Savoir Adore Our Nature
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012



4378 Comments


Sweet review, Jacob. POS'd.

Gyromania
October 31st 2012



15192 Comments


jacob: i meant no offence, just making an observation. it just sounds kind of cheesy and awkwardly
phrased. maybe even something like 'a patchwork that shows a lot of promise'. idk, maybe it's just my
gripe with the word 'patchwork'. it just sounds kind of douchey. also, i'm pretty sure it's not the
word you're looking for anyway. i mean, i've heard this album and it sounds pretty uniform to me; not
at all comprised of incongruous parts.

edit: i haven't read the review yet, but i will shortly.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2012



7018 Comments


summary fits in well with the writing of the review, idk

Digging: Braid - No Coast

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



1978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I definitely understand the long sentence tendency... I do that a lot and have always done that a lot. It takes a lot of practice to get a good balance going, and even now I still fuck up a lot. Dashes are equally tricky, but with experience comes fluency.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



1978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But writing bullshit aside, I love this album.

Gyromania
November 1st 2012



15192 Comments


semicolons are your friend.

sanguine bassline moving on alongside cloudy synth landscapes.


what's a synth landscape?

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



7018 Comments


"Despite the best of the average artist’s intentions, he often struggles to create harmony within his material. Forced themes can overshadow the true lasting capability of an otherwise excellent aesthetic object, just like art that tries too hard can be too hard to swallow."

just like writing that tries too hard can be too hard to swallow

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



4378 Comments


I think if we pick apart any review we'll find all kind of errors lying around. Lord knows I'm no expert. There's some weird wording here, yes, but for the most part it's a solid review. We get a good description of who the artist is, what this album sounds like, and how it holds up within its genre.

I enjoyed it at least.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


God damnit, guys. I spend a ton of time writing about music, and I'm always trying to improve. It's something I'm incredibly passionate about, and I value what I do. Of course I'm willing to listen to constructive criticism, but if you're just going to act like dicks about it then I get frustrated. Thanks, Paperback - you're the greatest guy I've met on this site.

Matt - I know what a patchwork is. I interpret the album as a lot of different indie styles presented as one cohesive whole, so yes, the summary works. And are you saying my summary sounds douchey?... Also, a synth landscape - where a song has a solid synth foundation that feels almost tangible. Perhaps I could change it to soundscape, but I don't see it as a biggie.

Lucidity, once again, reinforces others' opinions! Go consistency!

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


AtomicWaste provides excellent feedback. Follow his example.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 1st 2012



7018 Comments


"Also, a synth landscape - where a song has a solid synth foundation that feels almost tangible."

What are you even saying? This is my issue with your writing, semantically null sentences such as these. Your reviews would read a lot better if they were just more straightforward. Drop the attempts at highbrow description (these just come across as nonsensical) and just aim for clear writing. You've probably already worked yourself into a position where your writing is characterized by this, but pause while writing to see if your descriptions actually make sense. I know I'm a dick at times, so just take this as a frustrated reader voicing his complaints.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


Do you spend your nights worrying about my review quality? I'm working on it, and I'd say I've improved a lot in the last year. I appreciate the helpful feedback you provided, but don't see this as as much of a life-or-death situation as you do.

Gyromania
November 1st 2012



15192 Comments


as i've said, it's not meant to be offensive, it's just meant to help you improve. this whole site is based around critiquing reviews, hence the pos/neg function. i know what ali's saying might sound harsh, but i get why he's saying it and i'd take it as the obvious encouragement to improve that it is.

and I'd say I've improved a lot in the last year

i mean, it's not like we should ever get to a point where we think, 'yeah, this is good right here, no need to further improve.'

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


Did I say that I didn't want to improve any more? You've rehashed this idea that I don't want improvement at all over and over again, and it simply isn't true. Look at my interaction with Atomic; I was very appreciative. I just don't care for the two of you being rude with your criticisms, as I could easily hear the same thing from somebody that isn't just quoting illogical lines from my review.

Gyromania
November 1st 2012



15192 Comments


yikes..

Nomos
November 1st 2012



807 Comments


Eck. Listened to the rest of the album and it never elevated above the first track. Dreamers is
excellent. After that, it's a tight, atmospherically-neat album, but I really prefer the energy and
male vocals of that first track.

Sensing some Phoenix and Shins throughout. Neat stuff but just average.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


The first track is one of the highlights for me, that's for sure. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the rest that much - although I dig it all, I certainly know where you're coming from.

Did you at least enjoy "Empire of Light"?

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



1978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, "Dreamers" is the best, but it maintains a steady high even after coming down from that point, at least in my eyes.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2012



9977 Comments


Definitely. I'm glad you enjoy the album so much, man! It's such an easy listen. =]

Also, Water's Edge is incredible. How did you discover them?

Gyromania
November 1st 2012



15192 Comments


dreamers is definitely the best. overall not a huge fan of this, but it's relaxing and kind of fun.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy