Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012



6494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adelaide and Dismantle are also great tracks. I think Whisper and Clamor is my least favorite though. The chorus bothers me for some reason.

skoopy48
October 21st 2012



1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whisper, fin, dismantle, reclusion, cable car

sixdegrees
October 21st 2012



16907 Comments


alexithymia, *fin, reclusion, unwinding cable car, no mathematics

yeah.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

toxin.
October 21st 2012



12211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I don't know if A Whisper is necessarily a popular choice for a top song on Cities... it's a recent (as in the last year or so) development for me. I love the chorus though; I think it's one of their best in terms of energy/melody. It'd be a tossup between Godspeed and it for my favorite rocker on Cities, but Whisper has such a gorgeous bridge that gives it the nod over Godspeed. Their acoustic moments on Cities as a collective whole were absolutely fantastic... that bridge, Inevitable, Unwinding Cable Car, Dismantle.Repair's acoustic section, (*fin)'s acoustic section. All of them are great.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Godspeed, Adelaide, Dismantle.Repair., Reclusion; no order

LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah removing those last 3 songs making the album much stronger.
I can see Hello Alone turning some people off because of the lame lyrics, but I love the punchy instrumentals in that song. The guitar bends at the beginning along with some tasteful syncopated drumming keeps me interested. The chorus in Dismantle Repair is my favorite out of their discography (tambourine + background synth = gold) I enjoy Alexithymia because of the textures created by the percussion and acoustic guitar even if the chorus melody is generic. And Fin is obviously epic.
As for the rest of the album, I can't stand a lot of the vocal parts. Adelaide comes off as super cheesy along with Whisper (CLAP UR HANDS!)
The synth heavy songs annoy me(there is no mathematics, reclusion) and most of the ballads come across as meh.


LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really have to learn to refresh this page

toxin.
October 21st 2012



12211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool, thanks for the response. In all honesty, if you don't really like the vocal parts or the ballads, then it shows the strength of Cities that you still manage to find stuff to enjoy there, because I wouldn't call it your type of album.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I want Inevitable to be my wedding song. Not actually, but it's pretty amazing.

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012



6494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's the lyrics in the chorus of Whisper that bug me the most about the song. Mostly the "clap your hands all ye children" part. I love the verses though.



LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love the idea of a dynamic album. I just don't enjoy Anberlin's song writing in general. It comes off to me as uninspired and a little copy/paste-ish. But to one's own obviously.

toxin.
October 21st 2012



12211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"It's the lyrics in the chorus of Whisper that bug me the most about the song. Mostly the "clap your hands all ye children" part. "

When I first listened to Cities, I convinced myself not to like the song because the chorus said "Ye" and it bothered me. Eventually I got over it lol apparently it's a reference to the Bible or something.

And yeah, I can see why you wouldn't like Anberlin's songwriting. I think they make really well-done, cohesive songs but I would never call them super creative or anything (except on some closers like fin and Miserabile Visu). That's why I'm always surprised by how positively Anberlin is received on Sputnik. Even on RYM they get pretty good reception (if you go by the formula that Sputnik = RYM + 0.4). I'd guess that Anberlin is really high-quality for the genre they're in, which makes people who don't really like the genre decide to listen to the band that's been so well-received, and then are disappointed. Just my hypothesis anyways.

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012



6494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Makes sense. It sounds Bibley, like a church hymn. It's just feels cheesy and not in a good way. I still like the song, that part just irks me.

Anyway, I looked it up. It looks like it might be kind of based off a Psalm: "O clap your hands, all ye people." It's somewhat similar.

toxin.
October 21st 2012



12211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that's right. I don't really think it's that big of an issue, but hey, to each his own

LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah toxin, you hit my thoughts on the spot. The big question I have is why people prefer Cities over New Surrender? It still has it's misses (Blame me, young life, haight st) but the rest are just...better lol

KjSwantko
October 21st 2012



9262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The best songs off New Surrender are all among Anberlin's best. Breaking, Feel Good Drag, Resistance, even Northern Lights is great.

NS is probably my favorite Anberlin album to jam through actually.

toxin.
October 21st 2012



12211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Yeah toxin, you hit my thoughts on the spot. The big question I have is why people prefer Cities over New Surrender? It still has it's misses (Blame me, young life, haight st) but the rest are just...better lol"

Good question. I quite enjoy NS but it doesn't have enough punch or as many fantastic songs as Cities. Also, the pacing felt really homogeneous. I think everything past Disappear was pretty much mid-tempo. I argued that Anberlin did a pretty cool job taking similarly-paced songs and making them different enough in my review, but I get that people would disagree.

Still, I'd call NS their weakest effort besides Blueprints. I'm not sure if I'm in the minority or not with this belief

KjSwantko
October 21st 2012



9262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No I agree. All the songs on NS are either completely hit or completely miss. Very little consistency and that's what significantly hurts it.

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012



6494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually really like Blame Me. I thought it was catchy. Kj hit it pretty good with that list. I'd also add Disappear and Miserabile Visu.

It's just hard to find good rock/alternative bands anymore. So much of the stuff on the radio (and in the genre in general) is copy/paste of each other, it's just a snooze fest. I think Anberlin stands out over most of these. I thought Thrice's last 2 albums were definitely top notch as well as most of the stuff The Classic Crime has put out.

KjSwantko
October 21st 2012



9262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agreed, I actually don't even like most alt rock. Anberlin and Matthew Good Band are the only ones I especially like.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy