Twelve Foot Ninja Silent Machine
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
November 10th 2012



20740 Comments


Merde! J'ai vu un jethro!

Jethro42
November 10th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ça n'est pas une mauvaise chose.

Shuyin
November 10th 2012



11180 Comments


ive heard a few songs on ytube, really good stuff.

great review btw

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

sniper
November 10th 2012



19000 Comments


There seems to be something fairly gimmicky about bands that use ninja and samurai outfits as a major part of their stage image.
can't imagine why anyone would think that

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Calc
November 10th 2012



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this shits bananas b-a-n-a-n-a-s

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

Franki3love
November 10th 2012



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, not it's time for me to go an buy it

Wolfhorde
November 11th 2012



12070 Comments


Oh shit a Greg review, haven't read but it's probably good. (who would've guessed?)

Oh yeah I kinda agree with Sam, the chugga parts of this are a bit too Deftones like to for me (as in repeating the same riff/patterns over and over) but they don't annoy me as much, definitely closer to a 4 to me.

I think the Smoke Bomb EP is a bit better because the LP is more straightforward. I mean tracks like Clarion & Manufacture Of Consent? I also think it would've been harder to pull such tracks off on an LP especially without repeating yourself or killing the flow of the album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Wolfhorde:
Well. The riffs don't really recall Deftones for me as much as Mashuggah, Textures and other 'djent' bands. I don't really think they're repetitive at all.

I see what you mean by this being slightly more direct than Smoke Bomb. Using some tracks from the EP would certainly help, but I don't think it'd be good for fans (myself included) because simply there would be fewer new songs. Plus, I think that even weaker tracks on this are at least great. So, there's really no need for doing that.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Wolfhorde
November 11th 2012



12070 Comments


Oh, I never meant Deftones as an actual example, the Deftones reference was more because Deftones use very similar sounding riffs/patterns in their riffs. Had nothing to do with the sound.

And I was implying the exact opposite of what you're presuming, I'm saying that:
A) Copying songs from the EP just seems lazy and boring which makes it even harder to put songs LIKE THEM on the EP. (repetition of same/similar formulas)
B) Putting songs like those - in terms of experimentation and similar - on the EP could interrupt the flow of the album.
C) Similar to B they might seem out of place or 'too spaced out'.

731
November 11th 2012



662 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

shitty metal mixed with bad imitations of other genres sweet

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah sorry. I haven't read your comment carefully enough. ;)

They're definitely trying to pull off some electronica elements that propelled Clarion. Take the first track for example. As for Manufacture Of Consent, I totally agree. The track like this would be a much better closer than "Luna" imo.

TwelveFootNinja
November 11th 2012



10 Comments


Hi Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our album and we appreciate all of the positive comments
and kind words from others. A lot of time and effort goes into making an album like this, so we really appreciate
reading others are enjoying it.

It has been quite interesting to read some of the polarised views on here; music like all art forms is completely
subjective so we don't expect everyone to like 'Silent Machine', and that is absolutely cool.

Cheers,
Stevic



Wolfhorde
November 11th 2012



12070 Comments


@Greg: No problem, my man.

True, but I think it's not just elecronica influences in Clarion although they're probably most obvious. It's generally a bit more intricate and Manufacture of Consent is just probably my favorite Twelve Foot Ninja track ever. I really like the parts where different influences come in, the 'metal/rock' aspect takes a step back and gives the vocalist time to shine (from some vids I've seen and according to Vool I believe he/they is/are even able to keep this up live)

And I didn't expect TFN to log in here just to comment on a Greg review, heh. (you deserve it, though)
It's almost odd how much positive artist feedback Sputnik gets.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@TwelveFootNinja:

Thanks a bunch for reading the review, Stevic. Your endorsement is much appreciated. I've been
observing your band for quite some time and you've done an amazing job at putting this album (and
previous EPs) together. Congrats. This is really one of the best records I've heard this year.

Cheers and keep up the good work!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2012



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Wolfhorde:

Clarion and Manufacture of Consent are both amazing tracks and definitely rank among their best.
You're right about Clarion. I think the transistions in this song are mindblowing. Manufacture of
Consent is a much subtler track that uses brass instruments to great effect and I'm a sucker for that.
So yeah. More tracks like these please.

Jethro42
November 11th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool! TwelveFootNinja was there!

Scoot
November 11th 2012



17682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

happens from time to time, especially with lesser known artists

Digging: Unjust - Glow

Calc
November 11th 2012



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its funny, from the outside looking in this site is pretty legit. then you actually join and deal with the sea of kids

Evreaia
November 11th 2012



3955 Comments


smoke bomb was bomb, so gotta check this

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2012



15802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Thanks guys. Smoke Bomb EP may be even better than this."

yea i think u are right

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy