Green Day iDOS!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Agreed, pure rubbish. All I really got from that Allmusic review was that Green Day has made their first party record, and I guess that constitutes a 4/5 for whatever reason. Allmusic reviews don't tend to be very descriptive.

Digging: Cathedrals - Cathedrals EP

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


Allmusic's reviews are well-written but sometimes come off as kinda deluded... every other publication will give say an abysmal Korn album 1 or 2 stars, whereas they'll randomly give it a 3.5 and praise its "crunchy metallic hooks." Not to say they need to follow suit with the general consensus, they just seem to have a really hard time disliking things.

Cygnatti
November 15th 2012


21352 Comments


allmusic's reviews are the weirdest fucking thing

they get a lot of the classics right


but after that, it's like they have a random number generator for ratings between 2.5 and 4

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


Yeah, I agree.
Every album more than a decade old is a 5, ever new release seems to get an arbitrary 4 (I hate that shit so much), every Live album or EP is generally a 2 or a 3.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

sometimes use allmusic to check a discog but that's about it and there are far better sites for that probably too

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Regardless, AllMusic is a thousand times more accurate than Rolling Stone.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

rolling stone is pretty much a joke

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


Yeah their layout and stuff is well done, easy to navigate and they don't randomly delete old reviews like Pitchfork and Rolling Stone do (so many dead links from wikipedia goddamn). I just struggle to trust their reviews

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


Yeah Rolling Stone is laughable. Even NME gets it right more often, despite their obsession with hype and novelty

ZOMFG ARCTIC MONKEYS/HORRORS/ARCADE FIRE

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


How about some love for Uncut and The Quietus?

breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think it's just that Allmusic's opinions can be a little overly generous a lot of the time (the
people they choose to handle the Christian music releases are far too nice), they're pretty lenient
and dismiss a lot of flaws for not being as bad as they are (they gave Lulu a 3/5 for example lol).
For a music critiquing site they aren't too critical or harsh, which I admittedly do like for the most
part, it's a nice change in attitude from most other sites.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

It's not bad as a gateway site for a first pass of a discog for some band that are new to you so you can then move on and read some more in depth reviews elsewhere.

Lakes.
November 15th 2012


27956 Comments


yea

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


Nothing wrong with a bit of generosity no, sites like Pitchfork can be so unnecessarily scathing (I take it you've seen the review of The Fragile, Mr. Breaking)

breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

What I like about allmusic is how concise their reviews are. No bullshit, it just cuts to the chase and tells me what I want to know immediately. Come to think of it, they're really the only reviewing site I like aside from Sputnik. I can't think of many other publications, Q Magazine is shit, I'm not a fan of Pitchfork at all, and I agree with both of you, Rolling Stone is an absolute joke. Their reviews aren't even reviews, they're sentences that barely describe anything and don't give either praise or critiques. And their ratings are completely batshit, and they know it. 80% of the albums on their list of "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time" they originally gave 3 - 3.5/5's.

breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

And yes, Polyethylene, I've seen that Pitchfork review of The Fragile lol. 0.2/10, seems legit. Still though, fuck that album lol. Well okay, It's not THAT bad.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Mojo isnt bad sometimes

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


I read a Rolling Stone of my sister's I found downstairs, it had The 500 Greatest Song Of All Time Ever in it... I've never raged so much in my life. There were literally about 90 Beatles songs, just as many Dylan tracks, almost as many Elvis ones, etc. etc.
I really hate that attitude of "it's old and therefore good", sure that stuff is influential but jesus christ.

Polyethylene
November 15th 2012


3096 Comments


The Fragile is okay I reckon, if the best tracks got put on one disc it'd be his best album (maybe). I go on Pitchfork a couple times a week just because they're easy to navigate in terms of new, alternative releases... their reviews though I can never really trust. So many shit albums get called amazing, and vice versa

breakingthefragile
November 15th 2012


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@menawati I've never heard of Mojo before.

@Polyethylene They originally gave Led Zeppelin 2's when they first started out, then changed their ratings to 5/5's once the band's legacy was set in stone. Their editors just seem incapable of being able to identify albums that have something really special about them. They actually revised that 500 Greatest list in the early 2000's with more albums they gave 3/5's lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy