Kendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ur mom hasn't changed much

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you, M.a.a.d Respek for Tupik

foreverendeared
November 12th 2012



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's true.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012



13811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

wow its like.. the bassline and the guitar... both of them just jacked.. lmao wow not even altered in the least... now i realize how much the production on GKMC really sucks...

foreverendeared
November 12th 2012



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"the song Bitch Dant Kill My Vibe is sampled from

http://pseudatpseuga.tumblr.com/post/35476602127#notes"

Nice, thanks

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012



13811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"lol yep the whole track is just the beginning of that song looped with some trap drums added in bahaha"

shaking my fucking head

GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ur argument is this is original because its about different times in his life?

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its a different perspective from Compton, Kendrick is a good kid, Dre and Game were sucked into the morals and ideals of gang violence and crime. Kendrick is someone who thinks before he acts, understands the difference between being tough and being dominant

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012



13811 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"its a different perspective from Compton, Kendrick is a good kid, Dre and Game were sucked into the morals and ideals of gang violence and crime."



are you saying there are no depictions of gang violence and crime on here?

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

''are you saying there are no depictions of gang violence and crime on here?''

I'm saying that Kendrick views it in a different way than Game and Dre initially do. Kendrick's overall perspective of it is different.

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's like how Danny Brown's lyrics sound ridiculous on paper but his inflection gives them life

Thats what context is to this album

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well, this IS better than i thought

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

changed a few parts of the review

Tupik
November 13th 2012



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just realized how the summary reflects how you didn't undersand the album at all :
"Kendrick's dream: A Pool of Liquor, so he can 'DIIIIVE IN IT'"

Is that really what you got from the song ? You really think that song advocates binge drinking ? If so you really need to enhance your listening skills.

orangeeyes
November 13th 2012



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a poor review. It seems like you didn't even TRY to like or understand the album, and you just wanted to go against the grain. You say almost nothing positive about GKMC, yet you inexplicably give it a 3.5. This is what suggests to me that you only wanted to review the album to criticize it rather than give the reader a complete picture about what the album is about. Like, do you REALLY think Swimming Pools is a YMCMB-style party song glorifying drinking? That seems like a very lazy statement to make.

I think this is the best rap album in a few years, but I understand that it is flawed. There are a lot of cases you could have made for this album being overrated but you didn't really make any of them.

And "lacking in punchlines?" What?

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"you really need to enhance your listening skill."

lol... i hardly listened to that song because its poppy trash, but yeah i realize its about him gettin
'peer pressured' (deep shit), yet its obviously still a drinking song made for bars etc, which is a
perfect example of how contradictory this album can be. You are mistaking me for "not understanding the
album" when actually im just not overrating a pretentious 'concept album'. I understand the album, it's
not complex.

GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"you say almost nothing positive about gkmc"
check your glasses there champ:

"This album is great...Kendrick has a nice technique to his rhymes and catchy voice variations. The beats, like most beats in the mainstream, are very catchy, well edited and enjoyable,..The middle tracks Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City, and Sing About Me/Dying of Thirst are the highlights of this album. Here you can focus on the excellent rhyming/lyrics instead of the overwrought productions... Kendrick Lamar is an excellent rapper"


while you are at it look up what a punch line is

orangeeyes
November 13th 2012



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why is so much focus being put on a lead single from a rap album anyway? I do see your point. It's an anti-drinking song...that is also a drinking song. I understand that, but it seems like you're focusing almost exclusively on Backseat Freestyle and Swimming Pools. It's like saying MMLP isn't a classic because of The Real Slim Shady, or Blueprint isn't a classic because of Girls^3, or College Dropout isn't a classic because of Breathe In Breathe Out (of course you might not think all of these are classics but the point remains the same).

orangeeyes
November 13th 2012



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's why I said "almost nothing." You wrote one positive paragraph and spent the rest of the review ripping it apart, and your score does absolutely nothing to reflect that.


GaryJohnson2012
November 13th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

saying his lyrics are sometimes contradictory, his story is not that original and that the sound is poppy at times is not "ripping it apart". i just don't think this is a 4 rap album... too many skits, singing, the message is dramatic and interesting, and while its not a carbon copy,its not unique, and the lame lyrics in the first 5 songs of the album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy