Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
gmang
October 21st 2012


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still found this very enjoyable, and I think Vital will grow on me enough that it might beat out Cities. It's not like I got an instant boner the first time I listened to Cities. It grew on me, much like this album might do.

toxin.
October 21st 2012


12804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I agree, Cities gets too much praise. It's been placed up on that pedestal by so many people for a little too long."

Yeah that's not really what I mean. I don't think it doesn't deserve the praise; it's the second part of what you're saying that starts to get irksome.

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know, I am not saying it doesn't deserve it. I just get a little sick of hearing about it. People just call back to it so often. It's like I said earlier, it's almost as if people can't enjoy any of Anberlin's albums after Cities because they can't stop gushing over it.

skoopy48
October 21st 2012


1593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know, its like anberlin were doomed after Cities. And honestly, i like this more

Digging: Horse Feathers - House With No Home

LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are only 4 songs on Cities that are above average in my opinion (Hello Alone, Alexithymia, Dismantle, Fin). I find the rest extremely mediocre. How that album gets so much praise is beyond me.

LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think light that never goes out holds that title

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^I'm pretty sure that's off of Lost Songs, not Cities.

LuigiPichardo
October 21st 2012


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I believe it's on the deluxe version. But it turns out it's is originally done by The Smiths...woops

KjSwantko
October 21st 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Uncanny should've been on actual Cities. SOng is catchy as fuc

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't know there was a deluxe edition of Cities or that the song was a cover. Go me.

KjSwantko
October 21st 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah regular doesn't have Uncanny, There's a Light that Never Goes Out, and The Promise

toxin.
October 21st 2012


12804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anberlin's cover of There's a Light is awful, which is too bad since I love the song and the band.

"Hello Alone, Alexithymia, Dismantle, Fin"

What? Is there any reason you picked these songs over the rest? Hello Alone is probably the worst song on the album, and Alexithymia is one of the weaker songs (though I quite enjoy it, as someone with self-diagnosed alexithymia)



Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If we are picking a top 4:
Godspeed, Unwinding Cable Car, No Mathematics to Love and Loss and Reclusion

With Fin following closely behind. I don't know why, but I love Reclusion. There's just something about it.



KjSwantko
October 21st 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cable Car, Godspeed, Adelaide, Fin, Alexithymia top 5 for me

toxin.
October 21st 2012


12804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

-Fin, Unwinding Cable Car, A Whisper and a Clamor, Inevitable? Godspeed? Dismantle.Repair? Way too hard to do this

Ecnalzen
October 21st 2012


6822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adelaide and Dismantle are also great tracks. I think Whisper and Clamor is my least favorite though. The chorus bothers me for some reason.

skoopy48
October 21st 2012


1593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whisper, fin, dismantle, reclusion, cable car

sixdegrees
October 21st 2012


17710 Comments


alexithymia, *fin, reclusion, unwinding cable car, no mathematics

yeah.

Digging: Sputnik - Christmas At Our House

toxin.
October 21st 2012


12804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I don't know if A Whisper is necessarily a popular choice for a top song on Cities... it's a recent (as in the last year or so) development for me. I love the chorus though; I think it's one of their best in terms of energy/melody. It'd be a tossup between Godspeed and it for my favorite rocker on Cities, but Whisper has such a gorgeous bridge that gives it the nod over Godspeed. Their acoustic moments on Cities as a collective whole were absolutely fantastic... that bridge, Inevitable, Unwinding Cable Car, Dismantle.Repair's acoustic section, (*fin)'s acoustic section. All of them are great.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2012


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Godspeed, Adelaide, Dismantle.Repair., Reclusion; no order



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy