Kendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
daIceman
November 10th 2012



381 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's clearly not the best review I've ever read but the angle of view is kinda same as mine it's more pop than rap

Tupik
November 10th 2012



667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah but people like you who only listen to rap that's more underground than underground are really annoying and seem to miss the point of Hip-Hop. Not everything needs to sound like El-P you know

MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"the point of hip-hop" isnt to like pop rap.

Tupik
November 10th 2012



667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm just saying that only listening to one type of hip-hop and dismiss the rest seems dumb to me. Hence why I can be a fan of ASAP Rocky and dig El-P's stuff as well. But whatever, there's no point in arguing about that, I'm out !

MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah dude, you know what the point of hip hop is because you listen to asap rocky

MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"only listening to one type of hip-hop and dismiss the rest seems dumb to me."

listening to an album and discovering that has a sound you do not like does not equate to dismissing the album

Buzzkillr
November 10th 2012



1510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"point of hip hop"

lol

Tupik
November 10th 2012



667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

OK "point of hip-hop" wasn't the right choice of word I admit

daIceman
November 10th 2012



381 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

it's not true underground hip-hop is fuckin variable... El-P sounds different to cunninlynguists they sound different to Shabazz Palaces and shabazz sounds different to P.o.s, Aesop Rock and Eligh...

It's not about POP rap x Underground rap

it's all about quality

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2012



14887 Comments


i never thought i'd ever argue that a rap album is "too pop" but i think in a way i might agree with
daIceman

"swimming pools (drank)" is like a bad drake/general Young Money song (makes sense: t-minus produced
it)

"m.a.a.d city" is awful! is that song a joke? it's like a terrible kanye west song



MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the 2nd half of it is better

MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

when kendrick stops rapping





also t-minus did a good job on swimming pools



hes from my hood : D

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2012



14887 Comments


"good kid" is great, though.

MalleusMaleficarum
November 10th 2012



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah thats why pharrell shoulda produced the whole record : D

daIceman
November 10th 2012



381 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

producers on this album are from worst music nightmare
Interscope hyped this just like Dr.Dre hyped his wack shitty headphones, if you wanna listen mainstream rap just wait for new big boi LP

GaryJohnson2012
November 10th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Didn't neg, but how about proofreading before posting your reviews?" got any examples? did proof read

GaryJohnson2012
November 10th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I neg'd it, A well written review uses logic and uses evidence with in context of the album. I get not
liking the album, but ignorant as fuck reasons. "

yes and a well written criticism uses logic and evidence within the context of the review. I pointed
out plenty of problems with the hypocrisy and childishness in the lyrics, the way the beats sound good
but unauthentic, the skits he stole from the RED album, the poppy sound etc..

GaryJohnson2012
November 10th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This just illustrates that you didn't get the album at all. He's trying to tell the story of how he grew up in Compton and became the man he is today."

I clearly pointed out in the review that this is an unoriginal message that has been done from Dr. Dre to The Game. I do get the album, the point is to do the same exact beta-tested scheme that Dre and Game did and talk about Compton and themselves... the only difference is the sound. I mean seriously the SAME interlude Dre read on the RED album?

I never said all mainstream music was bad I said there is an obvious pop influence on this album, the result is the album is entirely concentrated on the sound rather than meaning and is more superficial than deep. its more about him rhyming fast paced than him really saying something with a point. and theres no excuse for the MLK intro outro on that song, shouting out historical heroes on childish songs makes him look like a punk, which is supposed to be the opposite of the point of the album i guess?

the bottom line is i dont see how this is an all time great album at all and you guys can shit on, mostly troll, my reviews but theres no other review on here that isn't being hyperbolic, ignoring how unoriginal this message is and how obvious the corporate influence is.

GaryJohnson2012
November 10th 2012



516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@zgp1992 thanks, i appreciate the integrity it makes writing these worth it

Mattie101
November 10th 2012



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Are you trolling? If you like Hip-Hop then there is no plausible way in which you can dislike this album, unless you only follow that mainstream bullshit like Nicki Minaj and modern-day Wheezy. Your very review illustrates how completely you've missed the message of the album, to an embarrassing degree.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy