Kendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

basically said hes an excellent rapper but this album is inconsistent. 3.5 (great) is completely reasonable

mvood
November 13th 2012


818 Comments


it's definitely not inconsistent.

orangeeyes
November 13th 2012


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's fair. Your criticisms are valid, I just wish you would have spent more time praising the album if you're going to give it a 3.5. Otherwise it seems more like a review directed at other reviews.

I don't think the story is unique, but Kendrick's telling of it is. In my opinion, Kendrick is one of the only rappers (if not the only rapper) to take a story about the hood and make it personable and human. Game, Dre, and Nas have all made classic albums talking about growing up in the ghetto, but I don't think any of them were as down to earth as GKMC. That's why so many people praise the story-telling aspect, because it's genuine in a way hip-hop has never really seen.

Tupik
November 13th 2012


672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"but yeah i realize its about him gettin 'peer pressured' (deep shit)"

In which case writing "Kendrick's dream: A Pool of Liquor, so he can 'DIIIIVE IN IT'" is completely dumb.

But I think everyone got that this is a half-assed review by now anyway.

Tupik
November 13th 2012


672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"College Dropout isn't a classic because of Breathe In Breathe Out (of course you might not think all of these are classics but the point remains the same)."

I agree with a lot of your posts in this thread, but don't you dare talk shit about 'Breathe In Breathe Out' !!!

That song is the bomb

orangeeyes
November 13th 2012


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love that song too, I also love Swimming Pools. It's just an example of a poppier, more vapid rap song on a rap album with a consistent themes and deeper content.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 13th 2012


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

one of my ex gfs just posted a photoalbum on fb "showing off her workout results!!!!"

this sucks so hard

bitch killed my vibe

RosaParks
November 13th 2012


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well don't commit suicide or anything buddy


unless you want to

MalleusMaleficarum
November 13th 2012


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

rosas still mad

i cut him so deep earlier

MalleusMaleficarum
November 13th 2012


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"make a big scene about it man"

fucking lol

RosaParks
November 13th 2012


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you couldn't cut butter don't flatter yourself you special needs twat

MalleusMaleficarum
November 13th 2012


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

youre definitely not mad

RosaParks
November 13th 2012


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so like 50% of your comments are you telling someone they're mad. thx for contributing to the site bud

MalleusMaleficarum
November 13th 2012


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

kid must be wearin a bra

Funeralopolis
November 13th 2012


11378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gettin pretty angry up in here

Digging: Black Milk - No Poison No Paradise

RosaParks
November 13th 2012


14910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im mad definitely not just sitting looking at a screen with a blank look on my face/watching michigan basketball u got me

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The summary is fine, you "just dont understand it at all". It represents how Kendrick and his groupies constantly try to pretend the album is deeper than it actually is. A good amount of this album is him talking about drugs, violence and 'bitches'. Making a drinking song to be played in clubs thats ostensibly an anti-drinking song is idiotic and is not benefiting your argument at all... you think anyone in a bar is listening to the fast lyrics in the verses and not just the poppy chorus of POOL FULL OF LIQUOR THEN YA DIVE IN IT repeated 10x? yeah i missed the part of MLK's speech where he said be hypocritical if it will give you popularity.

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

has anyone been talking to you on this entire thread potato? lol

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"has anyone BEEN talking to you"

you dumb cunt.

J0ckstrapsFTW
November 13th 2012


3652 Comments


Oooooooooooooooooo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy