Rings of Saturn Dingir
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pathogenic
October 31st 2012



20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid for a sophomore release. I'm digging this. Watched these guys live over the summer and they were enjoyable. I talked to Bearer at their merch table and he seemed to be a class act.
Great vocals and guitars, but the drums make it so hard to enjoy this. They seem to be well written its just that a snare and kick that triggered takes away all emotion. I also thought that they used an aweful lot of 808 samples (I at least think they are) when they could have used bass slides.

Pathogenic
November 1st 2012



20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, Michael. You write well. I pos'ed for what it's worth.
Anonymity brings out the worst in people.

MichaelSnoxall
November 1st 2012



12163 Comments


Thanks, Patho. I appreciate it. And yeah, the drums are produced so obnoxiously that it really detracts from the album's quality.

srm90
November 1st 2012



103 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Shit band

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



19528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Rings of Saturn hit the studio with a brand new vocalist (found in Youtube user Ian Bearer), drummer (one Ian Baker) and bassist (Sean Martinez, also Decrepit Birth’s current live bassist)


im glad you specified, i always thought there were two Ian Bakers on this album. i guess i was misinformed

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing for Us Here

MichaelSnoxall
November 1st 2012



12163 Comments


Yeah, some people though there were multiple Ian Bakers because of the insane drumming.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



17346 Comments


more like one drummer and whole lot of software

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



19528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

fucking shit review btw pos'd

MichaelSnoxall
November 1st 2012



12163 Comments


Not really, Hyp. They posted Youtube playthroughs of the drummer because people didn't believe he actually did it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MICQLN0ADAw&feature=youtu.be


Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



19528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

holy shit dem gravity blasts..

MichaelSnoxall
November 1st 2012



12163 Comments


He's pretty crazy.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



17346 Comments


hes pretty sloppy though, his foot patterns are all over the place

hes got fast hands ill admit, still needs studio magic to sound clean

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



19528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

well the studio magic worked cause the snare sounds like a fucking machine gun on this album

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



17346 Comments


what the fuck is up with his left hand? hes got it so fucking tight all the time

DarthMann
November 1st 2012



13467 Comments


lol dxc

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



19528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the beginning of hyperforms is funny..

MichaelSnoxall
November 1st 2012



12163 Comments


Yeah, he needs to loosen up a bit.

AskAak
November 1st 2012



76 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good stuff


Spec
November 1st 2012



26836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drumming is dope.

KILL
November 1st 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

d0p3 as fux



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy