Reso Tangram
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zettel
November 7th 2012



582 Comments


No problem.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2012



30863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If you're actually worried (and that's slightly sad), then get it right. If you don't know it, then research research research. Your review might not be the definitive word, but informative writing comes from accuracy. You think people don't question genres everyday around here? It's just when I do it, it's not about post rock, post hardcore, metalcore vs deathcore and drone music

It's more me using what I know, because after all, you're the first one I've heard to label that style of
music "breaks."


You're the first person I've ever seen to call it "100BPM glitch hop" (seriously, what the fuck)

http://www.discogs.com/Opiuo-Slurp-And-Giggle/master/364718

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2012



2714 Comments


sigh.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2012



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok, thanks for that lengthy response Zettel. I'll get better with time, and I do plan to keep writing so good things should hopefully come. I really appreciate the care you put into your post and to be honest those are things I've been worrying about myself as I've been writing - I feel like sometimes I'm just repeating my same formula over and over again, but I don't really know how to write my reviews any differently. Describing what I like about songs seems like the best way for me to express my feelings about the albums, but I suppose my reviews will begin to flow better soon. And your criticism is really the first legit feedback I've gotten, so thank you again.

And 100BPM glitch hop is just redundant, I don't call it that. If it's glitch hop, then it's probably going to be between 100-110 BPM. And I'm not "worried" about anything, I just want a healthy discussion going on instead of genre, genre, genre. There's more to the music than just that, and that's what I tend to unfortunately confine myself to. I'll get better with time, I just don't want every single one of my electronic reviews to turn into a battlefield.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 7th 2012



2714 Comments


Genres tend to be discreet categories forced on an infinitely varied spectrum. They have their uses in describing what something is "kind of like," but otherwise they're limited. Something can be "kind of like" a lot of things, but arguing what it's "kind of like" the most can often be idiotic (especially when certain people get really, really stuck on the fact that they are 'right' and the other person is 'wrong'), which is why I tend to shy away from such arguments.

There are plenty of ways to go about doing reviews, and while people have their individual styles it's possibly worth trying others out. Have a look around, it's quite interesting seeing how other people do things.

ChuckyTruant
November 9th 2012



15700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool review, have always loved Reso

Digging: Within the Ruins - Phenomena

mrbloke
November 10th 2012



200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Posted my rating. The rating went up. FUCK YEAH!

This album is pretty sweet though.

ChuckyTruant
November 12th 2012



15700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree completely

Celsius
November 12th 2012



513 Comments


What's the point with this album?

Wolfhorde
November 16th 2012



12052 Comments


So, is this as good as Valken or what? Because I'm getting the feeling it isn't.

Tyrael
November 16th 2012



20719 Comments


'Biggest disappointment ever, but of course you'd love this'

I'm guessing you're like the guru of every asshole on the planet

Wolfhorde
November 16th 2012



12052 Comments


Chill your base, Thomas. No need to be so aggressive.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought I liked this a lot on first listen, but it's slowly wearing off me. Some really great tracks but as an album it's just kinda messy: all over the place. It's a shame because I thought I would really, really enjoy this. I still like it, just not that much. I think my taste in dubstep has evolved or something, cause I almost never enjoy Reso like I used to, and he was my favourite dubstep producer at one point. Ah well, I'll always have minimal mondays on rinse.fm at least.

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

Klichty
February 16th 2013



42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kinda disappointed and the end of the album did not flow but had some really good tunes like creature, simple pleasures, virtua rythem

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, some really good stuff here

Zettel
February 18th 2013



582 Comments


I find this album to be nearly flawless. Seriously good stuff.

ChuckyTruant
March 4th 2013



15700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno I found flaws a-plenty, but I guess they're just matters of personal preference.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2014



9972 Comments


flaws a-plenty

War Machine is killer mm

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2014



30863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Too bad it's not on here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy