The Mountain Goats Transcendental Youth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

which, this one?

noooooooo, this is their best non-classic in my opinion, but they have 5 classics.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


16089 Comments


idk its at least the best since sunset tree. i like it better than that or tallahasse so...idk

Blackbelt54
January 18th 2013


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

amazing album but ranks low among mountain goats album's i've heard, which says a lot about this band

tom79
January 18th 2013


3386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard anything before All Hail West Texas but I'd say this is my favorite MG album after Tallahassee maybe. They're all great though.

Digging: The Sidekicks - Runners In The Nerved World

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"idk its at least the best since sunset tree."

yeah agreed, The Sunset Tree was the last of their 5 run of classics that I was referring to.

"i like it better than that or tallahasse so...idk"

that's acceptable. I have Sunset Tree at 4th best, Tallahasse at 5th best, and this at 6th so whatevs.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2013


17949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

get lonely through life of the world is their best album streak

heretic pride in particular is basically everything that makes the mountain goats so good

Blackbelt54
January 19th 2013


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me

Coroners> all hail> Tallahassee>= sunset>= we shall all> this >= all eternals

bungy
January 19th 2013


8843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Heretic pride is underrated here

Spare
January 19th 2013


5510 Comments


pretty pointless ranking mountain goats albums honestly

Spare
January 19th 2013


5510 Comments


but tallahassee is the best bc have to explode

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"get lonely through life of the world is their best album streak"

what the FUCK, this opinion exists?

I love Heretic Pride and Get Lonely but dude, Gambit---> Sunset Tree is god tier, come on.

RosaParks
January 20th 2013


15178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

heres one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nc_LIR5ExIU

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

uh

k I included Going to Georgia, Love Love Love, It Froze Me, San Bernadino, and I can't remember the last one.

showing a girl Going To Georgia is akin to telling her that you love her, you've been warned

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

throw Sendero Luminoso Verdadero in there why not

not really romantic at all but the Beautiful Rat Sunset EP is too good to not get some love

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

you could go with Standard Bitter Love Song #7 too, though I'd worry about the message that sends. Same thing goes for The Mess Inside which is like the best thing ever but it's basically a break-up song so idk.

Spare
January 20th 2013


5510 Comments


going to georgia has a horrible story honestly

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah but it's pretty straight forward "I want you hard" just trying to help a nigga out

Spare
January 20th 2013


5510 Comments


tru tru

THE WORLD SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEIEIEIIIIIIINES

ExcentrifugalForz
February 24th 2013


1983 Comments


Lakeside is possibly the greatest song ever to appear on a Mt Goat cd.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


24165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

incredibly bold statement, and I won't have it. I JUST WON'T!

1st or 2nd favourite song from this album though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy