Taylor Swift Red
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
October 24th 2012


20989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'It's not there anymore! I gave it a politically correct makeover.'



I'm prostesting against this! Bring it back!



Great review sowing now we can mourn together yay



'I just don't understand what guys get out of her lyrical content.'



I like how innocent and cute her lyrics were but yea they're not amazing or anything.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2012


19071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks a lot xeno, trebor. That means a lot.



And ty, I got dibs on rebound sex with ingrid michaelson

Digging: mewithoutYou - Pale Horses

muddysquirrel
October 24th 2012


53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sowing- i hope you did not misunderstood me. i think the review is great and you are amazing at it. I just wanna know what were you hoping to get from her.



4-th album of the same country-pop shit? People dragged her for being samey when she was done with her second album.



yeah there are some childish-sounding efforts for pop airplay (which she clearly is hungry for) but it also has plenty of very strong songs as "Lucky You" "All Too Well" Holy Ground" State Of Grace" etc.



Billboard said it best:



In many ways, "Red" is Taylor Swift's first adult pop album. Where her self-titled debut and 2008's "Fearless" were the works of an accomplished teenage singer with a gift for confessional songwriting and soaring melodies, parts of the often-exceptional "Speak Now" felt like a tiresome game of Guess the Celebrity ("Better Than Revenge," "Innocent," "Dear John") with passive-aggressive lyrics better suited for a note passed in junior high.



"Red" puts Swift the artist front and center with big, beefy hooks that transcend her country roots for a genre-spanning record that reaches heights unseen since Shania Twain's "Up!"



Maybe your heart was just not in it this time...



Your thoughts on "All Too Well? I see it praised everywhere and it completely skips your review.

Tyrael
October 24th 2012


20989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'And ty, I got dibs on rebound sex with ingrid michaelson'



screw you :[ you have a girlfriend!

Spec
October 24th 2012


28633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wub wub

Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"I just don't understand what guys get out of her lyrical content."



I can say that for blink or twy just as easily.







SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2012


19071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Squirrel: I didn't misunderstand, no worries. "I almost do" is an alright song but is nothing special.



Ty: true, I'll let you have Ingrid when i'm done having my way with her ;-)

Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

so there's a squirrel in here huh?



I'm the only small mammal that lives in trees and loves taylor swift around here! gtfo

muddysquirrel
October 24th 2012


53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sowing- really? that forgettable? wow.



http://www.metacritic.com/music/red/taylor-swift/critic-reviews



Looking so lonely down there all alone. Sadsies. :/



Cygnatti- cmon do not be so selfish! there is room for all kinds of animals here who love taylor.



Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I'll be honest here: her metacritic scores are really unreasonably high



except for speak now's of course

mindleviticus
October 24th 2012


8521 Comments


what song has the dubstepy part she talked about?

henryChinaski
October 24th 2012


3169 Comments


Wow...We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together is so shitty.

Digging: Senses Fail - Pull The Thorns From Your Heart

Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"no you can't since they've both written so passionately about serious issues kids deal with on a daily basis. there's

plenty material delivered to their fans that lets them know they're not alone and can overcome any uphill battle in

life. the wonder years especially are downright therapeutic within their lyrics and live to spread a positive message

to anyone willing to listen. I'm sorry but they are the complete antithesis of everything that taylor swift stands for as

an artist which is absolutely nothing. but hey if you feel a strong bond with what she says then more power to you."



...serious issues like singing about dicks, masterbation, and running around naked? both blink and taylor are rather closely childish for the most part. oh so they made s/t (and neighborhoods)? great. only took them 12 years. when it comes to songwriting in general, they are as formulaic as it gets, aren't they? if only other, probably better bands could get unreasonably famous by writing a boring song with na na na na na na as it's hook. not to say taylor is all much better (teardrops on my guitar is a terrible song).



as for twy, they just don't seem that special anymore.

tommygun
October 24th 2012


25670 Comments


Like, ever.

Aids
October 24th 2012


24183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"what song has the dubstepy part she talked about?"



the chorus of I Knew You Were Trouble has a 2-step beat and some loud, bassy synths. it's so fucking good, my favourite track from this

Tyrael
October 24th 2012


20989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

best track on the album agreed

Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I like Red a little better than Trouble, but Red isn't nearly as immediate.

Tyrael
October 24th 2012


20989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The two only tracks from this I actually liked damn you guys are good

Cygnatti
October 24th 2012


25005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I have, they were boring. Dammit is still much better. not like you don't ever generalize.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2012


19071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"The Lucky One" is really nice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy