Wintersun Time I
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



17348 Comments


from what i heard of this it was super sympho queef

production is more sterile than a hypodermic needle

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@ Angel - but I don't mean the type of minimalism that is boring and un-effective, rather, the kind that is focused on the essense of minimalism which is focusing on only using a note with a specified purpose. For instance, you are a fan of Corrupted. Their latest album "Garten" is a perfect example of effective minimalism. I'm not expecting Jari to loose his riff-tastic abilities but rather to focus on riffs that hold the most impact which is an art that is much different than over-layering. I'm sure those were his original intentions but it seems somewhere he changed his outlook.

In fact, it seems I'd be willing to bet that the second track "Sons of Winter and Stars" was one of the first songs Jari made after the s/t because it sounds most similar. But if you notice, the remaining tracks are mush different; and imo much different in emotional impact. Again, it seems something changed his mind somewhere, something changed his goal. I respect his want of furtherance but I can't deny how mediocre this release is imo.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you have a grip on what minimalism in music really is, especially given the example you used (an album where the review was written by me, by the way). There's a big difference between toning shit down and utilizing a "minamalist" approach.

Tyrael
October 17th 2012



20415 Comments


Haha yea

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@ angel - Yes if you were looking at the literal definition, ofcourse. That's why I'm pointing to the REASON artist utilize the technique, not the 'literal diefiniton'. There is meaning behind the meaning. Ask any artist why they utilize minimalist techniques and their answer is what I'm referring too. Look not at the finger, but what the finger is pionting to.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And they would also sound like they had no idea what they were talking about.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

from what i heard of this it was super sympho queef


yeah it is super sympho not sure about the queef part

Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



17348 Comments


idk guess i gotta listen to the whole thing

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012



9291 Comments


burn

Digging: Ravi Shankar - Three Ragas

Tyrael
October 17th 2012



20415 Comments


Time is like holy shitballs

song of the year anyone?

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"And they would also sound like they had no idea what they were talking about."

Why the wall bro. Clearly we are referring to the reason behind minimalism but you're still stuck on the definition. Aren't you about furtherance as well, Angel?

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012



9291 Comments


good thing this sounds different woulda been stupid to release the same album after all that time. excited to hear it now.

Starchild666
October 17th 2012



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not as good as their debut, but still awesome!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I quite like all of the tracks here. I think people are also overly harsh on "Land of Snow and Sorrow" - its a really good song.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"good thing this sounds different woulda been stupid to release the same album after all that time. excited to hear it now"

I don't thing fans where looking for the same. They were looking for something greater than the s/t or something, that is at least, just as good.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm just saying it's not a term that should be thrown around in this instance, referring to a band that's about as un-minimalist as you can get.

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012



9291 Comments


well this seems to be getting pretty good reviews from what Ive seen. i dont expect it to be as good as their first but Im sure its a fun lil time.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

" Jari could benefit from a theoretical class of minimalism"

^ that was the original context I used it in. You even lol'd at it showing that you obvs got that I was being facetious. I threw it out it cuz its the only counterbalance to this plethora of note-layers that never seems to end.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like most great power and folk metal, it's very fun, very nerdy, and very self-indulgent.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



26459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"well this seems to be getting pretty good reviews from what Ive seen"

And I'm sure the good reviews will continue. I respect everyones opinions here as I'd hope others would mine.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy