Parkway Drive Atlas
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ViralOblivion
October 22nd 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@ Evreaia i agree

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

holy fuck hitler you blew my mind

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yay i thought this album would have gotten drastically worse when i listened to it in the car on the way to school, but its still pretty decent.

Evreaia
October 22nd 2012


4258 Comments


holy fuck PWD, always disappoint

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

did you go in expecting anything other than disappointment?

Evreaia
October 22nd 2012


4258 Comments


i expected le breakdowns.

i got 'em, sadly.

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yup. that's to be expected.

brodowns galore

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Any other pointers for the review? Checks and shit

Evreaia
October 22nd 2012


4258 Comments


I'm not really that good of a review critic, seems good to me. Everything is explained and backup up good, nnearly no typos and shit.

i'll just poss lol

TheSpirit
October 22nd 2012


18583 Comments


this is a good review

Digging: Volahn/Shataan/Arizmenda/Kallathon - Desert Dances and Serpent Sermons

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thanks guys

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You requested feedback! I do that. PREPARE YOURSELF. (Don't get mad, but please do review and edit what you can take away from my remarks. I am an English Teacher and I am a blunt person. Please do not be offended.)



flashbacks to Killing With a Smile, and Horizons.

No comma.



whilst

I'd say this is a pretty unnatural word choice. Just say "but."



For the most

Should be "For the most part"



Like any Parkway Drive record, there are the chug orientated breakdowns which a great deal of the songs are focussed around.

This is just a clunky sentence. A good re-write, for example, would be "As with any Parkway Drive record, chug-oriented breakdowns are present throughout the album as the focal point of most tracks." But as it stands it just reads like you're fumbling around your words. Also "focused" is misspelled.



this effort feels less like the band is making music to please the masses, rather trying to discuss

"rather" is an awkward transition here and your "less like" is left dangling and unfulfilled. It'd be easy to fix both by saying "and more like the band are trying to discuss..." (sans the comma).



'Dark Days',

Song titles go in double quotes, punctuation goes inside those double quotes. Throughout.



AND

I don't see the need for this to be capitalized.



Hearing it once created an interesting feel, but once this carried over a multitude of tracks, the frustration sets in.

You shift tense at the end. It should be "set in" in order to maintain the past tense.



with the exceptions involving the pre-breakdown vocals

"with the exception of" or "excepting" are both valid replacements for "with the exceptions involving," which is just an awkward phrasing.



such as 'Behold the Pale Horse!'

Be a little more descriptive with this, otherwise it seems like a track name and makes it read oddly. Making it something like "such as his cry of..." would fix this.



which for the most

Again, "for the most part."



'Dark Days' is probably the best focus on this

"probably has the best focus on this" would work better. You're describing, not defining.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My comment was too long.



More:



Winston Mcall

Winston McCall



but for the most

Third time.



The spoken word sections on this, are for the most rather bland

The comma should come after "are." You should also flesh "this" out to enhance style and comprehension. "this album," "this record," etc. are all viable. Also fourth time.



rather bland, sounding as if he did them quickly, roughly, to try and add to the quality

This just doesn't make sense to me. How does doing them quickly and roughly add to the quality of the performance?



but for the most

5. Even if it's a valid colloquialism at this point, it's too repetitive. Chose a different phrase. In this sentence you also use the term "better" quite frequently. Better, while ordinarily a good word, is so subjective in music that it's hard to glean any descriptive knowledge from it. Brighter? More melodic? More varied? Heavier, crunchier? Whatever they are, it's got to be more specific.



but for the most

6. I'm just doing this for fun now. Sorry.



As a whole

Comma after this.



feels a lot more authentic

Than what? You need to have a point of comparison at the end of the sentence if you have something that is "more" than something else. Right now it's dangling.



No,

I found this sentence opener unnecessary and a bit jarring.



but the music is so much more interesting than previously

Needs to say "than it was previously" in order to be correct.



it leaves little criticism to be found

This comes across as awkward again, since you will not find criticism on the album proper, but through your own evaluation of it. "there is little fault to be found" or something along that line makes more sense with the notion you're trying to convey.



that is sure to bring in new fans, and keep

No comma.

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes! This is just what I wanted. I'll make the edits now.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Looks like I one-off'd on your usage of "for the most," but I think you get the point.



Content is alright, but like I said, you need to be a bit more descriptive.



My two cents. Listening to this now.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boss. Glad to be able to provide what you were looking for!



Is it just me or did "Dream Run" rip off another one of their intros?

NeoSpaz
October 22nd 2012


4523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Similar, maybe, but in no circumstances identical.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

to escape the confines of the Australian coastlines,

Btw, there shouldn't be a comma there. I go back and forth between editing on commas when I start proofing a review and I think I decided not to bother earlier (I was feeling tired) but I may as well throw that in now.

Curse.
October 22nd 2012


8037 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album is really really boring, and nothing but Deep Blue Pt. 2

xVision
October 22nd 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

After a first listen, I'm actually liking this. I think they came back to the sound of Horizons.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy