on pubes part that is



my deftones phase was cray

Captain North
November 22nd 2012


6792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, it's kinda weird considering how the staff loved Diamond Eyes so much and now they've more or less disowned them.

StrizzMatik
November 22nd 2012


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Beautifully written but I disagree a lot

somethingnotsoclever
November 22nd 2012


65 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WTF bro!?!? How dare you, you should just stop listening to music!! OMG!



Seriously though, I thought this upon my first listen to the album. I was like "meh." I liked Diamond Eyes better as well. Then I started listening to it and around the 3rd time, it really grew on me and I really enjoy it. I think it's great. But maybe it's because "Entombed" is simply amazing and one of their best songs.



A couple of songs do drag on and on though. And the ending to Rosemary..? It's an identical riff to the one song on Diamond Eyes. So that was ehh too.

Inhumed
November 22nd 2012


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your argument is invalid because reasons fuck you.

Funeralopolis
November 22nd 2012


12891 Comments


your argument is correct because fuck deftones

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
November 22nd 2012


4261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's kinda weird considering how the staff loved Diamond Eyes so much and now they've more or less disowned them.






Yup, and considering that quite a few people and even the band themselves think that Koi is a step up from DE, it seems rather vague. Then again, the staff review for DE was probably one of the last dictating and influential ones by the old school staff. Kinda end of an era.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2012


3698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I understand what you are trying to explain and it's a great review. However, Deftones are so good at what they're doing and it's really easy to lose yourself in Koi No Yokan. It's a beautiful record even though it's nothing special in structure and sound. I believe this is the album they've been trying to make for a decade now.



Digging: Ghost (SWE) - Meliora

FearOfTheDuck
November 22nd 2012


206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I understand all your points and whatever (though I clearly disagree with you), but your summary is ridiculous.

someguest
November 22nd 2012


24280 Comments


Don't worry Xeno, I get vague and void confused all the time too.

Digging: Dr. Dre - Compton



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy