Deftones Deftones
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2014


14458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea Minerva is amazing. This is so inconsistent for me though.

sapient
April 7th 2014


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It has its sleepy moments, but it has some fantastic ones as well

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea ppl say that but to me it's their best mood album

Digging: Toadies - Hell Below Stars Above

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't think i've ever skipped a track

sapient
April 7th 2014


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'd argue it's their darkest record

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what are the weak points here tho im curious

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

are there 3 or 4 songs most ppl agree detract from this album or is there a lot of disagreement on them

sapient
April 7th 2014


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's mainly that some songs like Deathblow feel literally like a loop of 2-3 parts for 5 minutes at a time. If some tracks were shorter this would be a 4.5 for me

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok so lullabies to paralyze kinda thing



makes sense seeing as their both my favs from each band

sapient
April 7th 2014


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Still need to check Lullabies, the tracks I've listened to I've liked, and I have always liked SFTD

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 7th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mostly the same complaint i hear ykno just a lot of repetition and seemingly long tracks but i think it lends itself perfectly to the production nd lyrics so let me know what you think when you jam i love it it's a journey wag

tempest--
April 8th 2014


16209 Comments


im with foxxy i like this quite a bit better tha n saturday night wrist

Tremz
April 8th 2014


443 Comments


first half is def better than the second half

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 8th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

m/

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 8th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the most glaring flaws of Deftones is the fact that it doesn’t have a resounding vibe that other Deftones albums have. For example, Diamond Eyes had an ethereal texture to it, Saturday Night Wrist had post-rock, almost shoegaze undertones, and White Pony had an unsettling linger throughout the entirety of the album. Unfortunately, Deftones doesn’t have this, and sounds like a collection of songs more than anything, each one having their own distinct character and mood.



couldn't disagree harder

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2014


14458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually agree with that. This feels less cohesive to me.

sapient
April 8th 2014


2363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Same foxxxy, Minerva, When Girls Telephone Boys and Bloody Cape are all examples of a dark "resounding" atmosphere.

The album does have a cohesive sound with how brooding it all is

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 8th 2014


14485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk mongi i feel this is their most album of all their album

Tremz
April 8th 2014


443 Comments


SNW is def their most 'all over the place' record.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2014


14458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well despite poltergeist flowing into entombed which is jarring to me, I feel KNY is their best "album". It's flows as if it's

one giant song pretty much. Most songs are really solid on here but it does have some songs I really dislike too :/



As for SNW the songs are of MUCH higher quality though plus most have the same dark post metal shoegazey vibe.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy