Kendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012


14359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yea good album

GaryJohnson2012
November 11th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"if you like hip hop then there is no plausible way in which you can dislike this album" i
didn't say I disliked this album I said it's not that great. tell me what the message is if I got it
so wrong, Oh wait you can't because I didn't, you just hate that you are overrating a pop
album

GaryJohnson2012
November 11th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is completely in line with mainstream rap. lil wayne was NEVER good

Tupik
November 11th 2012


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"lil wayne was NEVER good"

Oh god not that again

daIceman
November 11th 2012


402 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Are you trolling? If you like Hip-Hop then there is no plausible way in which you can dislike this album, unless you only follow that mainstream bullshit like Nicki Minaj and modern-day Wheezy"

it is bro I can easily dislike it and I am not Nicky Minaj or Young Money listener... download instrumental version of that LP and you will not find 5 differents between this and 2chainz or Young Money latest LP's...

MalleusMaleficarum
November 11th 2012


14359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

for any people who dont think this is pop rap or mainstream rap, i urge you to reconsider, for i have seen plenty young boys and girls post facebook statuses about how good kid mad city is the best album of alll time

Skutner
November 11th 2012


2 Comments


"seriously lacking in punchlines"?

taxidermist
November 11th 2012


7210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is pretty mainstream.

Havey
November 11th 2012


9701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

an album being mainstream and an album being good are two mutually exclusive concepts, you see

GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album severely was held back by interscope, just like Game's RED album. but even if it wasn't it was never gunna be a classic album. KRS-ONE makes a better album than this almost every year for the past 20 years imo lol

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kendrick used almost all TDE house production and Dre gave him 100% creative control
''yes and a well written criticism uses logic and evidence within the context of the review. I
pointed
out plenty of problems with the hypocrisy and childishness in the lyrics, the way the beats sound
good
but unauthentic, the skits he stole from the RED album, the poppy sound etc.. ''

That is not the context of the album, the childishness and hypocrisy is Kendrick expressing himself
in context of how he grew up, he was weak and fragile and corruptible. The context of the album
would mean to understand the purpose for what Kendrick's lyrics are there, in CONTEXT of the story
told so in the lyrics and skits. That's what people mean when they say you don't get it. The album
is a personal look into kendrick's life not a boasting story about he got out the hood. As for the
the poppy sound thats subjective

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the originality is the perspective of someone that see's his city differently than Game and Dre.

Cardboardbox
November 12th 2012


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm Calling you on that skit similarity too, That shit is completely different context, similar message. Since no one listened to the R.E.D. Album cause it was the shittiest thing Game has made, I had to be the one to call you on that.
That is all

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012


14359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hey dude, is that one of SBTRKTs masks?

GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Kendrick used almost all TDE house production and Dre gave him 100% creative control" prove it.

"the originality is the perspective of someone that see's his city differently than Game and Dre. " except he sees it as exactly the same as game and dre there's really not many ways to interpret a city like compton, they all talk about how violent it is and how it made them who they are. if you don't think this is a boasting story you are too easily impressed by some melodramatic skits, its not that "i dont get it" its YOU that are too impressed by carbon copied pop music. its really not any different than the game or dre they both have plenty of songs that aren't 'boasts' about the sadder aspects of compton and their lifestories as well, which are virtually the same as Kendrick's.

GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They are exactly the same skit, you are so naive if you don't think Interscope wrote both of those
lines. Bascially every song on the red album is better than this lol, again, originality used to be
respected
in hip hop

GaryJohnson2012
November 12th 2012


516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

u are so fuckin pathetic potato, everything you say is true about yourself and its painfully obvious, you have 47k comments of trying to start convos with people who think u are an annoying bitch. get lost

foreverendeared
November 12th 2012


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see sputnik hasn't changed much.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012


14359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"This album severely was held back by interscope"

agreed

Tupik
November 12th 2012


673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"for any people who dont think this is pop rap or mainstream rap, i urge you to reconsider..."

This is mainstream for sure, but I don't think the is pop at all, except for the Draks song and
Swimming Pool. And needless to say being mainstream has absolutely nothing to do with quality, see
MBDTF.

Also, everything Cardboardbox said reflects my thoughts exactly. If you actually try to understand
what he said and re-listen to the album with all this in mind (ie. how the songs are actually meant
to be listened while taking into account what part of his life Kendrick is rapping about), you might
understand why you're dead wrong.

EDIT: Second paragraph is directed to the reviewer, not Malleus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy