The Mountain Goats Transcendental Youth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

you could go with Standard Bitter Love Song #7 too, though I'd worry about the message that sends. Same thing goes for The Mess Inside which is like the best thing ever but it's basically a break-up song so idk.

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

Spare
January 20th 2013


5360 Comments


going to georgia has a horrible story honestly

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah but it's pretty straight forward "I want you hard" just trying to help a nigga out

Spare
January 20th 2013


5360 Comments


tru tru

THE WORLD SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEIEIEIIIIIIINES

ExcentrifugalForz
February 24th 2013


1819 Comments


Lakeside is possibly the greatest song ever to appear on a Mt Goat cd.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

incredibly bold statement, and I won't have it. I JUST WON'T!

1st or 2nd favourite song from this album though

Tyrael
February 24th 2013


20946 Comments


these guys are definitely my fav folk act

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

um bro what about Mumford and Sons

you know they won the Grammy, right?

TheNexus100
February 24th 2013


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

did they now

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

Spec
February 24th 2013


27271 Comments


can't handle a little twang of the banjo?

Digging: Midnight - No Mercy for Mayhem

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

how many Grammys did this album get.

yeah, that's what I thought

TheNexus100
February 24th 2013


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

grammys

paying homage to the best albums of the year, every year

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

are you trying to tell me that Skrillex is not the electronic artist of the year?

bro

TheNexus100
February 24th 2013


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

usually the grammys r pretty bad obvs like its the most criticized major arts award ceremony in the country but i actually listened to babel 1.5/5 in my honest opinion i mean do they really think it was the best album of the year hm

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well no obviously they don't actually. they just decided that it was time to award some popular vaguely folk/indie album with album of the year accolades. same thing with Arcade Fire but at least that album kind of deserved the praise.

you do realize i'm talking complete shit in those other posts though, right?

TheNexus100
February 24th 2013


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah lol

but the suburbs was a 2.5 im sure there were better albums in 2011

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well first of all, I really liked The Suburbs. Not album of the year, agreed, but I thought it was top 20 maybe.

and like I said, it never has to do with "best" album when talking about the Grammys, they just want to be trend-setters (even though they are naive to the fact that they're huge trend-followers). I'm sure there was a meeting where a handful of influential critics had a discussion something like:

"Right, let's give the award to some indie-rock album this year."

"Agreed. Oooh and foreign too, Canadian or some shit."

"Oh FUCK YEAH good thinking Tom!"

"Nice."

"Nice."

*high-five*

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

he is my favourite human being

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

not "probably" I am telling you a fact: he is my favourite human being.

he's all into veganism and farm sanctuary, which clinched it for him over John Samson.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I did not, will check



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy