Wintersun Time I
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19377 Comments


can we all admit that regardless this is runner up for worst album art of all time?

Digging: The Caretaker - An Empty Bliss Beyond This World

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'll agree with that

Digging: Drudkh - Microcosmos

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9328 Comments


I like the art. Its a tad bit djenty but its kew

Digging: Ashra - New Age of Earth

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Captain. The album is streaming now so if you were going to review it have at it.

Hawks
October 17th 2012


35870 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really like this album, but as people have said, it's a bit disappointing after waiting for 8 years.

Digging: Chief Keef - Sorry 4 The Weight

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9328 Comments


Well its something I could see Meshuggah using or some shit. But dont see whats bad about it. Their last album art just looked like it came outta the grinch stole christmas.

bcasey25raptor
October 17th 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

After listening to this for a few days now I have to admit it's nowhere near as good as the self titles album.



However it's not supposed to be. This was Jari's vision. I have a lot of respect and admiration for this.



I give it a 4.5 if it wasn't a winter sun album, Since this is being compared to the S/T I give it a 4.



I'm probably gonna wind up writing a review.



New here.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19377 Comments


should have got more necrolord art

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19377 Comments


Their last album art just looked like it came outta the grinch stole christmas.


are you fucking serious, do you even know who necrolord is?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

necrolord is a legend

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9328 Comments


"I give it a 4.5 if it wasn't a winter sun album, Since this is being compared to the S/T I give it a 4."

These kind of comments always confuse me. I know its impossible not to compare a band/artist to their other work, but if you feel its a 4.5 give it a 4.5. Ratings, imo at least, should just reflect how much you like an album. Everything else is secondary fluff we add on.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19377 Comments


i was 11 in 2004

FictionalFlames
October 17th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lets hope Time 2 isn't as disappointing as this was....

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19377 Comments


3.5

so disappointing

god i hate this album

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WINTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

bcasey25raptor
October 17th 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"These kind of comments always confuse me. I know its impossible not to compare a band/artist to their other work, but if you feel its a 4.5 give it a 4.5. Ratings, imo at least, should just reflect how much you like an album. Everything else is secondary fluff we add on."



I think my main impression and love of this album comes mostly from a change in musical taste in the last 4 years.



The s/t is great and all but after listening to it and many albums like it i got tired of that style of metal, too me this is epic and very very well recorded.



I use Grado rs1i headphones to listen to this.



I can see a lot of hate deriving from poor audio equipment, with poor headphones it sounds jumbled, with great gear everything is as clear as day.

Hawks
October 17th 2012


35870 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What in god's name?

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 17th 2012


3742 Comments


holy shit this like exists

feanaro
October 17th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty much agree entirely. I was initially not feeling it but it's been growing on me; the intro and Sons of Winter and Stars are epic beyond belief, and I've come to appreciate time a lot more. The other one still isn't that cool but it's not bad. Lack of awesome riffs and solos is just inherently disappointing but the orchestrations carry things pretty well, though I would have like to hear more of that Eastern/Asian influence that pops up in places. Still, even at 40 minutes it feels kind of like an EP and I'm really hoping that Time II comes along and fills in a lot of the gaps (Way of the Fire is apparently wank as fuck) and makes the Time experience more complete and coherent. Still wonder if it would have just been better to release a double album.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2012


51134 Comments


I hate how epic has become a synonym for awesome in our lexicon




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy